1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +2.5 72 +3.5 67 +4.5 81 +6.5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
gave the bupe about 2 hrs ago...he won't eat at all...been trying to get him to but no luck....so i will have to skip the am dose

AM BG 106

and i only gave 0.4ml of bupe....instead of the full dose of 0.52ml

he did much better last night with the much lower dose of 0.26ml

so will report later....i guess....i'm drained...it's been a rough night....

here is yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34314
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

Rocket you need to eat buddy sending lots of eat vibes his way cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon hope you are able to rest some Claudia
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

sending healing vines for Rocket and some calming and rejuvenating ones for you.
Hang in there.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

I'm sorry it wasn't handled as well by Rocket. He must be very sensitive to it. Sending hugs for you both today.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

I'm sending eating and healing vines for Rocket this morning. Do you think its the bup that's making him not eat? The first time I gave Blackie bup (.2 ml) he was so out of it he wouldn't eat a thing. Now he's been getting only .1 ml and it might be too much too. I really hope Rocket will eat soon. ((((Claudia))))
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

sending healing vines, restful vines, and good appetite vines to both of you, Claudia.
hope you both feel better soon.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

So sorry about your rough night and Rocket not eating. Hope he feels better soon and you can get some rest. I'm sure both of you are drained :sad:
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS

it's been a difficult night and a difficult morning...i'm beyond tired...

vet emailed back saying that most likely it was not CP flare up and that he may not have been in pain if he was eating all along....

honestly i'm in tears as i don't know what the heck is going on...

she said it's unlikely he had low body temperature to cause the shivering/trembling....

i emailed her back and i'm waiting to see what she has to say....

the only thing the bupe did was to make him stop eating for amps....have not tested and i probably won't until pmps time....he's been restless...i literally force fed him some food at 8:30 am....fluids at 9:30...and just now at 10:30 he is eating on his own...willingly....but probably cause the bupre is wearing off as he is due to get the next dose at 11:45....

i'm at a loss here...not knowing which way to turn...it is so strange he seeks out to be in the bathroom and currently it is the coldest place here and the fans are blowing in there....so i don't know why seek out cold places....also i don't know if i will give the bupe later on...

i haven't slept much...and frankly i don't know what to do...

i have asked the vet if possible to up the pheno dose...the problem with those drugs...is once they're in the system weaning off is hard to do...and i've tried in the past to wean him off with no luck...so looks like we may be stuck with a higher dose of pheno for good...

sorry for venting and for taking time of your day....i know there are kitties out there that need urgent attention with their #s.....i just feel so helpless....and of course i'm getting the TALK from DH that perhaps it is time....and in my heart i don't see it that way.....
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

Hi guys ... I sure wish things were easier for you right now claudia ..I wish rocket would eat and things would start looking brighter for all of you .. I will keep sending positive thoughts and prayers your way .... hang in there!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

Claudia, I know it concerns you more, because Rocket's not well, but all 3 of my cats seek out the cold utility room. I find that baffling, because I thought all cats like warmth.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

Hi Claudia

I was wondering what happened after your post on health a few days ago and just saw this.

I'm not certain which part of town you are in, but if you ever want a second opinion, I like my vet. She's not perfect, she'd not be able to help you with dosing, but with the tremours etc. she might be a good second resource.

Jen
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS

it has been a rollercoaster of a day....what a nightmare...i'm extremely tired...

i took his temperature and was 37.7C...which i emailed the vet about...

ok i opted not to give the bupe and if the trembling returns then i will give a reduced dose as even not giving a full dose he stopped eating this morning and hence why i didn't give insulin....

he was due to have the bupe at 11:45 but he was restless moving from one place to the other...and really not sleeping...so i opted to not give it....at around 11:30 i found him laying near the litter box...i picked him up and took him to the bedroom....then by 12 noon he still restless i brought food to him and he ate it all up....then still restless....now at 2:30 pm i gave him more food and he seems to finally have settled down...he is in the closet and i touched him a few times and no trembling as of yet...but will monitor that...

the first email i got from the vet...she literally gave me heck....but then i replied to her telling her that since i'm NO doctor i don't know what to do and don't know if he is in pain or not....so anyhow this is her reply to me now....

I think that you did the right thing by trying the buprenorphine. I think at this point we just really need to assess his response to treatments etc.

Pancreatitis in cats is usally associated with and increased or normal temperature initially. The only reason I could see a low body temperature devloping is if it is very severe and the cat was going into shock which is not the case here. Low body temperature is not a symptom we would commonly associate with pancreatitis. His body temperature when he was here was absolutely fine with the tremoring so maybe that helps rule that out. 37.7 sounds like you might have hit poop...might be worth keeping an eye on.

