1/13 Blue AMBG 70

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty and Blue GA & Brat

Member Since 2020
Blue is much more himself this morning. Almost normal, but I'm keeping track of him.
He's still drinking a lot of water. He is definitely mentally back which is so exciting.
I thought I had lost him forever. I was a stranger to him.
I'm drinking my first :coffee: but will try to reach Dr. Johnson this morning.
Thanks for all the information I can use.

Will the prednisone help him gain some weight? I'm wondering if I should get a
high calorie food or supplement to help him gain a bit.
 
I hope you get some answers. FWIW when Tiffany started chemo I only was going to the oncologist until things fell apart. She knew about her very early CKD and kept telling me all was good. Then Tiffany had a UTI that was missed because she wasn’t checking. I called my vet in desperation and he asked if a urinalysis was run. That was after a unnecessary spinal tap. Tiffany went into acute kidney failure and had to stop chemo. Then that rotten oncologist refused to treat her with any chemo so we were left just using prednisolone. She had intermediate cell and the prednisolone kept her in remission for6-9 months. That’s when I started requesting all labs from whatever vet I saw and still do.
 
I'm here in the parking lot. I think I'm having the same experience as you with Blues oncologist

Dr. Johnson just came out. She's going to call Bluepearl to see if he can come tomorrow. She thinks he's much worse and doesn't want him to start the prednisone without the oncologist being on board.

I'm upset. I feel like Bluepearl has let me down.
 
Dr. Johnson spoke with the oncologist. She will see Blue tomorrow. We are going to put him on prednisone and antibiotics. We are running bloodwork today. I'm not sure what the oncologist has planned. I'm so upset.
 
I'm wondering if I should get a
high calorie food or supplement to help him gain a bit.
I would put out some yummy higher calorie foods for him even if they have a bit more carbs. How is his appetite? One food that often seems to appeal to sick kitties is a/d food you should be able to get from your vet. It's pretty calorie dense too, but a little higher carb I think.
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry Patty.:bighug: It's so upsetting...angering, as well....to read what Bluepearl has been putting you and Blue through.
I hope your vet can work with this oncologist and put some pressure on to help Blue recover from the symptoms you are seeing and to put together an appropriate treatment plan for him.:bighug::bighug:

I'm really worried about him. I hope he will recover.
 
A shot of Convenia. I thought I was getting something by mouth. I was so upset I wasn't even thinking straight.
I’m sure the reason for Convenia is because your vet was worried he might have diarrhea from an oral antibiotic. Blue hasn’t had that problem with antibiotics in the past though. I don’t know if something like a broad spectrum antibiotic would be better or not. We have to hope that Convenia works.
 
I would put out some yummy higher calorie foods for him even if they have a bit more carbs. How is his appetite? One food that often seems to appeal to sick kitties is a/d food you should be able to get from your vet. It's pretty calorie dense too, but a little higher carb I think.

His appetite is great. I don't have any a/d and I've already left the vet. I just gave him some dry food. LC of course. He always loved dry food to snack on and hasn't had any since I switched to TR months ago.

If I get back out I might try to go by and get some a/d...I wish I had thought of that.
 
Hi Patty,

I've just caught up and my heart goes out to you over what's happening. :bighug:

I'll see what they say tomorrow. I can pick up food later in the day. I just worry about the carbs.
Perhaps stick with larger/more frequent meals of Blue's favourite, the Meowmix (10%), whenever he wants?

I'm really worried about him. I hope he will recover.
Hoping and praying here too.

((((Patty and Blue))))

:bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I don't see urinalysis on the paperwork. I'm taking him to Bluepearl in the morning so maybe they will run one.
Now my little Brat is sick. She isn't eating. When it rains it pours.
My stem cell is at 12 tomorrow so I hope I can get everycat and myself to the doctor.
 
Do you think he needs to have a urinalysis?

He's back sleeping on the table at the windows. I put a fuzzy bed up there and he's laying on it. He doesn't seem comfortable. He didn't eat much tonight but then he did get antibiotic and prednisone today.

Decided I would give Brat half of Cerenia because she's still not eating. I'm hoping it will calm her stomach.
 
Is Blue peeing more or less than usual? The only reasons a urinalysis might be a good idea is because the chemo he’s taking can effect the kidneys or in case he has a uti.
Cerenia might help Brat. I hope so. :bighug:
 
Yes, he has been peeing a good bit. Today not so much.

Brat seems more relaxed and not in discomfort like she was. She's sleeping. She hasn't
eaten anything. I think I'll take her into the vet in the morning after dropping Blue off.
Teddy needs to go too. It's looks like he injured his eye somehow. It started tearing two
days ago. I thought it would just get better but now I don't think that's going to happen.
 
Sorry to hear that Brat and Teddy have things up with them too, Patty. It's good that Brat seems to be feeling a bit more comfortable this evening.

