1/11 Yoyo AMPS 203,+2 318,+4 217,+5 174,PMPS 388,+2 316,+4 180

Nice start for Yoyo. Maybe you'll see some green today. I'd test soon if you can since it looks like he is clearing a bounce.
 
I think you are testing more than enough to adjust your "decrease dose" number a little lower than the starting instructions for SLGS. That would allow you to give a slightly higher dose and keep Yoyo in better numbers. Aside from an isolated high green on 1/7, the values you're measuring are consistently rather high.
Not wanting to force your hand or anything, but remember the dosing guidelines are not gospel, they are open to adjustments when you know your cat well enough and are testing enough. In this case it seems a shame to me to stick to a dose that is keeping Yoyo in numbers that are not really healing -- he probably needs a little more help if he's to try for a remission!

I hope you don't take my advice the wrong way. Up to you to see if you want to take it into account, and no offense taken if you don't.
 
I think you are testing more than enough to adjust your "decrease dose" number a little lower than the starting instructions for SLGS. That would allow you to give a slightly higher dose and keep Yoyo in better numbers. Aside from an isolated high green on 1/7, the values you're measuring are consistently rather high.
Not wanting to force your hand or anything, but remember the dosing guidelines are not gospel, they are open to adjustments when you know your cat well enough and are testing enough. In this case it seems a shame to me to stick to a dose that is keeping Yoyo in numbers that are not really healing -- he probably needs a little more help if he's to try for a remission!

I hope you don't take my advice the wrong way. Up to you to see if you want to take it into account, and no offense taken if you don't.
I appreciate you taking the time to offer me advice regarding Yoyo. On 1/7/19 I had discussed with Carla @carfurby to increase Yoyo's dosage to .5 units but then the same day he throws out an 87 so I haven't changed his dosage yet. Thank you for caring.
 
I don't think that 87 should prevent you from increasing. SLGS has quite a bit of padding built-in before hitting values that should make us take notice, and you're testing a lot, so you could without worry let him go down to 80, even if you're using an AT2.

Remember that the "lime green" cutoff number is there to tell us to increase surveillance and make sure numbers don't drop lower, but they aren't dangerous per se. (When I discussed with my vet, because he thought I'd overreacted when I was faced with my first 72 or something, he said he wouldn't worry until 40; not meaning one should be cavalier with low numbers, but it definitely helped me not panic when I saw 60.)

I think given the 87 was an isolated event, and you're seeing numbers around it upto 350 or more, it shouldn't be considered representative of where the dose is taking Yoyo.

Cheers and thanks for your gracious reception of my advice!
 
I think you are testing more than enough to adjust your "decrease dose" number a little lower than the starting instructions for SLGS. That would allow you to give a slightly higher dose and keep Yoyo in better numbers. Aside from an isolated high green on 1/7, the values you're measuring are consistently rather high.
Not wanting to force your hand or anything, but remember the dosing guidelines are not gospel, they are open to adjustments when you know your cat well enough and are testing enough. In this case it seems a shame to me to stick to a dose that is keeping Yoyo in numbers that are not really healing -- he probably needs a little more help if he's to try for a remission!

I hope you don't take my advice the wrong way. Up to you to see if you want to take it into account, and no offense taken if you don't.
When you check Quintus's BG levels are you using the Alphatrak2? And are you using Freestyle InsulinX test strips or Freestyle test strips? I saw the abbreviation FS on Quintus's Spread Sheet.
I am using the Alphatrak2 meter and I use the Alphatrak test strips and sometimes I use the Freestyle InsulinX test strips. When I use the Freestyle InuslinX test strips I use code 38 as was advised. When Yoyo's numbers are high the difference between the two test strips is anywhere from 50-70 points. As the numbers get lower, so does the comparison between the two test strips. Sometimes only about 7 points difference.
Congratulations on Quintus's remission. You and Quintus did fantastic!
 
Yes, FS is freestyle. I managed to stock up on AT strips again. I’m not sure we get the other ones here!
Thanks, I never thought Quintus would go into remission, let alone reach 2019. His numbers have been going up but his arthritis is worsening and maybe pancreatitis acting up... seeing the vet next week to talk about better pain management. But the old boy made it and is still around!
 
Back
Top