1/15 Mannie PMPS 408, +2 448, +4 345 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) (YUM! A Mannie special!), and Happy Tuesday!
LL beans! It is I!, Mannie, kitteh barista! For today I proudly offer Mannie's special 10 hour energy coffee, AND Triple shot espressos, with beans from deep within the interior of Panama: Panama Paso Ancho, AND.... for all my Mocha fans: a Venti quad blackberry infused white mocha, with apple cimmamum whip, garnished with caramelized apple clusters, white chocolate shavings, a dusting of cimmamum and blackberry drizzle...... OOOOOOOOOOO!, PRIMO! Only the best for all my customers....OH! Tea infusions too, by request. they is primo! I SWEAR! Today: blackberry blossom!

1/14 in MannieLand

1/14 RECAP
1/14: fed meal at ps, mini meals @ +1, +2, +3 (attempted, some successful, some not): AM CYCLE: Hill's MD 14%, FF MM Tuna Feast w/ Gravy 20%, Whiskas treats, Friskies Beef and Salmon with Gravy 19%, PM CYCLE:
1/15 amps 469: 5th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 20% HC
+2 499 fed Whiskas treats
+3 fed 20% HC
+4 261 fed 19% HC
+5.5 298
+9 336
1/14 pmps 386: 6th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC, 19% HC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 505 fed 19% HC
+4 296 fed 19% HC
+5 348

1/15 amps 508: 7th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 HI fed 14% MC, Whiskas treats
+4.2 481
+6 ketone test: NEGATIVE
+8.5 398
1/15 pmps 408: 8th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 448 fed 14% MC
+3 fed 14% MC
+4 345

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
Today is U/S day, at 2PM. I cannot wait for that hour to get here. ;-) These have been the longest six days I can ever remember....waiting and waiting and waiting... and hoping I was able to handle what Mannie was going through. We made it, it may not have been pretty but we did. I truly hope that whatever this appointment has in store for us that it gives Mannie the answers he needs to deal with whatever is going on. I would like to think that this is all meds related, as that is when things started to unravel for him. It could be liver issues too. It will be nice to know.... I hate cutting and pasting from my previous condos but what I wrote there yesterday holds true today: "Things remain about the same with Mannie: still nauseated (though slightly better), still sleeps lot. The LB did improve yesterday: no liquid, more soft stuff that had form! YAY! There were things yesterday what were encouraging, things he hasn't done since he became sick. Yesterday morning he again came to visit me in the bathroom while I was getting ready for the day. He made a couple of trips to sit with DH while he watched TV last night. He sat with me after testing and purred - even the squinty eyes. It has been along time since I have seen those squinty eyes. Been a long time since I have seen any of those things. Last night was the second night in a week where he came and waited for his dinner. He ate all that was offered, with encouragement. I opened a can of tuna last night for a tuna salad, and he was at my feet wanting his fair share - haven't seen that in very long time - he just loves tuna. I would like to believe that all these things are a good sign. I am still running the reduced dose, until this appy/nausea thing is resolved. Hopefully the US on Tuesday will have some answers for us. Mannie - here's to you, some very strong feel better vines". Lubs ya big guy!
cat_pet_icon

Things are improving in MannieLand. :-D :-D He spent alot of yesterday with the nanners - just surveying NannerVille. That was cute. After making sure all was well he settled down for some serious nanner napping. Yesterday was also vacuum day. :shock: I had told him before I started that I would leave the nanners be and not disturb them. It was hard to squeeze down into his little hidey spot (how does DGS do that?!?!), AND gave him a pet, told him the nanners were safe. Funny thing - he started purring. So I held to my promise, and vacuumed around the stash. :lol: :lol: Testing is still good, shots are still good, food is improving. Closer to normalcy in MannieLand. ;-)

Have a great day everyone! Focus today is on Mannie's US. In the meantime lots of financials to work on, as it is time to get ready for 2013 tax time. UGH - my least fav thing.... I also will be able to have breakfast with my son - I am so looking forward to that, as it has been along time since we have been able to just hang out over coffee and food. :-D