Do you think he needs to have a urinalysis?
I think it would be a good idea to get everything possible checked out, not least of all because Blue has been peeing more than usual.

Hope the stem cell procedure goes OK tomorrow.

Keeping you and your Bluebird very much in my thoughts and prayers.

((((Patty and Blue))))


Mogs
.
 
Hi Patty,

Hoping things go as well as possible for all of you today.

Is Brat managing to eat now? How is your Bluebird this morning?

Keeping you all in my thoughts and prayers.

((((Patty, Blue and Brat))))

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I dropped off Blue at 7:30 and have not heard anything. I'm paralyzed with fear.
My little Brat ate a small amount of food this morning. Maybe a teaspoon if that.
I know I need to take her in but since I don't know about Blue yet I don't want to call for an appointment. I also have to consider my appointment at 12. I might have to take her in this afternoon.
 
Thanks Mogs. I haven't heard anything. I"m waiting on calling for Brat until I know when to pick up Blue.
I'm leaving in 10 to go to my appt. I'm more nervous about Blue than myself.
 
I know you are, Patty.

((((Patty and her Bluebird))))

Go handy, and keep safe while you're out and about.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Sending some extra-comforting and reassuring :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:.

I'm glad that the doctor was nice. Fingers and paws crossed that the chemo pill will be better. And remember to get copies of all the test results! (Nag, nag, nag, nag... :p ;) )

Prayers continue.


Mogs
.
 
Finally back home. Blue was famished but Brat wouldn't eat. Brat has IBD and is on several drugs.
This seems to be Blue's last hope and I'm trying not to think about it. Praying the chemo and prednislone
will work for him. He's more alert today.
I'm taking Teddy in tomorrow.
In the middle of all this I had stem cells injected into my knee. Hoping it will work. Knee pain is real...

This is day sucked.
 
Hi Patty,

Been fretting about ye all day. I'm glad to hear Blue's more alert, and I hope he'll do well on the new treatment regimen. ((((Blue))))

I'm also glad to hear Blue's appetite is good today, but sorry that Brat's still not eating properly. Did the vet see her today? Fingers 'n' paws crossed she'll start eating quickly. Which meds is she taking? I hope all goes well for Teddy tomorrow.

In the middle of all this I had stem cells injected into my knee. Hoping it will work. Knee pain is real...
Owwwwwww! Just thinking about that is enough to give me the wibbles. I really hope the treatment works, Patty. I wish you weren't in pain. :( Try to rest the leg as much as you can. :bighug:

I will keep you all in my prayers.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Thank you Mogs. :bighug:

I just tested Blue a little early. His BG is 140 tonight. They fed him at Bluepearl because he was there all day.
They probably didn't feed him low carb. What should I do?

Brat and Blue both are on an app stimulate. Brat is on prednisone, cerenia and antihistamine.

They are both wiped out tonight. Brat is laying beside me on my jacket. Blue is over by the window but laying
in a kitchen chair which he has always done.

I hope you and the bug are doing okay. Were you taking her to the vet this week?
 
I just tested Blue a little early. His BG is 140 tonight. They fed him at Bluepearl because he was there all day.
They probably didn't feed him low carb. What should I do?
He's not far above the upper bound of the normal range (50-120, human meter). Has he been started on the prednisolone? Did he get his new chemo tablet today?


Mogs
.
 
Yes he got a chemo tablet today and he got his second prednisone today.

Brat is on Famotidine for GI and acid reflux. Is that antihistamine? Where did I get that from???
 
Finally back home. Blue was famished but Brat wouldn't eat. Brat has IBD and is on several drugs.
This seems to be Blue's last hope and I'm trying not to think about it. Praying the chemo and prednislone
will work for him. He's more alert today.
I'm taking Teddy in tomorrow.
In the middle of all this I had stem cells injected into my knee. Hoping it will work. Knee pain is real...

This is day sucked.
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm glad to hear Blue is more alert today. That's a good thing. Sending prayers that the chemo + pred works for him. I can commiserate on the knee pain. I had surgery on my knee eight years ago and I've had pain off and on since. Feel like I'm too young for that! lol. Hoping the stem cell treatment works for you!:bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I'm glad to hear Blue is more alert today. That's a good thing. Sending prayers that the chemo + pred works for him. I can commiserate on the knee pain. I had surgery on my knee eight years ago and I've had pain off and on since. Feel like I'm too young for that! lol. Hoping the stem cell treatment works for you!:bighug:

Thank you for the prayers. It was a long hard day. I hope this new chemo works too. I look like a feline pharmacy in my kitchen. I’m thinking I need to make a chart so I don't miss any medicine.

8 years ago and you still have pain? Yikes.
I had surgery in July on two tears in both meniscus in my right knee. I have never had a knee problem before that and it is not fun. I sympathize with you if you've suffered that long. I'm hoping this works too. Knee replacement is the next step OMG noooooo! I'll keep you posted on this treatment. You could try it if it works. It was pretty easy and only took 20-30 minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top