1/14 Gobbles PMPS 463 DOSING ? & rolling vial

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86858

Normal appetite today @8:30 AM. At 11:30 ate 3/4 can of FF which was watered down.

Gobbles' 10th cycle on the .25 increase (started 1/11/13 AM) will be PM on 1/15/13. I think I understand "dosing increasing" and my guess would be to increase .25 on 11th cycle if his BG is still high (over 200 yellow nadirs) and to increase to .50 if over 300 (he has been running mostly over 300 pink &400 red nadirs)OR is it to increase .25, regardless of color[/number/b]? Here's the info here on FD.com that I am going by:

"Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit."
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349

Hi guys .. ok gobbles, down from the pink floor you go .. all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels today! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. ok gobbles, down from the pink floor you go .. all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels today! Have a great day guys!
I hope so -- AM test will be +7 (previously +6 since 1/8/13 with new ReliOn Prime meter)
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. ok gobbles, down from the pink floor you go .. all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels today! Have a great day guys!
How's 221 for +7 ???
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349 +7 221

:-D :-D :-D :-D Now that is a nice yellow nadir. If he keeps this up it would be a .25u increase, but let's see what others say.
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. ok gobbles, down from the pink floor you go .. all the kitties are hanging out on the lower levels today! Have a great day guys!
I'm there at +7 :)
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349 +7 221

Ann & Tess said:
:-D :-D :-D :-D Now that is a nice yellow nadir. If he keeps this up it would be a .25u increase, but let's see what others say.
OK, and since I'm such a ditz confusing myself with an increase, I'm so up to suggestions when he clears the 10 cycle mark
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles AMPS 349 +7 221

I have a question. I was browsing the Health Links and went to Glossary. Here's the term which I have a question on:

"BG: Blood Glucose (normal for a cat is between 70-120). For diabetic cats, the preferred range is between 100 (at peak) and 300."

So then, when Gobbles is, say for example 284 @ +6, he's considered normal? And that's a good number, even though it isn't between 70-120?
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles PMPS 463

Ravenous hunger at PMPS. I need to know: When, and how much, can his increase be (see SS) these 300 & esp. 400's are really scaring me :(

Can someone please answer my question (see post, one up from this one) re: Glossary

Also, here all along I've been rolling the lantus vial AS MY VET instructed...and just now took a look at "proper handling" and found out that Lantus vials should never be rolled...could the vial have gotten less potent or something?
 
Re: 1/14 Gobbles PMPS 463

Hi Kat - Your question will probably get more eyes if you edit the subject line in your first post to state you have a dosing question....


Personally, I prefer to see Trixie in the "normal" range - 70 - 120 - as much as possible. I wouldn't consider a "284" to be normal. And, I'm always a bit conservative and don't go with more than a .25U increase...but I'm sure more experienced folks will be along soon....
 
Hi Kat,

Notice that the quote does not say "normal"--it says the "preferred" range for a diabetic cat. This is because most vets deal with people who do not test and therefore they consider these higher numbers "safe". Our goal in the Tight Regulation Forum is to have our diabetic cats spend as much time in the range of a "normal" (non-diabetic) cat: between ca. 50 and 120. These lower numbers promote healing of the pancreas. In any event, it is always prudent to try to keep your cat below the renal threshold, which is around bg 220 or so. If a cat spends a lot of time above the renal threshold, the kidneys are affected.

Lantus and Levemir do not like to be "shook up". They do not need to be rolled, because they do not need to be mixed. Treat your Lantus gently and it will last longer.

I haven't visited your condo before, so just wanted to say "hi" and welcome to Lantus Land.

Ella & Rusty
 
I would increase by 0.25u. the bulk of your nadirs are below 300.

The info in the Glossary is dated. It was put on the site in 2009 and some of the information has changed. We consider normal BG to be between 50 - 120. The preferred range would be below renal threshold which is somewhere in the low 200s. (Renal threshold varies with each cat.)

And, like CD said, you do not roll Lantus. Humulin N and other insulin are in suspension. They need to be rolled in order to re-mix the insulin. Lantus is a solution. You do not need to roll or agitate the insulin.
 
Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) said:
I haven't visited your condo before, so just wanted to say "hi" and welcome to Lantus Land.

Ella & Rusty
Thanks! I am trying desperately to get his BG down to the normal range. I did think that I was reading/understanding it incorrect and have always understood that 70-120 is normal, but thought I better run that by someone :)
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I would increase by 0.25u. the bulk of your nadirs are below 300.

The info in the Glossary is dated. It was put on the site in 2009 and some of the information has changed. We consider normal BG to be between 50 - 120. The preferred range would be below renal threshold which is somewhere in the low 200s. (Renal threshold varies with each cat.)

And, like CD said, you do not roll Lantus. Humulin N and other insulin are in suspension. They need to be rolled in order to re-mix the insulin. Lantus is a solution. You do not need to roll or agitate the insulin.
Thank you...appreciated!
 
You are doing fine, Kat! You just have to continue to increase per the protocol until you start getting some green numbers. Any time you need dosing advice, just put it in your subject line and one of us will be more than happy to help :-D

Good luck with the increase!
 
Hi,
Since you asked about the rolling, I thought I'd add that you should create a nest in the fridge on a shelf for your Lantus.
Carl told me when I first got here to Not put it in the door, sometimes the door gets slammed, especially by other users....
I would say kids... but my DH is worse than my kids... :roll: :lol:
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Hi,
Since you asked about the rolling, I thought I'd add that you should create a nest in the fridge on a shelf for your Lantus.
Carl told me when I first got here to Not put it in the door, sometimes the door gets slammed, especially by other users....
I would say kids... but my DH is worse than my kids... :roll: :lol:
I keep it in a cottage cheese container (clean!) nested in paper towels and covered up -- is that good?
 
I keep it in a cottage cheese container (clean!) nested in paper towels and covered up -- is that good?

That's what I do too - mine lasts as until the end. The only difference is that I have my boxed vial (or pen) wrapped/rolled in a thick washcloth in my cottage cheese container rather than paper towels. I take out the whole washcloth, lay cloth out for a 'soft' place to fill in case I drop vial then wrap it back up when I'm done.

Gobbles - you don't look so good in red....try at least yellow, OK?
 
Squeaky and KT said:
I keep it in a cottage cheese container (clean!) nested in paper towels and covered up -- is that good?

That's what I do too - mine lasts as until the end. The only difference is that I have my boxed vial (or pen) wrapped/rolled in a thick washcloth in my cottage cheese container rather than paper towels. I take out the whole washcloth, lay cloth out for a 'soft' place to fill in case I drop vial then wrap it back up when I'm done.

Gobbles - you don't look so good in red....try at least yellow, OK?
today no red so far--blue then then pink...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top