Denita & Rocky
New Member
We got all screwed up last night.
first, an explanation of the .5 U experiment. Our Vet thought it was dangerous to allow rebound and suggested a reduction. I obliged for a few days, but yuck! I don't think avoiding rebound does any good at all. So I upped the dose back to .6U.
Now, the screw up. I checked Rocky's BG at +11 last night and it had come down from the rebound. I was planning to wait until + 12, test and shoot, and then scoot out the door for date night with DH. When I got back home from dinner it was 8:45 PM (+13.5) and I had forgotten to shoot just before going out, so I quickly tested and shot. Expecting his BG to be rising because of the late shot, I didn't test just before bed. This morning at +12 he was 99! That made me worry. In fact, later he was 85, so still going down. My worry was that maybe I hadn't forgotten the +12 shot and had given him a second shot at + 13.5. I'm not sure how I would be able to tell. If I had given the shot earlier, it would have to have been at +11 because there is no +12 test on the meter.
Anyway, the time got so late that it would throw off our schedule horribly, so we are waiting until our normal evening shooting time to do the shot. We will have to fill the shed all over again.
Have a happy day, everyone.
first, an explanation of the .5 U experiment. Our Vet thought it was dangerous to allow rebound and suggested a reduction. I obliged for a few days, but yuck! I don't think avoiding rebound does any good at all. So I upped the dose back to .6U.
Now, the screw up. I checked Rocky's BG at +11 last night and it had come down from the rebound. I was planning to wait until + 12, test and shoot, and then scoot out the door for date night with DH. When I got back home from dinner it was 8:45 PM (+13.5) and I had forgotten to shoot just before going out, so I quickly tested and shot. Expecting his BG to be rising because of the late shot, I didn't test just before bed. This morning at +12 he was 99! That made me worry. In fact, later he was 85, so still going down. My worry was that maybe I hadn't forgotten the +12 shot and had given him a second shot at + 13.5. I'm not sure how I would be able to tell. If I had given the shot earlier, it would have to have been at +11 because there is no +12 test on the meter.
Anyway, the time got so late that it would throw off our schedule horribly, so we are waiting until our normal evening shooting time to do the shot. We will have to fill the shed all over again.
Have a happy day, everyone.