My friends!!!! OK... Let's have some funs before I hafta go to that vetty place... that so sucks, but I will go cuz my bean thinks I need to. In the meantime... Road trip!!!!, and lets do some serious bakery visiting and sampling. danish.... cookies.... muffins.... doughnuts..... cimmamum twists..... Whatd'ya think? Sound good? Let me know - I am ready for anything, at least until 2PM when I gots to show at the vetty, my bean says they will take off my belly fur.... oh oh..... on a good note: bye bye fur matts! See you guys!~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508 ~ U/S day

Oh happy US day! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT I really hope you get some answers as to why Mannie is feeling like crap. I'll check back later.

PS come down from up there Mannie.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508 ~ U/S day

Sending many good US vines your way. The good news is things are slowly improving....we'll be watching for updates!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508 ~ U/S day

Morning Michelle, everything is crossed, vines and prayers to you and Mannie. LOVE the espresso Mannie!! Thanks. on my way for fun. I love road trips. - oliver
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508 ~ U/S day

Morning Tracy ~O) ~O) ~O) That it is! and me too on the answers and the better numbers. Not too surprised to see it, as he was headed up last night.

Morning Amy ~O) ~O) ~O) THX! We will take all good US vines that we can get. :-D think so too - slowly things seem to be getting better. sure hope so anyways.

Morning Sienne ~O) ~O) ~O) yes, one. negative. I am in and out alot, and he often chooses those time to use the LB, I miss most of them.... we do what we can.

Morning Mary ~O) ~O) ~O) Many thanks. all is apprenticed, very much.
Auntie Mary - YAY! The kitteh barista did good then. :-D I can bring more.... ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

Oliver! DUDE! me too - road trips are da-Bomb! See ya!!~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508 ~ U/S day

Good Morning Mannie & Michelle,

THE DAY is finally here. Mannie, we want you to be brave and not nervous when you have your ultrasound. It won't hurt! Promise! Later you'll get your nice sweater to cover the shaved spot on your belly. Have you picked out your color yet? Is it BLUE? That will look cool at the next performance of the Blue Mannie Group! Uncle Edward and I thank you so much for that delicious espresso this morning. And for the 10-hour energy coffee. We need that!

Michelle, we will be sending all of our most positive thoughts this afternoon. Have a good breakfast with your son.
We are so encouraged that Mannie was a bit better yesterday. Now, to get those bgs down. He'll feel even better not floating around in the stratosphere.

Check back with you later. Hang in there.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty

Yo Mannie, I'll be over soon to do the bakery tour and will ride with you to the vettybean. KTSS will be there after your U/S and we'll get that vetty smell and that U/S goop off. Can't wait to see your new sweater.
Your pal,
Rusty
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508 ~ U/S day

Morning Michelle and oh finally it's U/S day for Mannie. Sending many good Vetty vines that all goes well this afternoon for the U/S and Mannie is calm. I hope this helps diagnose what's going on with Mannie and then a treatment plan started. Prayers for Mannie, and you, too.
Manny we all sure do love ya, and many thanks for today's strong Espresso
Maggie told me she can't wait to see mannie's shaved belly. She can show him her pic if he wants to see how flattering she looks! :lol:

Mannie, oh boy bakery and road trip it is before the U/S. I'll be at the curb a waiting. Then I'll be along later on the KTSS with some treats, one of them being special catnip cheesecake and energy shake. Mags
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI ~ U/S day

HEALTH/DOSE INFO: HI @ +2. ugly, nasty, but expected: he always spikes at +2, fuds related, and with the 14% on board... He did eat this well, plus a couple of treats. Water intake is good, but not excessive. LB was good today too: no more liquid poo, still soft, but it does have some form. He's been up and about more, still sleeping alot this AM though. Expected I think with the way things are, and the high BG's. Depending on what we hear this afternoon, I hope to be able to start briging the dose back up to get these numbers down, also hope to start reintroducing his regular fuds. We shall see how it goes.

