1/16 Basic AMPS 169 +4 111 +6.5 97 Update on topical steriod and chin acne

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...7-pmps-159-3-223-5-5-310.285567/#post-3142789

Finally got to speak to his vet today. She apologized profusely about the topical steriod again and what it did to his BG. She said she now has proof that it absolutely effects bg levels and she won't be using this as a first treatment plan for diabetic cats moving forward.

I believe it was the owner of the facility i pissed off by questioning her knowledge of feline diabetes. She is also the one that was telling me to reduce his dose. I forwarded all the links to their office for TR. His vet didn't mention anything on the call regarding this. I'm not concerned about upsetting anyone though. When it comes to my cat, your ego should take a backseat. If it doesn't, you may find me unpleasant to deal with. I will say that I am impressed that both of these women stated they would be changing the way this product is handled moving forward. To me, that says they are willing to admit error and actually correct the problem, not pretend I am the problem. If I go away and they don't acknowledge the issue, the problem still exist.

His vet is sending me the link to the product she wants me to use cleaning his ears moving forward. This does not contain steroids.

She also stated that she can send me a link for chin wipe pads for his acne. It is cleared up now, but I'm doing a lot to prevent another break out. I have a baby brush, which is extremely soft bristled, that I use to very gently scrub the area (I pat the area with a rag if it is broken out, I don't scrub). I use a very small drop of unscented antibacterial soap on the brush and mix in a small cup of hot water. I do this after his last snack at +3 each day/night so stuff isn't sitting on his chin all day/night. I've also changed his dishes to all plates. Weekly, I'm soaking all of them and serving spoons in white vinegar in addition to the washing after each use. I'm getting the wipes too in case they make a difference. His chin looks as good now as before it did his first break out a few months ago. Putting this info out there for other's searching about these topics.

His vet stated she views low carb as 7%. I had been feeding Base 4% only. He started losing interest in eating. I'm mixing a 12%-14% into his 4% currently and he is loving life. He is running for his bowl of food again. He isn't really into the raw. I am still offering it though. I would prefer he be on a raw diet. I also know how hard it can be to try and change their diet. I will continue to offer the raw. He isn't getting more than a teaspoon at pm meal. When I go to bed, it is still on the plate, but gone in the am. I stopped mixing it into his food because he was taking hours to eat. He is far from a grazer. I knew something was up. I won't be trying to keep Basic at 4% only anymore.

The pep in his step from getting food his likes, his ear no longer bothering him, and nice bgs is refreshing to see.

Both of them are sleeping a lot because they are older cats, it is freezing, and that's just what cats do. We play/groom for at least 30 minutes a day.

Forgot to add: I'm hopeful we are over the high numbers from the steriods now.
 
Last edited:
So sorry you and Base had to go through this bc if vet's stupidity. honestly, I wonder what they learn all those years.
I'm happy you mamboed to get through to these other women. At least whomever is going to crosse their paths is not going to be harmed.

I like your spirit. I'm the same. If a vet's ego is brushing against me I'm nothing short of a pissed lioness. Well, I'm happy you're here and that you have your own support system and your own way of caring for Basic. You're doing such a great job with him.

Prince, Fistuk's brother had acne. Well, it's not completely over yet but mostly. It was the first time and I didn't know how to handle it. It also took me time to notice and when I did his whole chin was covered.
I contacted a vet but it was during end of year break so she kindly gave me a suggestion over email to rub it with honey. I id tell her I prefer to not use medication as much as it is possible.

I rubbed the honey after cleaning his chin. I then moved to clean it also with colloidal silver. It was a long process. I'm a bit concerned because the skin under his chin is quite bare and a bit scared. I called the vet to come over. I anyways need to check Fistuk.

Basic had some nice cycle in the past few day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I make a lot of medicine from plant material. Just finished making usnea tincture. I don't even go to the Dr's. Our Healthcare system is a complete **** show. No thanks.

