Jan Radar (GA)
Member Since 2015
my last post a few days ago
Radar is responding well to the increase in insulin and today we are seeing consistent blues which we haven't seen in a while.
I'm looking at the guidelines for SLGS and if the nadir is more than 150 an increase of .25 is called for, but that's after holding the dose for 7 days. I'm wondering a few things: Is it safe to increase before 7 days have passed? or is this a time when I need to be patient and let Radar settle more into this new dose? I'm also wondering if it's time to go back to TR now that Radar is eating with much more consistency.
The other thing I'm wondering about is dosing above 5 units. We've been here before, but it was back in July 2017 right before and after a dental. Is it correct that the dose can be moved by .5 units when you are above 5 units? Is there anything else I need to know about when the insulin dose is so very high?
What do I need to read? study?
Any thoughts you have to share will be appreciated. thanking you in advance for your wisdom
Radar is responding well to the increase in insulin and today we are seeing consistent blues which we haven't seen in a while.
I'm looking at the guidelines for SLGS and if the nadir is more than 150 an increase of .25 is called for, but that's after holding the dose for 7 days. I'm wondering a few things: Is it safe to increase before 7 days have passed? or is this a time when I need to be patient and let Radar settle more into this new dose? I'm also wondering if it's time to go back to TR now that Radar is eating with much more consistency.
The other thing I'm wondering about is dosing above 5 units. We've been here before, but it was back in July 2017 right before and after a dental. Is it correct that the dose can be moved by .5 units when you are above 5 units? Is there anything else I need to know about when the insulin dose is so very high?
What do I need to read? study? Any thoughts you have to share will be appreciated. thanking you in advance for your wisdom

and am not too keen on repeating that very often if it's at all possible. 5 units feels like a high dose to me when I consider that it's 10 units in a day. Although I do know there are kitties who get way more insulin in a day.