This Morning summary:
1/15 amps 508: 7th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 HI fed 14% MC, Whiskas treats




Morning Ella ~O) ~O) ~O) THX - I too will remain positive, even the other side of that spectrum enters the thoughts too. I hope the best for him. :-D :-D THX too on breffis - it always is such fun - love the times when we can get together for this. YES on the positive better things for Mannie, and the BG's. I just could not risk changing the current state of affair, as he does not handle change well, so until I know what is going on. even with this reduced dose we have had two dives. it is scary... so once we know then we can adjust. YAY! THX - we are hanging in threre. :-D
Auntie Ella - I will sure try. You beans are the est - everyone sends me well wishes. I will be one brave kitty, even let them shave my belly, cuz well... I wants to be better! I GETS A SWEATER?????? Really???? I want a blue one! For the BMG and all. that would be so cool!! HEY MOM!!! I gets a sweater!!!! OOOO! Cool too n the espresso - you need more? I cans top by before we kitties hit the road... HUGS!~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

RUSTY! DUDE!! Cool!! You will ride with me to the vetty bean? REALLY? :-D :-D :-D :-D That is just the best! I am so happy that my friends will be there. I can handle anything now. AWESOME! See you soon - I'm itching for some pastries!! heeheeheheee.... me too on the sweater! ~~ Mannie , US patient

Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O) THX for the vines!! Much appreciated. Me too on the Dx, and especially the treatment plan. At least we will now what is what. Tell maggie Mannie wants to compare bellies. :lol: :lol:
Auntie Ann - you are so welcome! I can bring you another - OK? ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

Maggie - I am all set - let's roll! OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! catnip cheesecake and energy shakes!!! YES - I a so there, Thank you Mags - you are the best1 See you at the curb~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI ~ U/S day

Sending all the calming and vetty vines we can find for a good Vetty visit today. Have a great visit w/ DS and get your mind off of all this for a little. I hope they find nothing amiss and can blame it all on the heart meds and find something for his nausea. Getting him to eat is primary right now. Any chance they can get BP while he is there too?

Mannie, thank you for the Triple shot espressos, with beans from deep within the interior of Panama: Panama Paso Ancho, just what I needed this morning. Feel better soon little one all your Aunties are worried!

Mannie, I gots a primo table reserved in Solvang at the Danish pastry! They remember us from last time. We'll all go to the Vetty w/ you and wait w/ your bean. I know she is so worried. A kitty in her lap should help while she waits. I gots a brand new Rosemary brush i made from Stu's bush. That vetty smell doesn't stand a chance! -- Tess
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI ~ U/S day

Finally it's U/S day! Sending all the vines we can find for a good vetty visit. I'm torn between hoping you get an answer, and hoping they find nothing. Enjoy breffis with DS and we will be thinking of you and Mannie this afternoon.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI ~ U/S day

Wishing you both a good U/S today.....(((Mannie)))
Hope things allow for an increase in dose soon....those numbers are so worrisome.....
Good luck today.....fingers and paws crossed for your adventure......sigh...hope Manne won't be too stressed.....hugs!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI ~ U/S day

Morning guys all of our paws fingers and toes are crossed here for a good appt! Hope Mannie cooperates and the visit goes smooth! Enjoy breakfast with your son, at least that will be a good time passer while you wait for the appt. Have a great day and sending healing vines to Mannie. Hope he feels better soon!!!!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
481 @ +4.2. glad in a way to see red. Mannie was waiting for me when I got home from breakfast with DS. He came to meet me in the kitchen. We had a great test, he purred, even let me work on a fur mat while he sat on my lap after test. He made his rounds of the upstairs, checked out the sun on the deck, and then headed back for a nap. 4.5 hours to go before the US. :-D

This Morning's summary:
1/15 amps 508: 7th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 HI fed 14% MC, Whiskas treats
+4 481




Morning Ann ~O) ~O) ~O) THX - we all here hope for a good visit, at least one with answers. I too really hope his can all be blamed on a combo of meds, etc. Sure would be nice. :-D And I agree - getting the food on board, and his wanting it, is primary right now. I will ask about the BP when I go. Probably would be a good idea. Breffis with DS was great - love those times.
Auntie Ann - WAY COOL! You like that one? I gots a new one from Costa Rica that s supposed to be even better! Maybe I brings you a sample! I know on the worries - I will do my best, I Swear! ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

Hi Anne ~O) ~O) ~O) at last! Thank gawd.. the waiting has been awful. and I know: i am in the same place: wanting an answer and hoping they find nothing... wow on it all. THX - had a great time with DS for breakfast - fun!