Flare-ups in general probably last a few days, but it will be difficult in different cases and cats. We still don't know one way or the other. But even if it is neurological, we need to decide if it is something he can live with or if we do need to increase the phenobarbital and check response to therapy on that. I would say if it continues through the weekend but he continues eating well then we should decide whether to do a phenobarbital increase or not.

He is a tough old guy and you and him have been through a lot and hopefully we can get him through this too. I think Rocket often is more sensitive and takes longer to respond to treatment than the average cat.


sorry for once again venting...i'm frustrated, uncomfortable and lack of sleep is doing a number on me....so now it's 3pm....5:30 pm is shot time....so will see if i can nap...

and to add to this whole thing...Comet (the dog) was sick all night...he had tummy problems....again....

GOT NO LEMONS LEFT!
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-won't eat

Barb & Checkers said:
Claudia, I know it concerns you more, because Rocket's not well, but all 3 of my cats seek out the cold utility room. I find that baffling, because I thought all cats like warmth.
my head is spinning from all my readings....but i read that if they have thyroid problems they seek out cold places...which is puzzling to me as Rocket's thyroid was in the range but vet said even though within range it was a lil higher than she'd like for an old cat....those were her words!

so no idea....
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket AM BG 106 NS-slowly eating better

(((Claudia))) Bear Man decided he wanted to lie in the bathroom as well. I put a bed on the floor there for him, and just let him stay there where he wanted to be.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PM BG 86-mild trembling again!! HELP

this surely is a rollercoaster

first good pm green i see and i won't give insulin...cause he is trembling again so i assume it is neurological....and i don't know what to do...if give bupe or not....if give insulin or not....

should i give insulin?????
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-mild trembling again!!

he got up and went straight to his bowl of food....so i'm waiting for him to finish then will give insulin
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

just before finishing his meal i gave the insulin
now 5 mins later...he threw up
it's muddy...so all his food most likely came out
he is now drinking water

help!!!

what now? he has insulin in his system???


HELP
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Ok...you have some time before onset. So...take a deep breath. We're only working with 0.5u since his shed is most likely near empty from the skipped shot.

We can all get through this.

Is it possible to wait 20-30 minutes and offer a small amount of food then? Give his tummy a little time to settle. He is drinking water and that is great! He's trying to settle is stomach.

Let's see what other have to say.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Hi (((((Claudia)))))

I'm sorry you guys are having such a difficult time. I am sending healing thoughts and prayers.
Thank you for the PM regarding Whiskers issues. I will read the link thoroughly, it is so thoughful of you to think of others with all you guys have going on cat_pet_icon .

I see Blue has also posted with some good advise. Take care ((((Claudia and Rocket))))
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Thankfully onset takes a little time (thats what I always told myself).
You may want to wait a bit before you attempt feeding again or there could be more vomiting. I dont know how rocket's bg's are affected by vomiting. Some kitties go up, some go down.
Make sure all tummy meds get in as soon as you can. I often gave cerenia the first time Latte would vomit, to nip it in the bud right away. I dont know if you still have some, if the vet will give you some?
Keep the Karo handy and test frequently, as you always do.

Will be thinking of you.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

pheno and pepcid will be in place at +0.5

so will try at +1 to offer food... but not sure he'll eat as the pheno makes him sleepy
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

I dont know if you have, or if rocket likes baby food. That might be a good option, once you start feeding again. Just a spoon or two. I used to lace it with karo if I saw latte dropping and/or if I was concerned of her dropping. I never hesitated to abort a cycle if there was a lack of eating or vomiting.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Oh, poor Rocket, poor Claudia, and poor Comet. I am so very sorry that you all are going through this. I have no advice, just sending healthy vines and white lights your way. I know how frustrated you are feeling....
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

((((Claudia)))) I agree, I would wait a little bit and offer a little bit of food.

I'm interested in what you posted about his thyroid. I remember Cassandra/Sasha writing that for older cats, they actually should be in the lower part of the range (the older the cat, the lower the T4 should be for it to really be "normal"). She also said that many, if not most, vets don't seem to realize that. Did they run a Free T4 or just the T4?

I have hyperthyroidism, and my worst symptom was trembling. I was also hot, and distracted/unfocused.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Don't get too upset about the vomit. He had no shot this AM; only has 0.5u onboard now; and you are hours from nadir. I would wait a little while; then offer him small amounts of whatever he will eat; and monitor his BG.
Sorry you are having such a generally tough time.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Libby and Lucy said:
((((Claudia)))) I agree, I would wait a little bit and offer a little bit of food.

