1/17 Blue AMPS 233 / +2 54 +2.5 46

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-16-blue-276-ambg.241589/

Morning,
I decided I needed to start a new thread. I got some much needed sleep. Thanks Mogs
and Bron.

Blue is 233 AMPS and got .25 insulin and it felt like a lot after giving him drops. He doing
really good but no poop that I know of. He could have gone to another box but I have
that little round travel litter box in his "hospital room" and he's been using it. He tried
jumping onto the counter this morning but didn't make it. At least he tried and came
close. His abdomen is down this morning and it's made me very happy. He pigged out
on his food as well. Brat and he went back and forth to each others bowls. Whatever
works right? It was the same food. LOL

I'm encouraged by the signs so far and Elise you were right, prednisone is working
wonders.
 
I've been watching Blue and he's trying to poo but only got a small round poop ball out.
I dosed him again with the med for constipation. I hope it will help him.
 
Hi Patty,

Good to read an encouraging update from you. :bighug:

Is it the metoclopramide you're giving, Patty?

Would you consider adding a little canned pure pumkin to his food, Patty? (You might need to feed him seperately so that Brat doesn't get any. I don't know whether or not it might affect her digestive system.)


Mogs
.
 
Is it the metoclopramide you're giving, Patty?

Would you consider adding a little canned pure pumkin to his food, Patty? (You might need to feed him seperately so that Brat doesn't get any. I don't know whether or not it might affect her digestive system.)


Mogs
.


Yes, metoclopramide. I can add pumpkin yes. He keeps trying to go.
 
He's down to 46 so I gave him additional 20% with a drop of karo syrup. I think the .25 was too much.

I have baby food Winter Squash and Sweet Potatoes. Don't ask me why I bought these
and not pumpkin but I'm thinking these will do the same thing. What do you think?
 
He's down to 46 so I gave him additional 20% with a drop of karo syrup. I think the .25 was too much.
Looks that way. :banghead: In fairness, Blue's AMPS wasn't too bad (cf. PMBG yestereve).

I have baby food Winter Squash and Sweet Potatoes. Don't ask me why I bought these and not pumpkin but I'm thinking these will do the same thing. What do you think?
Honestly, I've no idea, Patty. By default, I'd be wary of the sweet potato. Do you have any psyllium husk or Miralax?


Mogs
.
 
Whoa!! Nice catch, Patty:eek:! This morning was his first insulin dose and he already earns a reduction with that drop below 50? I wonder what Elise will say about that.
So so happy to hear the prednisolone is working well for Blue.
I've only ever given Butters pumpkin for her pooping issues. Canned is very easy to come by where I am. Can you pick some up nearby?
 
Whoa!! Nice catch, Patty:eek:! This morning was his first insulin dose and he already earns a reduction with that drop below 50? I wonder what Elise will say about that.
So so happy to hear the prednisolone is working well for Blue.
I've only ever given Butters pumpkin for her pooping issues. Canned is very easy to come by where I am. Can you pick some up nearby?


Thank you. I am surprised to see him doing so well. He's still in his hospital room but he did come to the kitchen to eat this morning.
It's the little things. :)

Yes, I can get some pumpkin. I'll do that. I'm not sure what I was thinking when I bought those. I actually was supposed to get pumpkin. :rolleyes:
 
Nice catch. The high last night might have been due to a combo of the sugar in pedialyte and not pooping. How’s his appetite? Does he seem to feel better after pooping? :bighug:
 
The Miralax is too much for him according to my vet. I suggested it but she said no. The Karo syrup might help. I'm going to test him again to make sure he's ok.

If he keeps struggling you might need to call the ER for advice. I’m hoping he will go more as he eats and drinks.
 
Great catch. This is the roller coaster with pred in the mix. My suggestion last night was because I understood you to say he hadn’t had Pedialyte in a while (since 1/15 p.m.) so it would not be influencing his BG.

I’d definitely drop back to 0.1u tonight. He might get back on a high/low pattern with the pred in the mix. You can see how this happened to Gracie.
 
Great catch. This is the roller coaster with pred in the mix. My suggestion last night was because I understood you to say he hadn’t had Pedialyte in a while (since 1/15 p.m.) so it would not be influencing his BG.

I’d definitely drop back to 0.1u tonight. He might get back on a high/low pattern with the pred in the mix. You can see how this happened to Gracie.

Yes, that's correct. Friday was his bad night. I'll drop down tonight as long as his numbers go back up.
 
Back down to 55 so I'm feeding the 25% with Karo. I don't think I can do this tonight. :arghh:
Then skip. It’s not often that cats respond so quickly to the first shot of Lantus but it happens. So just skip and see where he is tomorrow. Don’t fret about that part of it. At this point because he’s not coming up and staying, you don’t need to be worrying about tonight.
 
I know right...I’m shocked he's been so low all day. He's eaten so much food. I worry because he's constipated. I'll keep checking to see how long he stays low. It's pretty crazy.
I can try again tomorrow but with .1 dosage.
 
I know it’s the last thing you want to hear and I hope it’s not necessary but he might need an enema if he doesn’t go soon. You d ask the get tomorrow if he’s still constipated.
 
I know right...I’m shocked he's been so low all day. He's eaten so much food. I worry because he's constipated. I'll keep checking to see how long he stays low. It's pretty crazy.
I can try again tomorrow but with .1 dosage.
Wait and see where he is tonight and tomorrow morning. I would also suggest you track his pred dose....when you give it and how much....on his SS and see if there is a pattern.

Cats react differently. It just made Gracie high until I started weaning her off of it. It might not work that way for Blue.

You can even elect to skip a couple shots and see what the BG does so you can then figure out when the best time to give insulin.....or not.

Wendy reminded me of a member who gave pred for an extended period of time. She started out giving it at night and then changed it to the day so the BG might be a bit higher and she felt comfortable working. Lucy’s SS.
 
Last edited:
I might skip tomorrow and gauge it better. He's been eating so many different foods and liquids and on various meds just to help him survive, now I'll get back to LC and water. Maybe his BG will go back to his normal....or if not, we can start from there with a new dose. I know the prednisone will probably make a difference with dosing too.
Thanks for your suggestions.
 
Blue’s hospital room. :cat: Weird, right? No cats has ever stayed in this space. He was up on the table under the windows. I pulled a chair over so I could sit with him. He claimed it as his hospital bed. I'll be glad when he gets out.
 

Attachments

  • E85F54CD-C9F9-44AE-B6DA-CE1BA933523A.jpeg
    E85F54CD-C9F9-44AE-B6DA-CE1BA933523A.jpeg
    47.3 KB · Views: 191
I hope he gets out of his hospital room, too. But as hospital rooms go, this one sure does have a serene, homey feel to it.

I'm glad that fighting his numbers seems to be behind you. Hope he is doing well tonight. Praying for poop!

Well, he likes it. I try to bring him out and he runs right back.
He's has had three poop balls today. It's something but not enough. Who would have thought we'd pray for poop.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top