Honey is incredibly healing. Was it manuka honey? I have local honey, but nothing else. I am far more leary about using natural remedies on my cat because there is so little information published on it. I do have a few of Juliette de Baïracli Levy's books. Incredibly interesting woman that was definitely an herbalist who vets would contact to help out when they couldn't solve a problem. The book specifically for cats is outrageous, but I'm on a notification list when copies become available.

I'm not even mad at this clinic anymore. If they would've handled this differently (like hus idiotic previous vet) or Basic's numbers didn't return to blues and greens that would've been a different story. Admitting one has made an error and taking steps to never repeat this is all I can ask for. We all make mistakes. It is how we handle them and what we do moving forward that counts.

I recently got some colloidal silver for myself after researching the benefits. Again, I'm too paranoid to use that on him until I have tangible proof that it is safe for cats. This westerners brain was taught that everything natural is bad. While I know this to be quite the opposite, I struggle taking chances with him more than me. Hahaha

Thank you. I'm not for everyone, nor do I have any desire to be.
 
I make a lot of medicine from plant material. Just finished making usnea tincture. I don't even go to the Dr's. Our Healthcare system is a complete **** show. No thanks.

Honey is incredibly healing. Was it manuka honey? I have local honey, but nothing else. I am far more leary about using natural remedies on my cat because there is so little information published on it. I do have a few of Juliette de Baïracli Levy's books. Incredibly interesting woman that was definitely an herbalist who vets would contact to help out when they couldn't solve a problem. The book specifically for cats is outrageous, but I'm on a notification list when copies become available.

I'm not even mad at this clinic anymore. If they would've handled this differently (like hus idiotic previous vet) or Basic's numbers didn't return to blues and greens that would've been a different story. Admitting one has made an error and taking steps to never repeat this is all I can ask for. We all make mistakes. It is how we handle them and what we do moving forward that counts.

I recently got some colloidal silver for myself after researching the benefits. Again, I'm too paranoid to use that on him until I have tangible proof that it is safe for cats. This westerners brain was taught that everything natural is bad. While I know this to be quite the opposite, I struggle taking chances with him more than me. Hahaha

Thank you. I'm not for everyone, nor do I have any desire to be.
I used local honey. I'll always prefer local one.
I've been using colloidal silver for some time both on myself and the cats and it works wonder.
I do understand what you say about being programmed to fear anything natural. looking for publication though will not yield much precisely because the medical establishment has a lot to lose by encouraging that kind of body autonomy. I feel I can speak directly like that with you as I identify a lot of parallel thinking.

At first, when Fistuk got sick I was at loss. I was so afraid because I knew almost nothing about cat's bodies. But quickly I resolved to follow the same method as the one I'm using for myself. I got severely sick a couple of years a go. I was in between worlds. And what saved me was not medicine but natural remedies and nutrition. So I told myself "if I saved myself like that I'll save him too". Even taking dosing to my own hands felt intimidating. But I was encouragement by finding the same ignorant stupidity within vets as I found within doctors. it just told me I should go my own way.

Everyone should do whatever they feel comfortable and safe with. That's the first thing about autonomy. And it sounds to me like you're so connected to nature that you'll figure the way forward ver quickly :bighug::bighug:
 
Nature is my church. I honor her and offer her blessings when I'm out. I forage responsibly and ethically, never taking from the first patch of anything. This is a indigenous practice I was taught.

I am so glad you were able to think outside the box for your care and Fistuk's health too. Speaks volumes about you. Be proud.

I can find plenty of printed material on herbalism for humans, just not animals. And no, this information would never be promoted as true or even reliable. Even though, 40% of the meds at a pharmacy that we use today are derived from plant material.

The author I reference about isn't American and she did document her work. I'm hopeful to get her book on cats. Doesn't mean it is the holy grail or that I will follow things from it. I just think knowledge is power. The information can't be propaganda with an agenda though.

Unfortunately, I'm in a country where I can't take all of this into my own hands or I certainly would. Not naive to the fact that I don't know everything anout FD. I just haven't received much help from paid professionals though. Paid professionals that aren't cheap, mind you.

Good convo. It is nice to find like minded individuals.
 