I'm interested in what you posted about his thyroid. I remember Cassandra/Sasha writing that for older cats, they actually should be in the lower part of the range (the older the cat, the lower the T4 should be for it to really be "normal"). She also said that many, if not most, vets don't seem to realize that. Did they run a Free T4 or just the T4?

I have hyperthyroidism, and my worst symptom was trembling. I was also hot, and distracted/unfocused.
he looks oh so very sad now in the closet....i've got blanket in there...pheno and pepcid in place now...i do have cerenia...the dose is half tablet but with all that's taken place with him and the bupe i do hesitate giving him that....and not sure on the dose either...

as per the thyroid it was only the T4 that they ran...and back in Nov the same T4 and same number result wise was given....the trembling is coming it seems from inside...as though he is cold...

Libby, for hyperthyroid there are meds but what are the side effects? he seeks out cold places now for over 2 weeks....i gather that's why he's been under the bed as it is cold under there...we don't have carpet...we have hardwood floors...and in the bathroom we have tile so it's colder than if we had lyno....

i'm now wondering if it is his thyroid...i will ask the vet again...they seem to be concentrating on the seizure aspect of it...and obviously dismissing all i have to report to them....

i'm frustrated beyond words....and it is affecting my health as well...have not eaten anything all day...lack of appetite...and lack of sleep...this is very upsetting the not knowing...now i'm blaming myself for giving insulin tonight....
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-mild trembling is still there

Hoping that Rocket will eat some..I think he will..You are just going through so much Claudia..I pray that Rocket will stabilized and you can feel like yourself again..
Healing vines & Hugs to you all..
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Claudia & Rocket said:
...pheno and pepcid in place now...i do have cerenia...the dose is half tablet but with all that's taken place with him and the bupe i do hesitate giving him that....and not sure on the dose either...

Cerenia is for acute vomiting and DOES work WELL. If your vet recommended using it for vomiting, this would be the time. I would give the dose your vet prescribed, if you choose to use it.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

carolynandlatte said:
Claudia & Rocket said:
...pheno and pepcid in place now...i do have cerenia...the dose is half tablet but with all that's taken place with him and the bupe i do hesitate giving him that....and not sure on the dose either...

Cerenia is for acute vomiting and DOES work WELL. If your vet recommended using it for vomiting, this would be the time. I would give the dose your vet prescribed, if you choose to use it.
+ 1 he doesn't want to eat and i have not tested as he is way back in the closet

not sure if i should give...as if it is still a CP flare up then i was going to give a lesser bupe dose tonight...too many drugs may make matters worse..i've only used it once and it is the 16 mg tablets and she said to give half every 24 hrs...but the effects of it the one time used were aweful...

i really don't know anymore...can't think straight...

i felt his mouth and he was drooling a bit...does that mean the pepcid has not worked? or does it mean it is a CP flare up and needs bupe?
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-HE THREW UP! HELP

Claudia & Rocket said:
as per the thyroid it was only the T4 that they ran...and back in Nov the same T4 and same number result wise was given....the trembling is coming it seems from inside...as though he is cold...

Libby, for hyperthyroid there are meds but what are the side effects? he seeks out cold places now for over 2 weeks....i gather that's why he's been under the bed as it is cold under there...we don't have carpet...we have hardwood floors...and in the bathroom we have tile so it's colder than if we had lyno.

One thing I have learned in the last few months is that treatment for hyperthyroidism is very different in people than it is in cats. For me, the only real side effect of methimazole (Tapazole) has been some itching and a rash on my legs. When my dose was too high, I got veeeeeeeery sleepy and gained weight. Liver complications are possible but not very common. I believe there is a rare complication that has to do with white blood cells. For people, tapazole is generally considered safe for long-term (lifelong) use. I really don't know if it is the same for cats, sorry. :sad: I will say that as much as I don't want to have any chronic illness, I was very relieved to find out that it was "only" hyperthyroidism. My brain had wandered into much worse places than that.

Interestingly, even though one of the signs of hyperthyroidism is usually a voracious appetite but still losing weight, I actually lost interest in food before I was diagnosed. Food didn't taste good and I wasn't hungry. I have since read that some people do respond that way.

If he was borderline on T4, maybe ask if they can do a Free T4. I'm thinking it was Michelle/Doodle who found out that Doodle recently that Doodle was definitely hyperthyroid, after his regular vet had said he wasn't.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-question before giving med

at +1 i felt a mild drooling....
with that said...as the vet insisted...if there is drooling and trembling then i'm to assume it is pain...so if i give the bupre for pain...can i give Cerenia for the drooling? as pepcid doesn't seem to be stopping it...i noticed a mild drooling too what would have been his +9 this afternoon before pmps....but he slept well after he ate then

how far apart between the bupe and the cerenia?

anyone with thoughts on that?

also if it is a CP flare up...don't the BG #s go up rather than down? like his? (see SS)
this is all too confusing and i don't know what to do or what to give him
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86-question before giving med

Drooling can indicate nausea. As far as I know, the cerenia and the bupe can be given at the same time. What do you mean that the effects of using it last time were awful?

