Debra and Yoyo
Member Since 2018
Day 24 @.25Unit Lantus http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-281-4-147-5-130-pmps-299-2-339-4-266.209245/
I don't think there will be any green today.....+2@318Nice start for Yoyo. Maybe you'll see some green today. I'd test soon if you can since it looks like he is clearing a bounce.
I appreciate you taking the time to offer me advice regarding Yoyo. On 1/7/19 I had discussed with Carla @carfurby to increase Yoyo's dosage to .5 units but then the same day he throws out an 87 so I haven't changed his dosage yet. Thank you for caring.I think you are testing more than enough to adjust your "decrease dose" number a little lower than the starting instructions for SLGS. That would allow you to give a slightly higher dose and keep Yoyo in better numbers. Aside from an isolated high green on 1/7, the values you're measuring are consistently rather high.
Not wanting to force your hand or anything, but remember the dosing guidelines are not gospel, they are open to adjustments when you know your cat well enough and are testing enough. In this case it seems a shame to me to stick to a dose that is keeping Yoyo in numbers that are not really healing -- he probably needs a little more help if he's to try for a remission!
I hope you don't take my advice the wrong way. Up to you to see if you want to take it into account, and no offense taken if you don't.
When you check Quintus's BG levels are you using the Alphatrak2? And are you using Freestyle InsulinX test strips or Freestyle test strips? I saw the abbreviation FS on Quintus's Spread Sheet.I think you are testing more than enough to adjust your "decrease dose" number a little lower than the starting instructions for SLGS. That would allow you to give a slightly higher dose and keep Yoyo in better numbers. Aside from an isolated high green on 1/7, the values you're measuring are consistently rather high.
Not wanting to force your hand or anything, but remember the dosing guidelines are not gospel, they are open to adjustments when you know your cat well enough and are testing enough. In this case it seems a shame to me to stick to a dose that is keeping Yoyo in numbers that are not really healing -- he probably needs a little more help if he's to try for a remission!
I hope you don't take my advice the wrong way. Up to you to see if you want to take it into account, and no offense taken if you don't.