Hi Pat ~O) ~O) ~O) Many thanks on the US. and me too on teh dosage. I know he needs more, been walking a very fine line here, between will he eat and what to shoot. oh yes on the hoping Mannie doesn't get too stressed. Paws crossed.

Morning Michelle ~O) ~O) ~O) THX, and I hope so too. oh yes on the breffis out with DS - it was cine just to relax over some good food, talk for a while. Nice time. Many thanks for the vines.

Tess! you gots a table reserved??? REALLY??? wow - that is so cool. heeheehee that they remembered us. They gots us table - they must really like us. it is so cool that you guys wanna come to the vetty with me. I am so happy, then I won't get nervous or nuthin'... whoa on the rosemary bush made from Stu's bush - that is the best, now I am even happier! My bean is glad that you guys will wait with her. She gets so worried, ya know? See you soon!~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Hi guys .. I sure hope these U/S results come out looking good and that all you are dealing with are med issues .. It sounds like mannie is doing better and that is very encouraging .. we'll keep you guys in our thoughts for an easy vetty visit!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Sending good vet visit vines.
I hope you get one of the wisest vets to help Mannie.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Sending good vetty vines for your guy. So are Anne, Zener and Tillie. :-D Ugh on those numbers but not much you can do right now. ((((Michelle))))
Liz
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

paws crossed that all goes well at the vetty bean, you get answers and it is easy to deal with.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Good vetty vines coming your way! Thinking of you today and waiting anxiously for the results. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Morning everyone! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Thanks Melissa, Hillary, Liz, Dyana, and Devon for the good vetty vines. Mannie and I love them and hope that is what we get: a good vetty visit, with a wise vet (love that Dyana, and true).

My regular vet called to check on Mannie, and asked if I had given the ondansetron. I told her I had not, since after reading the specs that came with the drug and learning that one has to be cautious when giving that drug to patients with liver or heart problems. While the liver issue will be determined today,we do know he has a few minor heart issues. So we agreed that I would discuss that with them when he has his appt, and see how they feel about him having this drug, and if the benefits outweigh the consequences.

+6 tested for Ketones: NEGATIVE
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Thinking of you and the Nanner King. Hope all goes well. Sending special vetty vines and less stress to Mannie and you. Prayers, snowflakes, positive vines.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Mannie, remember that even with shaved belly fur, you're still the coolest cat

Mannie-sun-1.jpg


Keeping you in my thoughts...
MJ
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Dear Michelle and Mannie

I've been thinking about you two all day....couldn't get back to computer to comment. DD was here today.
I feel the way Anne does, hoping the u/s will provide an answer, yet hoping it doesn't.
Susan and I are sending powerful good vetty vines, for Mannie! Hoping this nausea and tummy stuff is med related.

We love you Mannie, and want you to feel better, and be a little piggy, when the mamabean serves your fuds. :-D
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481 ~ U/S day

Can't wait to hear the u/s results and fingers and paws crossed it answers Mannie's questions and allows you to get him back to the handsome active Nanner King Barista we all love! Sending more vines. We lubs ya big guy!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481, +8.5 398 ~ U/S da

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
398 @ +8.5. Cool, we made pink! :-D I sat with Mannie after his test, him on my lap, worked a mat or two until he protested :roll: , and told him about today, what we were doing, what would so down. He's always seemed to understand when I explain things, so I hope this will ease his tension some. He stayed on my lap some, then off for a water break and then back the nanners. A good place for him to be until we are off.

