1/11 Purrdy AMPS 189 +2 122 +5 94 PMPS 167 +3 99 +4 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap:
AMPS 166
+5 108
PMPS 124
+3 113
+4 121

Did the predicting lagoon numbers thing last night so of course Purrdy said skrew you I'ze a cat an I do wat I want :rolleyes: mum says I'm never allowed to make predictions again - I concur! After the prediction debacle I also mentioned that I'd be happy as long as he keeps bringing his AMPS down like he has been, the result, again with the skrew you!

As far as dose goes according to QLD protocol and Tilleys page we hold because he's staying between 50-200 throughout the cycles - couldn't find anything about holding in our TR protocol - it's early did my bleary eyes miss something?

This morning is his tenth cycle at this dose and he hasn't gone over 200 once - So is it patience pants time or should we be increasing to push him a little lower - appreciate your thoughts.

Serryn
 
Last edited:
First day cycle green for Purrdy :D mum's going to get a +6 in the name of science, ok I'm sure you all saw through that - in the hopes of getting more green on his spreadsheet :D we're a bit excited.

Now to hijack Purrdy's condo with a Vyktor question - I think he had blood in his urine this morning. He went over the edge of the tray and when I cleaned up the floor there was red on the cloth. Urine quantity was fine and he seems fine. Is that ever okay to ignore - well not ignore I have utensils at the ready to try and grab the next one for a thorough inspection - is it possible to have perhaps a little stone or something pass through on it's own and cause this or should I be booking the vet appointment already? I'm wondering about adding some water to his food too but am concerned this may dilute the urine so that I miss more blood or could negatively effect a sample if we do end up at the vet.
 
I had a male cat that had stones, and almost obstructed. This is very common with male cats and could be very serious (kidney damage) very quickly (hours) if he is unable to urinate. If it were my cat, I'd take him in. They are sometimes able to see stones with an x-ray, but you might want to bring in a urine sample as well so they can figure out what kind of stones they are. Adding more water will help to flush them out/dissolve them. Could also be an infection or something else.
 
I'm not sure about the blood in the urine, but if it was my cat, I'd go to the vet just to be safe.

It's nice to see green again today for Purrdy. I see he's teaching you and your mom about keeping us on our toes and changing things up when we think we know what they'll do.

Here's what I found about increasing the dose in the TR Protocol:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Hi Serryn,
In general I like to hold a dose if it is doing pretty much what I want it to do. Purrdy is getting greens on this dose. See what the others think.

I think I would take Vyktor to the vet, just to make sure this doesn't escalate.

Hugs and scritches (also to Meg),

Ella & Rusty
 
I agree -- this could be a UTI since they can often cause blood in the urine.

I have a different spin on Purrdy's dose. He's been at 1.5u for 10 cycles. The numbers are good but the lowest he's gone so far on this dose is an 88. You still have room to increase. You might consider fattening the dose vs. increasing to 1.75u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top