@Basic's Mom
@Fistuk & Shelly
I hope I'm not trespassing on your conversation; I popped in to see how Basic was doing and I agree 100% with both of you. Great to connect with like minded cat moms.

Happy that Basic is feeling better, it's always tough to stand up for what we KNOW is best for our cats, but the proof is in their behavior and no one knows that better than their moms!

I'm going to look for that book Sybil, thanks for posting about it.

I peeked at your SS, nice numbers for Basic and I agree about the ketone strips...the prices for supplies are ridiculous and we all know why....greed!

Sending hugs to you both, as well as your kitties. Stay safe and warm! :bighug::bighug:
 
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
You are always welcome to join in on the conversation regardless of the topic.

Below is the title of the book. I've only seen it offered as used. Prices are between $60-120. I put the title by itself so you can just copy and paste it. She is incredibly fascinating. There is a documentary about her too that is on YouTube. I only have a couple of her books but my goal os to acquire them all.

Cats Naturally: Natural Rearing For Healthier Domestic Cats by Juliette de Baïrachi Levy

Dealing with vets has been my biggest challenge since his diagnosis, not getting him healthier and stabilized. His new vet is now saying she doesn't want him below 80. I'm exhausted at this point. This is vet number 3. Truly at a loss of what I'm supposed to do for my cat. I wish my female was a little more cooperative because I would check her bg. I know she doesn't sit at 80 or above on a human meter. I also know a mod that ised TR has used this clinic. Maybe I don't have the write letters after my name in my title. Not sure. I just know I am 100% over dealing with vets. I'm proud of myself and my cat. Tired of a paid medical professionals inability to see the work we've put in, acknowledge the antiquated views on FD and the refusal to further educate themselves. Wish I lived in a country that dealt with things differently, like not needing a prescription for insulin OR supplies not costing a fortune. It sickens me.

Hugs back.
 
Last edited:
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
You are always welcome to join in on the conversation regardless of the topic.

Below is the title of the book. I've only seen it offered as used. Prices are between $60-120. I put the title by itself so you can just copy and paste it. She is incredibly fascinating. There is a documentary about her too that is on YouTube. I only have a couple of her books but my goal os to acquire them all.

Cats Naturally: Natural Rearing For Healthier Domestic Cats by Juliette de Baïrachi Levy

Dealing with vets has been my biggest challenge since his diagnosis, not getting him healthier and stabilized. His new vet is now saying she doesn't want him below 80. I'm exhausted at this point. This is vet number 3. Truly at a loss of what I'm supposed to do for my cat. I wish my female was a little more cooperative because I would check her bg. I know she doesn't sit at 80 or above on a human meter. I also know a mod that ised TR has used this clinic. Maybe I don't have the write letters after my name in my title. Not sure. I just know I am 100% over dealing with vets. I'm proud of myself and my cat. Tired of a paid medical professionals inability to see the work we've put in, acknowledge the antiquated views on FD and the refusal to further educate themselves. Wish I lived in a country that dealt with things differently, like not needing a prescription for insulin OR supplies not costing a fortune. It sickens me.

Hugs back.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Jack & Mopem'sMom
You are always welcome to join in on the conversation regardless of the topic.

Below is the title of the book. I've only seen it offered as used. Prices are between $60-120. I put the title by itself so you can just copy and paste it. She is incredibly fascinating. There is a documentary about her too that is on YouTube. I only have a couple of her books but my goal os to acquire them all.

Cats Naturally: Natural Rearing For Healthier Domestic Cats by Juliette de Baïrachi Levy

Dealing with vets has been my biggest challenge since his diagnosis, not getting him healthier and stabilized. His new vet is now saying she doesn't want him below 80. I'm exhausted at this point. This is vet number 3. Truly at a loss of what I'm supposed to do for my cat. I wish my female was a little more cooperative because I would check her bg. I know she doesn't sit at 80 or above on a human meter. I also know a mod that ised TR has used this clinic. Maybe I don't have the write letters after my name in my title. Not sure. I just know I am 100% over dealing with vets. I'm proud of myself and my cat. Tired of a paid medical professionals inability to see the work we've put in, acknowledge the antiquated views on FD and the refusal to further educate themselves. Wish I lived in a country that dealt with things differently, like not needing a prescription for insulin OR supplies not costing a fortune. It sickens me.

