1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +7/201 PMPS 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo.

I tried to increase Mikey around New Year's from 2u to a fat 2u, but his numbers weren't having any of it. I probably shouldn't have increased him just as I started a new pen because it seems the old pen had lost a tiny bit of its punch. :roll: He had two PM pre-shots in the 60s within the first three days of increasing from 2u to a fat 2u. At least I know he's still overly sensitive to dose increases. ohmygod_smile

Now I'm wondering if I should actually decrease a bit to a skinny 2u because of these high AM numbers. At first I thought it was just a PM fur shot, but it's been happening so consistently, I'm thinking he's dropping too low at night. I've tried catching him going low at night (staying up till 4 am a couple of times, even), and still no luck. He's not dropping crazy low, but he is dropping low enough that I wouldn't necessarily consider an increase if it weren't for his high pre-shots. :YMSIGH: But, since the increase didn't work, that's why I'm now thinking it's time to go the opposite route and see if a decrease would help level him out instead of him having these large swings. Time for my patience pants, I guess.
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

Mikey been reading Lucian's map? Go this way, no, go that way, no, go that way..................we've been doing that since Nov, with no luck until the increase I just gave him. He's now on the dose that dropped him too low, but I could never get him back in those numbers again on any dose. I have no clue ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

I just looked back through his spreadsheet to his last pink wall of shame in the middle of August last year and I also had to decrease it to stop seeing all that pink, so maybe I'm on the right track with giving him a decrease again instead?
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

Musette was one to throw high preshots when she needed a reduction instead of dropping too low and earning a reduction in the classical way. So its worth a try.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

Alska was doing that - dropping low enough at night to cause a bounce the next day. I think I have solved that with his before-bed snack hitting him just before his nadir. It is 8% carb and I have even been making hockey pucks out of it for day snacking when I am not home but I can't be sure Alska is getting any of it - in fact I am pretty sure that Bing gets the puck benefit.

Come back down Mikey!!!
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

All right! It's decided: the plan for tonight is to give a skinny 2u. I'm going to hold it 3 days (even though I know that's only for increases and not decreases) because he is a bouncy-boy.

In other news, this comic perfectly explains Henry's murderous tendencies. :lol: In his case, when he used to share his kills with me, it was more like 2-3 "gifts" a week. What is that equal out to? 9-12 deaths a week?
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

My boy Ripley (ga) brought me his kills for years. Anything from frogs to baby rabbits and everything in between.

Once, there was a rat, not a mouse, in my closet. I call the exterminator, on Thurs, raising h*ll and was told no one could get there before Monday. I asked what I was supposed to do about it in the mean time and she asked if I had a broom? WHAT? I told her NO, but I have a cat. I sent Ripley in the bedroom, with the closet door open and closed the bedroom door. About 2 mins later I heard a commotion and then silence. I asked "Ripley, did you get him?" I heard "meow!". Opened the door and there sat Ripley with the dead rat in front of him. He walked out the door like he was one bada$$ cat..........and he was! That was my boy! :-D
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

Bad ass Ripley!!!!

I once came home find that they saved me the head of a bird - yep just left it in the food bowl so they can claim that they contributed to the resources of the household. Then I found the backbone with a lot of bile. My BF says the bile is the cat's from trying to swallow the backbone whole. I posted loverly pictures on FB about it.

KPassa - love the presentation!!!
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

Yeah, Henry no longer shares his kills with me since I kept chasing him out the door and locking him in the backyard till he was done with them, although he did bring me a kid's sock the other day. I hope he didn't take it off the kid....

Even a sock sure beats this creep-tastic toy he brought home a few months ago:
alien.jpg

"My eyes are so big because I watch you while you sleep!"
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

Okay that's a creepy sheep!! I'd prefer the sock too as long as there was no foot in it. lol

I so don't miss my cats' offerings now that everyone is inside only. When I was still on the ranch with the horses, Renenet and Skaldi were always bringing me everything from lizards to adult squirrels..ewwww

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +7/201

Well, Mikey didn't make it to the lagoon today (at least not that I'll be able to catch). I've got dinner at my cousins' house tonight, so I'm going there straight after work and won't be able to test him again till PMPS. My second cousin is home on leave from the Air Force and then he ships out to UAE in March so I won't be seeing him again for another year.

