1/12 Radar - after a pretty blue day I hope he doesn't bounce now -pmps 273

Jan Radar (GA)

Member Since 2015
my last post a few days ago

Radar is responding well to the increase in insulin and today we are seeing consistent blues which we haven't seen in a while. :cool:

I'm looking at the guidelines for SLGS and if the nadir is more than 150 an increase of .25 is called for, but that's after holding the dose for 7 days. I'm wondering a few things: Is it safe to increase before 7 days have passed? or is this a time when I need to be patient and let Radar settle more into this new dose? I'm also wondering if it's time to go back to TR now that Radar is eating with much more consistency.

The other thing I'm wondering about is dosing above 5 units. We've been here before, but it was back in July 2017 right before and after a dental. Is it correct that the dose can be moved by .5 units when you are above 5 units? Is there anything else I need to know about when the insulin dose is so very high? :bookworm: What do I need to read? study?

Any thoughts you have to share will be appreciated. thanking you in advance for your wisdom :bighug:
 
Yay, blues!:cool: I'm glad to see Radar is doing so well after his dental--such a relief to have that over with.

I would wait at least 6 cycles on a dose, but I can see wanting to move him up faster than every 7 days. On the third hand:rolleyes:, I'd be inclined to be conservative since dentals can affect insulin needs and he'll have that larger depot. I'm curious to see what you are advised.
 
Good to hear Radar is eating more consistently post dental. :) The answers to most of your other questions depend on whether you are following SLGS or TR. I wouldn’t call 5 units “so very high”.
 
I don't think it is a good idea to rush dose increases. You don't want the depot to get ahead of you. Nice blues for Radar today.
 
Good to hear Radar is eating more consistently post dental. :) The answers to most of your other questions depend on whether you are following SLGS or TR. I wouldn’t call 5 units “so very high”.
Consistent eating has been my biggest concern for months and months which is why I've stuck with SLGS. I've had the rather scarey experience of a cat who refused to eat with dropping numbers :nailbiting: and am not too keen on repeating that very often if it's at all possible. 5 units feels like a high dose to me when I consider that it's 10 units in a day. Although I do know there are kitties who get way more insulin in a day.

Today is cycle #4 on the dose of 5 units. If I stick with SLGS, it seems smart to wait before considering an increase. If I switch to TR, then I'd be able to increase after the 6th cycle? correct?
 
I don't think it is a good idea to rush dose increases. You don't want the depot to get ahead of you. Nice blues for Radar today.
Thanks, Carla, for your opinion. I'm feeling a bit impatient today. I think I need to find my patience pants or maybe get myself a new pair.....
 
Yes, with SLGS you would hold a week, with TR, you can increase after 6-10 cycles with blue nadirs. I tended to longer if low blues myself.

Having had a cat who needed more insulin, and seeing some with a lot more, I learned that a cat needs however much insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the dose size.
 
Yes, with SLGS you would hold a week, with TR, you can increase after 6-10 cycles with blue nadirs. I tended to longer if low blues myself.

Having had a cat who needed more insulin, and seeing some with a lot more, I learned that a cat needs however much insulin they need. The BG numbers are more important than the dose size.
Thanks, as always, for offering your insights. I appreciate the time you take to answer my questions. :bighug:
 
Back
Top