1/17 Newman AMPS 88 Stall 30minutes, shot 1.0 @ BG 117

Wow my notifications must be broken as heck because i didn't get this or the ones on your previous thread, so sorry!

He's looking good! I'm questioning the reductions a little bit BUT "if it aint broke don't fix it"
 
My notifications haven’t been working at all. I believe I answered on the thread from 1/3. You must have started this new thread this evening.
I think I asked about the dose … why you didn’t shoot the skinny 2 tonight.
 
My notifications haven’t been working at all. I believe I answered on the thread from 1/3. You must have started this new thread this evening.
I think I asked about the dose … why you didn’t shoot the skinny 2 tonight.
Suzanne, I'm not ignoring your question, I guess I just don't know how to answer.

The last I shot the skinny 2 was on 1/3 when his AMPS started at 129 and after stalling and even feeding he was only up to 152 so I shot only a token dose 0.5. That was what I thought would be recommended and based on my fears and inability to get him if he doesn't want to cooperate. I suspect that if he isn't feeling well he will be out of my reach.
Then, looking back, the 1.5 was what I felt comfortable with after looking back where he stays flat, I may have though it was the safer dose overnight.
Continuing, at one point I just remember feeling like staying with 1.5 was best. Maybe he appeared to be feeling better without the bounces.
On the 5th and 6th he had AMPS that were low yellows and a couple of blues so I thought that maybe he would level out and maybe higher blues were better than numbers all over the place.
Then yesterday his AMPS was 150 and even with food stayed in the blue. Shot (1.5) at 189 and got nice numbers throughout the day.
I guess the PMPS last evening was a bounce after the nice day. Since I had reduced back to 1.5 and got some decent numbers, I figure I can stay with that dose and see how it goes.
I wish I had a better answer. I welcome discussion and advice. Thanks to both you and Melissa for your help.
 
Hi. It’s all fine. We will know soon if he needs to go back to the skinny 2 dose. I sort of had discerned what you have said here from the spreadsheet, but was wondering if that was right.
 
He was a little dramatic in red this morning in reacting to that blue! He may have had a lower blue than that but I don’t think anything too low.
For me, seeing that red number this morning is like bursting a balloon. Maybe I just need to look past those occasional red numbers and keep steady looking for blue numbers, as we were getting.

Thanks for looking in and for your thoughts.

ETA: My immediate goal has been to stay in low yellow and gain more blues. At that point if achieved, think of tweeking the dose up and push those blues and yellows down even more. I know blue and green are ideal, but I am cautions in getting there.

I want to know what you all think. FrostD, Suzanne & Darcy (in case the edit breaks the tags)
 
Last edited:
Remember that we are looking for trends and the overall picture of what’s going on. He doesn’t get many reds so I would not worry too much about it. It doesn’t mean that any progress has been lost. He probably saw a lower blue but even if he went into green, I doubt it was a lower green.
 
And … I would like to see a little more blue, but I think it will probably also cause at least little boings in Newman so don’t be dismayed if you do give him a small increase to see both more blue but also some those higher numbers that we don’t like to see on the spreadsheet. I guess I am saying that it’s a marathon and don’t get discouraged. You are taking great care of him. :cat:
 
And … I would like to see a little more blue, but I think it will probably also cause at least little boings in Newman so don’t be dismayed if you do give him a small increase to see both more blue but also some those higher numbers that we don’t like to see on the spreadsheet. I guess I am saying that it’s a marathon and don’t get discouraged. You are taking great care of him. :cat:
Thanks.
He does seem to be doing well, despite the numbers. He looks great, weight wise and he does excellent grooming, he even pulls the sheaths off of his claws. LOL He is active in that he spends a fair amount of time on the screened porch, surveying the 'estate' and watching critters. He takes his naps, but for his age he is not bad. I believe that is just cat behavior. He even gets the zoomies once or twice a week in the late evening.

Thanks again. Your comments cause me to look at him from afar instead of on the SS. :)
 
We also know that AMPS tend to be higher in general. I'd consider a small increase, but if it rocks the boat too much then you may just be in a holding pattern.

