1/12 Eddie PMPS @ +14 = 384 - 0.8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo = http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=111703

I think the 2U is going to be too much. He did OK on the 2U before, but we had to delay the AM shot this morning by quite a bit as he was still surfing. On a side note, really proud of DH this morning. After he shot at 161 last week, I printed out a short list of instructions for him, and after consulting me this morning, he followed them to a T to retest to watch for a shootable number.

Trying to give his ears a tiny bit of a rest, even though Eddie's a good sport. Will check at +6 which be in approx. 40 mins or so.

AMPS
166 (+12.5), 152, 181, 239, 319 (+13.75)
+6 = 173
+8 = 149
+10 = 140
PMPS +12 = 81(?)/126/131 - NO SHOT - WTH?
*Edited: at AM +14, he's jumped up to 384. Shot 0.8 to get some insulin in him tonight, and will hope for shootable numbers close to the normal time in the AM.
 
Re: 1/12 Eddie - AMPS 166/319 (delayed)

Looks like something between 1.5 and 2 is the sweet spot for now. Hurray for DH. You are lucky. There are lots of people here doing this all alone because the DH refuses to get involved.

The 2 units was good before. As their bodies adjust to the insulin and diet, often the dose needs to be reduced. It is the reason we shudder when a vet says, " just continue giving this dose, don't test and see me in two weeks" :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/12 Eddie - AMPS 166/319 (delayed)

DH has been wonderful. I think he gets mildly annoyed at times since it seems like all I talk about is FD. :shock:

On the other hand, he does almost all of the shots, and helps with testing. On the weekends to let me catch up on sleep a bit, or if I need to crash for a nap, he takes over testing duties. I feel incredibly fortunate to have someone to help with this process. It can be overwhelming at times.

AM + 6 = 173
 
Re: 1/12 Eddie AMPS 319 (delayed), +6 =173, +8 =149, +10 =14

AMPS this morning was done at about PM +12.5, and we had to delay shooting almost an hour and 30 mins. since he was still hanging in blue numbers.

Tonight, at +10 (5:45PM), he's still cruising the blue at +140, and that's after a small turkey snack at about +9.5. He otherwise seems to be feeling pretty good. Normally, he eats and gets shot at 6AM and 6PM. At +12 tonight, assuming he's shootable, he's going to be almost an hour and 45 mins. off schedule. We practiced the twist method for reducing by drops (thanks Sue!) to eyeball between 1.5U and 2U on the U40 syringes, and intend to shoot what we're going to call 1.75U tonight. Any suggestions on how to get him back on schedule? Both DH and I work FT, and both of us are out the door by 7:30 AM. I hate to skip the shot if he's still low in the AM, but we aren't going to be able to monitor extensively in the morning and wait for his BG to raise if it's low. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/12 Eddie AMPS 319 (delayed), +6 =173, +8 =149, +10 =14

I wouldn't shoot tonight unless he is over 200. If He isn't, the only way I see is to skip tonight and start new in the am with your 1.75, even if he is higher.

If he is over 200, then you could shoot a small dose, maybe one unit, just to give him something to work with. Then he probably would be high enough to shoot in the am at the regular time?
 
Re: 1/12 Eddie AMPS 319 (delayed), +6 =173, +8 =149, +10 =14

I think I like this plan, Sue.
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
I wouldn't shoot tonight unless he is over 200. If He isn't, the only way I see is to skip tonight and start new in the am with your 1.75, even if he is higher.

If he is over 200, then you could shoot a small dose, maybe one unit, just to give him something to work with. Then he probably would be high enough to shoot in the am at the regular time?

Just to re-iterate, so I'm clear: see what his numbers are at +12. If he's over 200, shoot a reduced dose (perhaps 1.0), in the hopes that he'll be high enough to shoot in the AM at normal time to get him back on schedule. This makes sense to me.

What a huge difference 0.5 makes! He was getting about 10 hours on the 1.5U, and at 2U, he's getting like 14 hours! Hopefully the 1.75U will get us 12 hours :)

I can't begin to thank you enough! I hope to someday to feel confident enough in dosing to help other new beans out.

Jen and Eddie
 
Re: 1/12 Eddie PMPS (+14) 384 - 0.8

Well, at +12 (PMPS), which was 1.75 hrs. later than normal due to the delayed shot this morning, first test said 84(?), re-tested twice and got 126 and 131. Not sure if the increase was due to stress of being held for extra tests (poor Eddie), or if the 84 was inaccurate.

Either way, since we are so off schedule, to try to get him back to our regular 6AM/6PM schedule, going to no-shoot.

*Edited. At +14, he's jumped up to 384. Shot 0.8 to give him a little insulin overnight, and will hope he's shootable in the AM.
 
When I need to shift earlier after weekends, I reduce the dose so I can shoot earlier at the next time. For Gracie, reducing by 0.2 - 0.4 units lets me shift 1-2 hours earlier.
 
BJM said:
When I need to shift earlier after weekends, I reduce the dose so I can shoot earlier at the next time. For Gracie, reducing by 0.2 - 0.4 units lets me shift 1-2 hours earlier.

Thank you SO MUCH BJM! I had initially decided not to shoot because he was still in the lower blues at +12, but I felt horrible leaving him to ride out high 300's or 400's overnight, to get him back on schedule so I gave him 0.8. Hopefully that will help a little overnight. Fingers crossed that he'll be shoot-able at a close to normal time in the AM.
 
Those numbers were for Gracie. I see you did adjust them for Eddie.

I base it on how much her dose drops her overall - 0.2 units seems to be maybe 50 mg/dL drop for her.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Tomorrow's amps will interesting.
Yes, yes they will. @-)

If nothing else, today has been a lesson that the duration of the insulin is yet another factor that comes into play!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top