This Morning's summary:
1/15 amps 508: 7th cycle on this dose (.5u), fed 14% MC
+1 fed 14% MC
+2 HI fed 14% MC, Whiskas treats
+4 481
+6 ketones check: NEGATIVE
+8.5 398




Hi Barbara - MANY THANKS! All those vines and stress relievers seem to be helping. He's doing his thing, a little preening while sitting on the nanners. Thanks for the Prayers, snowflakes, positive vines. Right now he is content.

MJ - oh my.... now that really was the best thing to see in his condo today. It is so Mannie, and I thanks you from the bottom of my heart for it.
Auntie MJ - you know it! That I am - it will be the newest fashion trend in LL! the Shaved Belly Club - kinda cool huh! Thanks you for posting my photo, it made my bean very happy. ~~ Mannie

Hi Barb - no worries... I've been trying to keep busy, just to keep my mind off of things. And I am in teh same boat - wanting an answer, yet hoping they find nothing... what a fence to be on. I ams till hoping it is all med related. Thank you, and Susan for the vines - so appreciated.
Auntie Barb - I can do thats!! be a little piggy - today's goal! Thanks you!~~ Mannie

Hi Lisa - oh me... such anxiety! as do I: hoping for an answer... Thanks for the vines - really mean alot!

OK... almost time, best pack up the Nanner King... off we go! Wish us luck! :-D
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481, +8.5 398 ~ U/S da

Wishing you tons of luck and calm vetty vines. Hoping the U/S determines an answer either by being positive or negative. Yeah for neg ketones!

Be good Mannie but this time you don't have to hold it. :lol:
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481, +8.5 398 ~ U/S da

Been Thinking of you all day today--Glad Mannie is feeling a little more himself! OK so when we are upset, they sense it & get upset--So maybe that's the reason for the high numbers--
Just wanted to say we love you both so much & waiting to hear that Mannie Boy Is OK--
Healing & good vetty & u/s vines to Mannie!! LUBS YOU!!!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +2 HI, +4.2 481, +8.5 398 ~ U/S da

Hey, Michelle -

I hope the U/S went well today and will give you some answers. Nice to see that Mannie has been more Mannie-like the last couple of days. I know that's encouraging for you.

Prayers and Hugs -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
We are back! DX: Pancreatitis, mild to moderate case. All else on the US checked out normal, no change from the last US. The lesion on his liver remains the same. Although I am not thrilled with the DX I am so relived, as I know know what I am dealing with, and we can move forward. Huge sigh of relief. I am now waiting on a call back from his regular vet to see about getting some bupe for the pain, and getting the OK to go ahead with the ondansetron.




Thanks Melissa - in all reality it was a good visit. we now have a reason, and although not fun, it's isn't as bad as it could have been.

Hi Wendy - got the answer: P'titis, but all else was good. a relief in a way. and ya know what - he didn't hold it. what a mess.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hi Roni - Thanks for all, we survived and now have a DX. It is a relief.

Hi Libby - THX, an answer we did get. It really has been good to see him doing more Mannie like things. YAY!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

I hate to say that pancreatitis is good news but it is treatable. Kitties are on their way to help get that Vetty smell off and keep Mannie company. Big hugs Michelle!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Michelle so glad you are back and happy you are relieved. At least it is treatable and I think a lot kitties deal with it successfully. Good luck, hope you have a good night
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Hi Michelle, so sorry to hear Scrabble has Pancreatitis, but now you have a diagnosis, and as you say, can move forward. I'm so glad there is no change of the lesion on his liver. Yes, huge sigh of relief for you, as I know how much it has been weighing on you. I hope your Vet gets back soon so you can start him on the bupe and the ondansetron. It sure explains why no appy. How are you doing, Michelle? I hope you can catch some down time tonight and r&r. I hope you had a nice breffifs with DS.
Mannie, did you get your belly shaved? I happen to like bare bellys on my boy cat friends. Don't tell Vyktor what I said. :-D KTSS will be over soon with lots of massages, chicken soup, my cheesecake, Mags
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Glad the waiting's over! I know how relieved you are. Best of luck going forward :smile: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

So very relieved to hear this DX. I'll be back later, but just had to check on our boy.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Thanks for the update, Michelle. Not great but not terrible either. Seems like he was already improving so hopefully the ondansetron and bupe will make him feel a whole lot better soon.
Liz
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis


Hey Mannie,

Ooooooooh that explains why you have a bad tummy! At least it wasn't your cooking or my drinks. I can't see what I put in my drinks and well who knows what could have ended up in them. I'm so happy that it didn't make you sick.