The medication for hyperthyroidism (methimazole or tapazole) can cause some gastric upset. It is recommended to start at a very low dose. It can also be given as a transdermal gel, which is applied to the skin of the ear. Treating hyperthyroidism (if it is present here, which is not certain) can cause a worsening of renal values. This is because being hyperthyroid masks some of the kidney failure that is present by making the kidneys work harder. When the hyperthyroidism is corrected, the "real" kidney values can be seen, and they may be worse than what was seen previously.

BG's can go up with pain, but can also go down with poor appetite.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86-questions

thanks Linda for the info

+1.5 86...i fed him and he ate...no drooling present...

he does get the zofran in about an hr so not sure if i need to give the Cerenia...and i will give a smaller dose of bupre....vet said if drooling and tremors then give pain med...if no drooling and tremors then means it's neurological...

i saw drooling, trembling and he also threw up....so bupe it is tonight

he did not sleep with the Cerenia...and drooled more...i don't know if it was due to the fact he still had tramadol in his system or not...but have not tried it since...with too much going on i have stuck with what he had been given before which is the zofran....
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86-questions

The zofran is good for nausea and vomiting, too. I hope he has a quiet night and that YOU get a bit of sleep. Please take care of yourself, too.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72

gave bupe but only 0.3 as clearly the 0.4 this morning was a bit too much for him...

+2.5 72

fed him and ate a lil bit...he is still in the closet and i have put more blankets in there....it may be pain but once again...hard to tell....he is hunched over sleeping...
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72

Claudia: I just want to reach out and hug you as hard as I can for all you are going through. You are amazing...what you are doing for Rocket when you are so tired yourself and have been ill....and now Comet, too.

When I want my cats checked for hyperthyroidism, I get my vet to draw the blood and I send it to Dr. Dodds at www.hemopet.com. She is a leading authority on thyroid issues and she gives you a full run down of what she thinks is going on. For me, it's cheaper to send it to her than what my vet charges through Antech; she's also very fast with the results. Her website gives info on how to send it but it's pretty darn simple. Just a suggestion because I'm not sure that, like FD, many vets really interpret the thyroid info correctly esp for a geriatric cat.

Healing vines to you all....I think about you all the time and keep you in my prayers.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72

Claudia--

I don't have much in the way of answers...just well wishes for you both.

Do you notice that he is eating too quickly? Could that be contributing to the pukes? I find making Willie's food a bit soupy helps to slow him down a bit when eating.

Hope you can get some rest tonight!

Christie and Willie
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72 +3.5 67

+3.5 67
doesn't want to eat...no matter what i put in front of him

zofran given and will try to check him in half hr
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72

Christie & Willie said:
Claudia--

I don't have much in the way of answers...just well wishes for you both.

Do you notice that he is eating too quickly? Could that be contributing to the pukes? I find making Willie's food a bit soupy helps to slow him down a bit when eating.

Hope you can get some rest tonight!

Christie and Willie
Christie,
i was busy getting the insulin ready that i did not see if he ate fast or not...i always add a lil diluted tuna water to make his food soupy....with his CRF i have to think on ways to keep him interested in food...tonight all those things are failing....
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72 +3.5 67

Im sorry to say, I am out of ideas aside from the cerenia, and possibly an appetite stimulant as needed (once vomiting stops). You are already giving ondansetron and pepcid.

I hope your evening gets better with rocket and you both get some rest.
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72 +3.5 67 +4.5 81

+4.5 81 still not wanting to eat...
zofran in system as at +3.5

off to see what else i can offer him
 
Re: 1/14 Rocket PMPS 86 +1.5 86 +2.5 72 +3.5 67 +4.5 81

gave fluids (2nd session) and he got lots of chicken dust....he won't eat his food....

minor trembling is still there and drooling...so i will report that to the vet...

i'm beyond exhausted....so hopefully i will have some sleep tonight....but i'm not holding my breath on that...

it's strange cause he pees/poops regular so not sure if when they're in pain if the pooping stops???? hmmmm
 
mild trembling still....

+6.5 90...he ate some Ff at +5.75
he is restless and in the bathroom...so we'll see how the rest of the night goes...

night everyone...will try to get some sleep....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top