1/15 Callie AMPS 99; PMPS 105, +2 90, +3.75 67, +4.75 66

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-5-callie-amps-98-pmps-86-2-70.257522/#post-2897304

Not much new to report -- Callie has been doing well overall (anti-jinx!) and we've been chugging along at 1.75U for 19 cycles as of this am.

I know that the TR protocol says you can attempt a reduction when "the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week" but I'm not sure how flexible that is so I wanted to reach out to you all for some guidance.

Callie has had some readings in the low 100s over the last week+ (mostly AMPS but a couple of other times as well.) Given that, should we continue to hold her current dose or is it worth attempting a reduction to 1.5? I'm happy to keep her dose as is if that's the better move....

Hope everyone is having a good weekend. Surf safely kitties. :cat:
 
Are you giving Callie a snack at around +8 or +9 during the PM cycle? A bit of food may help bring the AMPS lower. The snack at +11 won't help -- it may inflate the AMPS.

(Callie and Gabby look like they could be littermates!)
 
Are you giving Callie a snack at around +8 or +9 during the PM cycle? A bit of food may help bring the AMPS lower. The snack at +11 won't help -- it may inflate the AMPS.
Thanks for this reminder. I was feeding at +9/+9.5 for a while but lately, I've been feeding whenever Callie wakes me up for food (usually between +10 and +11) rather than setting an alarm for earlier. Bhooma had suggested an automated feeder a while back for this reason and I meant to search for stainless bowls that could fit in one. I've got to get back to that.

(Callie and Gabby look like they could be littermates!)
They really do!
 
We reduced to 1.5 tonight and Callie decided to change things up a bit as well :rolleyes: -- instead of doing her usual slowing down/ flattening out between +2 and +4 she dropped from 90 to 67. I fed regular LC and will get a +4.75 to see what direction she's going in.
 
Back
Top