I would make Henry inside-only if he wasn't such a barn cat. He needs to be outside, otherwise, he tears my house apart. If I lived closer to where the coyotes and racoons are at, he'd definitely be indoor and I wouldn't be able to have carpets or nice, delicate things out for his paws to knock over and/or tear up. Right now, the only worry I have is cars...but he steers clear of the streets (we live fairly far back in our complex and he doesn't wander too far from being able to hear when I divvy out treats to Mikey; that's actually how I get him to come home for the night :lol: ).

He's also made friends with most of the neighbors (and not just from his free Rodent Removal Services). He has one neighbor who leaves his garage open for his cats and Henry gets his dry food fix from them. He has another neighbor who loves snuggling with him and scratching his belly (I hear them talking to him all the time: "Oh, look! Henry's come for his belly rubs!"). And then there are the neighborhood kids who always want to play with him and call to him all the time. Henry is pretty well-known on our area of the block. Such a Social Slut!
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304

nckitties3 said:
Once, there was a rat, not a mouse, in my closet. I call the exterminator, on Thurs, raising h*ll and was told no one could get there before Monday. I asked what I was supposed to do about it in the mean time and she asked if I had a broom? WHAT?

I totally did this one night when Henry brought me THREE! live baby possums. I locked both Henry and Mikey in my room and then spent about three hours chasing the baby possums out of the house and backyard with a broom. ohmygod_smile :YMSIGH: Luckily, he doesn't catch baby possums like he does the mice and birds: he carries them around like they're kittens. :roll:
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +7/201

Kpassa - thats a creepy toy :lol:

I bought a house with a doggy door in the pantry. They have a 200 sq foot fenced in yard topped with an electric zap wire to keep them from going over (only took one zap for them to learn - I have great video of Bing being zapped) no grass - just rock and concrete so anything foolish enough to fly across or wander into the yard... well you know.

Thank goodness we don't get fleas.
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +7/201

RobinCot said:
Kpassa - thats a creepy toy :lol:

The scary thing is is that it's a toy from the hospital that they give to new babies. :? Who in their right mind would ever consider this an appropriate gift for a newborn?? :o But that's Henry for you: stealing inappropriate toys from babies. :lol: :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 1/14 Michelangelo AMPS 304, +7/201

Well, I definitely got a laugh out of all the kitty stories. Love them all! My own little kitty story is when Max was diagnosed the first time, I was super paranoid about everything. Max is indoor/outdoor. I started to notice his appetite was a little less and was wringing my hands over what else could be wrong when I found him eating a mouse in the middle of the night one night. Then it happened a couple other times, middle of the night again, and I realized there was nothin' wrong with his appetite. He was fillin' up on natural foods. Max doesn't leave any gifts though. He eats his food all gone, so, until I was testing in the middle of the night, none of us had any idea Max was any kind of hunter. We live near horse property, so we definitely need help with rodent control.
 
Mikey made it to the lagoon tonight! I gave him a skinny 2u, so let's hope this clears his morning pinks back into at least yellow.

hollyall said:
I started to notice his appetite was a little less and was wringing my hands over what else could be wrong when I found him eating a mouse in the middle of the night one night. Then it happened a couple other times, middle of the night again, and I realized there was nothin' wrong with his appetite. He was fillin' up on natural foods. Max doesn't leave any gifts though. He eats his food all gone, so, until I was testing in the middle of the night, none of us had any idea Max was any kind of hunter. We live near horse property, so we definitely need help with rodent control.

This is what happens to the birds Henry catches. I only know he catches them because he brings them into the house first. Once I lock him outside with his catch, I never see the bird or any remnants again. With the mice, he brought two live ones home in one afternoon once. He was so thoughtful, thinking of bringing back a spare for Mikey to play with. :lol: ohmygod_smile (Mikey goes outside on our back patio but he has no interest in going anywhere else, thankfully!) He and Mikey were both successful in batting the poor mice to death but neither one ate any of them. Since then, he's brought a few more dead mice home, but for some reason, they just don't eat them up. I guess they have a refined "poultry-only" palate. :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top