And you shaved your belly. Kewl - are you going to get a belly ring too? I heard they really hurt, but are oh so cool. I wonder what color your fur will grow back. My bean told me that mine grew back white! Can you imagine, I'm a black kitty and I have white fur and even my whiskers are white now too. UGH.

I hope you get tummy feel better meds real soon, so you can start eating again. I like my boys nice and plump! :-D

And peeeuuuuuuwwwww, you smell. Come over and my bean will give you a shower and get that nasty vetty smell off you.

Signed, Maui the Magnificent



What a relief! Yes, I know this is not fun, but at least it is treatable. Now let's get Mannie on the mend.

Big huge sigh of relief.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

I'm sorry about the diagnosis, but at least now you know what you're dealing with and can treat it. Sending prayers for quick healing for Mannie.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Michelle:

Ondansatron is one choice for nausea. Cerenia (maropitant) is also an option. You'd have to check to see if there is any contraindication for cardiac issues, though.

Did you get any bupe and do you think it's necessary?

Just out of curiosity, did the vet run a Spec fPLI? (or, alternatively a Snap fPLI?) These are a far less costly methods to diagnose pancreatitis.

Here's the link to Marje's primer on pancreatitis.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Oh, a sigh of relief here...p-titis is treatable and that's a good thing. Glad the vines worked for him and you! Now, spend the rest of the day holding your boy and giving him love and let him know he was a good boy today!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

We're so happy that Mannie has something that can be treated, and he is otherwise well!!
WHEW!!! We was worried, but now he can start to heal & feel way better soon--Those Nanners will be getting a workout soon--WE LOVE YOU MANNIE!! FEEL BETTER--Kisses & Hugs from us!!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

I'm glad you know what it is, and what it isn't, and you can move forward with treatment and Mannie's numbers can come back down.

Sending him more healing vines, eating vines, good poo vines, and anything else we can think of. :-D
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Michelle, my thoughts are the same as others. I'm so glad you got a diagnosis that is treatable.
Yes, pancreatitis is awful for Mannie, but the pain can be relieved, and the inflammation will be treated. That's good!

I am anxious to see how he progresses, once meds are started, and pain is gone. :-D
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Well, that's not a terrible diagnosis now, is it? It should hopefully be somewhat a relief to you, now that you know what you are dealing with, and as others have said, it's manageable. Our dog (GA) had it for years and years, although not with diabetes, but it was well controlled with food and Pepcids. I hope Mr. Mannie gets himself together so he can go out with the kittehs and scrub off that vetty smell, and vines to both of you for all the stress that this has put you through.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Mannie, i hear we are brothers in pancreatitis, it sucks big time but in a few days you'll be feeling as good as new!!!!
Leo


Hi Michelle,

I am relieved to hear its pancreatitis, as horrible as that sounds, its treatable and i hope in a few days with the right treatment he'll be back to normal.

Cerenia is a good choice, as is odansetron, Leo has had both at the same time during his last episode, when we went to the veterinary college. Fluids are good to flush toxins out as well, and bupe helps to take the pain away. We don't have the fPLI test available here in Saskatoon and had to use ultrasound as well as a snap fPLI test to diagnose Leo, now i just assume pancreatitis whenever Leo's appy is off and he starts barfing.

