1/14 Ozzy PMPS 129, +2 155, +4 173- Bounce??

Status
Not open for further replies.
+11 =129 so he dropped down a bit.

He is eating now with the probiotic in his food. He's eating ok so I'm glad. 1.5oz of FF chicken.
 
I shot a lower number this morning, but he only got 1U and it's the PM cycle (lower, right?) . My kitty doesn't like his mama to sleep.
 
Ok, I was probably being a chicken **** like this am...I am getting PS anxiety! I gave him the full dose. We were late because he ate slow..

Mommy has an upset tummy now, too!! What's in the water over here??:(:(
 
I'm sorry!!!! I hope you aren't getting sick.

He's been pretty flat. I'm thinking you could go to +2 unless it makes you nervous.
 
No, I am ok with +2.

Probably not getting sick...I have thyroid disease, it pretty much jacks up your entire body. Probably shouldn't have eaten gluten but the inlaws wanted hand made pasta. I am no stranger to tummy problems myself so I can sympathize with Ozzy.
 
I hope you both will feel better. His tummy issues worry me.
Me, too. What do you think could be causing them besides way too many food changes?

His pancreas was fine on his blood tests at the hospital about 6 weeks ago. Could that have changed in the last 6 weeks with him being high with his sugars? BTW... he hasn't vomited again today but he is not eating as well.

Are you really opposed to me giving him some of the anti nausea meds I mentioned above? He did fine on them when he was taking them after the DKA. He only took them for about a week, though. It wasn't long term.

Hubby's parents are still here because they are addicted to Sopranos re-runs on HBO. Hubby has a penchant for wanting to eat Italian food, drink red wine, and watch Italian shows. He is German but I am Italian...and he's obsessed with my culture. Haha!:woot::woot:
 
Looking back at Ozzy's day on his SS. It is interesting that he started with such a low PS but then he never went back down below that number. He rose a little and then stayed flat most of the day. Not sure what happened after +6 - +9, suppose he could've dropped lower but I just find ..it interesting that I was afraid he was going to go super low and he never got down below his PS number today.
 
Me, too. What do you think could be causing them besides way too many food changes?
Are you really opposed to me giving him some of the anti nausea meds I mentioned above? He did fine on them when he was taking them after the DKA. He only took them for about a week, though. It wasn't long term.
He could have colitis, gastritis, enteritis.....really hard to say. I think it is your decision whether you want to give metaclopromide :):):) Just because I am not fond of it for nausea doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give it if your vet gave you extra to give him. It is prescribed by some vets for gastritis and also for vomiting. If that’s what your vet has prescribed and you think he needs it to make him feel better, than you should follow your vet’s instructions. Wish I was a vet...but I’m not:p:p

Probiotics take a bit to work. Sometimes if a cat has diarrhea, you have to do emergency stop dosing on the S. boulardii. Hopefully, he will respond to it in a day or so max. If it makes him sick, stop it, give him a day, and then restart with 1/8 cap bid. However, the 1/4 cap bid shouldn’t make him ill..but...you know ECID.

He had a perfect “curve” today. Perfect. As Lyresa would say “happy dance!!”.
 
+2=155. He's actually going up.

He didn't eat much of his dinner so not sure we can claim that as a food spike. Usually by +2 the lantus has kicked in and he starts to drop. Who knows, maybe he's on his way to a bounce.

We messed up and gave him some BFF tuna with pumpkin and he threw it up right after. Poor kitty. He didn't eat much of the FF chicken earlier so we thought he might like that. This was his first time vomiting today, but what a mess. All over the white burbur carpet. Resolve Pet Smart is a miracle btw. We syringed him 1/2 cap of the probiotic and then a little while later caved and gave him some anti-nausea meds. I just want him to feel better. Praying tomorrow is better. If this doesn't start to clear soon, he's going back in.
 
Pray to GOD he does not drop too low tonight and still won't eat. That could be a disaster. That's why I gave him the antinausea, just in case I need him to eat later...o_O:blackeye::(
 
You can probably give him a couple hours to test. I also think if he needs the anti nausea med, you should give him what was prescribed and see if it helps any.

Absolutely....I think you should plan to call your vet Monday. He's throwing up way too much.

I hope you have a quiet night. And no more vomit. I'm off to bed.

Good night! Great job today!!
 
You can probably give him a couple hours to test. I also think if he needs the anti nausea med, you should give him what was prescribed and see if it helps any.

Absolutely....I think you should plan to call your vet Monday. He's throwing up way too much.

I hope you have a quiet night. And no more vomit. I'm off to bed.

Good night! Great job today!!
Thanks! Appreciate all your support today!!!!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ozzy came over to snuggle and started licking my hand which is usually his way of telling me he is hungry. Gave him .5oz of FF and he gobbled it down. Whew! So happy about that. Seems the anti nausea kicked in (says to give 15 mins before feeding) and he felt ok enough to want some food. Let's just hope he keeps it down. May try it again tomorrow while continuing the probiotocs to see if this kicks his tummy back into gear.
 
aka Reglan. It is an anti-emetic and might be contra-indicated with FD, but perhaps occasional use is okay???
https://www.vetinfo.com/treating-gastritis-cats-metoclopramide-reglan.html

(cisapride aka propulsid, is commonly used for motility)
oh geez, just had time to do read this. Thanks for sharing Taffysmama. yes it does say contraindicated for cats with DM. Why the heck did my vet give it to me for Ozzy when he came home from the hospital after being released from a DKA episode.:facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm: Makes me really think I need to research every vet prescribed med from now on.

I just want Ozzy's tummy problems to settle and it says it is used for anti nausea, vomiting, acid reflux, and gastritis. All possible causes of Ozzy's recent vomiting habit. I only plan to give for another 1-2 days in hope that things will settle down and then stop and see if he is better without the medicine support. If not, or if he doesn't stop vomiting in next 24-48 hrs, we will be going back to the vet.
 
:bighug:
No, I am ok with +2.

Probably not getting sick...I have thyroid disease, it pretty much jacks up your entire body. Probably shouldn't have eaten gluten but the inlaws wanted hand made pasta. I am no stranger to tummy problems myself so I can sympathize with Ozzy.
Oh,Jo, so sorry about your thyroid issue. Have only dealt with it with Elmo and Socks(GA at 21 yrs old) but it's not good deal . Pray your tummy settles after being such a good daughter in law :):bighug:
 
oh geez, just had time to do read this. Thanks for sharing Taffysmama. yes it does say contraindicated for cats with DM. Why the heck did my vet give it to me for Ozzy when he came home from the hospital after being released from a DKA episode.:facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm: Makes me really think I need to research every vet prescribed med from now on.

I just want Ozzy's tummy problems to settle and it says it is used for anti nausea, vomiting, acid reflux, and gastritis. All possible causes of Ozzy's recent vomiting habit. I only plan to give for another 1-2 days in hope that things will settle down and then stop and see if he is better without the medicine support. If not, or if he doesn't stop vomiting in next 24-48 hrs, we will be going back to the vet.
Sometimes the warnings are because what is in the med might cause the BG or go up....or more importantly, down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top