Hugs back.
Thanks for this...I love going to old bookstores, goodwill, salvation army....sometimes they have awesome books for $2.00...
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-12-basic-amps-238-3-5-153-6-5-94- 8-5-117-pmps-159-3-223-5-5-310.285567/#post-3142789

Finalmente pude hablar con su veterinario hoy. Se disculpó profusamente nuevamente por el esteroide tópico y por lo que le hizo a su glucemia. Dijo que ahora tiene pruebas de que afecta absolutamente los niveles de glucemia y que no utilizará esto como primer plan de tratamiento para gatos diabéticos en el futuro.

Creo que fue la dueña de la instalación a la que cabreé al cuestionar su conocimiento sobre la diabetes felina. Ella también es la que me decía que redujera su dosis. Envié todos los enlaces a su oficina de TR. Su veterinario no mencionó nada al respecto en la llamada. Aunque no me preocupa molestar a nadie. Cuando se trata de mi gato, tu ego debería pasar a un segundo plano. Si no es así, puede que le resulte desagradable tratar conmigo. Diré que estoy impresionada de que ambas mujeres hayan declarado que cambiarían la forma en que se maneja este producto en el futuro. Para mí, eso significa que están dispuestos a admitir el error y corregir el problema, no pretender que yo soy el problema. Si me voy y no reconocen el problema, el problema persiste.

Su veterinario me está enviando el enlace del producto que quiere que use para limpiarle los oídos en el futuro. Este no contiene esteroides.

También dijo que puede enviarme un enlace para toallitas húmedas para el mentón para su acné. Ya se ha aclarado, pero estoy haciendo mucho para evitar otro brote. Tengo un cepillo para bebés, que tiene cerdas extremadamente suaves, que uso para frotar muy suavemente el área (le doy palmaditas con un trapo si está roto, no froto). Utilizo una gota muy pequeña de jabón antibacteriano sin perfume en el cepillo y lo mezclo en una taza pequeña de agua caliente. Hago esto después de su último refrigerio a +3 cada día/noche para que no queden cosas en su barbilla todo el día/noche. También cambié sus platos a todos los platos. Semanalmente, los remojo todos y sirvo cucharadas en vinagre blanco además de lavarlos después de cada uso. También recibiré las toallitas por si hacen alguna diferencia. Su barbilla se ve tan bien ahora como antes de que le brotara por primera vez hace unos meses. Publicar esta información para que otros busquen sobre estos temas.

His vet stated she views low carb as 7%. I had been feeding Base 4% only. He started losing interest in eating. I'm mixing a 12%-14% into his 4% currently and he is loving life. He is running for his bowl of food again. He isn't really into the raw. I am still offering it though. I would prefer he be on a raw diet. I also know how hard it can be to try and change their diet. I will continue to offer the raw. He isn't getting more than a teaspoon at pm meal. When I go to bed, it is still on the plate, but gone in the am. I stopped mixing it into his food because he was taking hours to eat. He is far from a grazer. I knew something was up. I won't be trying to keep Basic at 4% only anymore.

The pep in his step from getting food his likes, his ear no longer bothering him, and nice bgs is refreshing to see.

Both of them are sleeping a lot because they are older cats, it is freezing, and that's just what cats do. We play/groom for at least 30 minutes a day.

Forgot to add: I'm hopeful we are over the high numbers from the steriods now.
I had the cat recently with feline acne and my vet advised that the cream that works on other cats was not recommended because it had cortisone in it. He told me to disinfect the area with a disinfectant liquid only. The warm water also opens the pores of his skin and allows his skin to perspire. I used the disinfectant morning and night and at mealtime I did the warm water thing with a cotton ball or gauze and it worked for him. I hope this advice helps
 
Back
Top