Hugs to you both.
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Mannie, my pal, I am so glad that you don't have anything worse than pancreatitis. I had it too, and it's not fun, but it goes away and then everything is great again. Make sure that your mamabean only gives you the fuds you like to eat. I got lots of FF T&G (and I still do!!) When I had my first pancreatitis episode my mamabean raised my insulin dose a little because my fuds had more carbs than I was used to. You'll get through all of this and we will all keep you company. KTSS is ready with some soothing chicken soup. Tess made a rosemary brush from Stu's rosemary bush to help get the vetty smell off. We'll all get together this evening. You can chillax and we'll be right there chillaxin' with you. Your blue sweater will look great and keep you warm during the cold snap.
Your pal,
Rusty


Michelle, pancreatitis is a dx you can certainly manage. Has Mannie ever had it before? Marje's pancreatitis primer that Sienne sent you the link to is excellent. It would be a good idea to have your vet send out a blood sample to IDEXX Labs for the specFPl test. That way you will know Mannie's number and have a frame of reference. (The snapFPl tells you whether or not pancreatitis is there, but does not give you a numerical value.)

Have a good night with your kitty. We are all proud of him.

many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

I know you've been fighting quite a battle, and p-titis is no picnic...but what a relief! An answer, and a workable solution, and a ton of experienced support here in LL.

The collective power of LL prayers strikes again!!
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

Healing vines for Mannie, sorry about the dx, but like you said at least you know and you can begin working on it. Feel better soon Mannie, (((hugs))).
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

YAY for knowing what it is and that it's treatable!!

:YMHUG:

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 1/15 Mannie AMPS 508, +8.5 398 ~ U/S DX: Pancreatitis

HEALTH/DOSE INFO:
408 @ PMPS. I am still shooting a reduced dose, until I can get the bupe on board and the meds for nausea. I would like to try to go with the ondansetron, but need confirmation for the vet(s) that this OK for a kitty with minor heart issues.so.... in lieu of that, and the still potential lingering appy issues, we are shooting and feeding remained the same tonight. Mannie seems in really good spirits. Testing was great, a one on one time for us, with purrs. He ate very well, it took minimal coaching. He still complains a little when I pick him up, which leads me to believe that he still is nauseous, or maybe it is a pain issue. Other than that - he took a great post-dinner bath, and has now settled down on his bed for a nap.


THANK YOU Melissa, Michelle, Ann, Bruce, Ella, Liz, Anne, Hillary, Carla, Sienne, Deb (HI DEB!), Roni, Marje, Barb, Lisa, Tracy, Libby, Kathie and Amy for coming back to see Mannie, and check up on him. You all are indeed the best family anyone could hope for. I so appreciate your support. You have made all of this bearable. Mannie and I thanks you form the bottom of our hearts!
Sienne - no, we did not do the Spec fPLI. We chose the US option since there are multiple health issues going on, we needed to see what was what internally. and thanks for the link - I will read it.
Ella - I will ask about it, but think I'd have to have another blood draw to do that. something to consider. and no - he has never had it before, that we know of.
Lisa - yupp! a HUGE relief!
Deb - thanks for the visit! Mannie says to say HI to Spot!
Thanks all - Mannie and I are off to cuddle some. He ate his +1 well too! WOO HOO!

Rusty - dude! You are the best. My bean say she will get the juice going when I gets the meds I needs - tomorrow I thinks. I know I need more, my bean does too. I love the fuds I am getting - they taste good now. OK! Hurry on over - ad lets party KTSS style. I am so ready and so need Stu's rosemary. that is way cool! O! I LUBE my blue sweater -see ya~~ Mannie

Leo - you gots it too?!?!?!?!? Comrades in arms! I so hope you is right, cuz this has not been funs! hey - KTSS tonight at my place, come on over! ~~ Mannie

Maui - I got a nekkid belly! WOO HOO. I like that belly ring idea.... hmmmmmm..... nah - cooking was good, your drinks are the best - we is good to go! Last time my belly fur grew back the same color. I was glad cuz I like my color, ya know? heeheehee.... I know I smell. be right over, after I eat again. ~~ Mannie

Maggie - YUPP!!!! I gots nekkid belly! it's really kinda cool! I SWEAR I won't tell Vyktor that you like nekkid bellies... mums the word! YEs - cheesecake please - see you soon! ~ ~Mannie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top