Definitely gets hard to see the forest from the trees! If it helps, call it meter variance - it was just high pink lol
 
We also know that AMPS tend to be higher in general. I'd consider a small increase, but if it rocks the boat too much then you may just be in a holding pattern.

Definitely gets hard to see the forest from the trees! If it helps, call it meter variance - it was just high pink lol
LOL

Good to see you. I hope you and Evelyn and the gang are all well. You all have had enough of the nasty bugs.
 
Gopd
We also know that AMPS tend to be higher in general. I'd consider a small increase, but if it rocks the boat too much then you may just be in a holding pattern.

Definitely gets hard to see the forest from the trees! If it helps, call it meter variance - it was just high pink lol
I like that one! A high pink… made me chuckle:)
 
After 30 minute stall got 93. I am going to try and test him again in 15-20 before any food other than Dr Elseys treats.

ETA: He was getting impatient, so I tested after 10 minutes got 98. Will feed.
 
Last edited:
You know how to reach me if you really just want some support. I say that because I have loads of confidence in you to handle anything, but sometimes it helps to just have someone around for support. Who knows though, Newman may start climbing in a bounce? I just hope you can get a test in a bot so we can feel better knowing what is going on. I hope your weather will be warmer today!
 
You know how to reach me if you really just want some support. I say that because I have loads of confidence in you to handle anything, but sometimes it helps to just have someone around for support. Who knows though, Newman may start climbing in a bounce? I just hope you can get a test in a bot so we can feel better knowing what is going on. I hope your weather will be warmer today!
When do you want to see a test? a bot?
 
Yes, I just logged in. I never use my phone for the board so thanks for reminding me. Will do in a pinch. I plan to check Newman soon if I can get a hold of him. I will have to see if I can post on his spreadsheet.
 
The PM dose is going to be a hard decision for me as I don't want a repeat of this morning. I have a dental appointment after noon tomorrow.
 
I would like to shoot a lower dose on his PM numbers. It seems like he is most often going low overnight and then getting into the pink or still low numbers in the AM. So, would a lesser dose not create the lower numbers overnight or is that skewed thinking on my part? Can't seem to avoid the bounces.
@ Suzanne & Darcy
@FrpstD
 
I am thinking that you tried this before and it wasn’t working/you didn’t like it. I would have to go back and find the thread. I will try.
 
We'll see what happens. I went ahead and shot 1.25. It is very hard to hold food for longer than 2 hours, especially in that it involves all three critters. They have had the same schedule for over 12 years, so changes are not easy. We were a little past 2-1/2 hours fast and you might think they had not eaten for days. LOL

I will go back and look if I can find that Suzanne. Honestly, I don't remember if I tried it or not! Thanks.
 
Can’t find it. I don’t see the harm in trying it. Are you wanting to try this simply to prevent blues at night or to avoid low morning preshots? Or… what is the goal?
 
We'll see what happens. I went ahead and shot 1.25. It is very hard to hold food for longer than 2 hours, especially in that it involves all three critters. They have had the same schedule for over 12 years, so changes are not easy. We were a little past 2-1/2 hours fast and you might think they had not eaten for days. LOL

I will go back and look if I can find that Suzanne. Honestly, I don't remember if I tried it or not! Thanks.
As I said, I don’t think that it can hurt to try it for a while. We can have a learning experience.
 
Oh, your're good. I was thinking it may have been some time in October. So, seeing the thread now I do remember the glimpse toward Lantus. I didn't get very far into reading about it. I guess I thought that I was having a hard enough time doing what I was doing, the idea of learning a different set of rules was overwhelming.

Do you still think that switching insulins would be beneficial? Maybe I will read on the Lantus board to get a feel for how it could go.

Thanks for the successful searching.
 
Can’t find it. I don’t see the harm in trying it. Are you wanting to try this simply to prevent blues at night or to avoid low morning preshots? Or… what is the goal?
Don't want to prevent blues at night, and because we don't know how low he may be going, I'm thinking the pink and very occasional "high pinks" are telling the numbers could have been quite low. So I guess the goal would be to get more moderate overnight numbers to head off the bounce.
Then I would prefer not getting very low, sometimes green AM numbers. I'm rambling. Sorry.
 
Back
Top