1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI", +1 508, +3 335, +5 247, +10 286

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!! ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) (lots please), and Happy Tuesday!

1/10 Condo

1/10 RECAP:
fed mini meals @ ps, +1, +2, +3: AM CYCLE: Merrick Surf and Turf 3%, Wellness Chicken 4%, PM CYCLE: Merrick Surf and Turf 3%, FF Tuna Feast 7%, FF GLovers Beef Feast w/ Gravy 14%, FF Beef Feast w Gravy 18%
amps 219 3.0Su:7th cycle on this dose
+2 177
+3 132
+4 94 fed 3% LC
+4.5 84 fed 3% LC
+5 90
+5.5 92
+6 89 fed 3% LC
+10 187
pmps 254 3.0Su:8th cycle on this dose
+2 181
+3 115 fed 7% LC
+3.5 93 fed 7% LC
+4 98 fed 3% LC
+4.5 78 fed 14% HC w/ gravy
+5 71 fed 14% HC w/ gravy
+5.5 78 fed 18% HC w/ gravy
+6 98 fed 1b% HC w/ gravy
+7.5 147
amps 198 NO SHOT: dental day:9th cycle on this dose


Morning! Mannie had a great day yesterday - greens both cycles: this bean could not be happier! :-D :-D Today is vet day for Mannie: dental and cyst removal. nailbite_smile nailbite_smile I elected not to give him his shot this morning. His BG was 198 @ normal shot time. Factoring in how his cycles were yesterday, and the fact that he would have several hours without food, that it is 3 hours before I can even drop him off, and the effects of anesthesia - well.... thought it best to skip. We will get back on track when he gets home. I plan on getting a couple of tests in this AM before he goes, and will check him when he gets home, and as normal, before shot time. At that point i will decide if I need to give a reduced dose: slightly concerned on the effects of anesthesia, and how soon he can begin normal eating in relation to shot time. so..... that's the plan.

This i would like to share. In talking with my vet yesterday about all this she mentioned how they at the vets office consider me an invaluable source on FD, home testing, lantus. They often wonder if it would be OK to give me as a reference for newly diagnosed FD kitties so that their beans can fully understand what they are dealing with, and how to help their kitties, rather than the pts option. They are looking for someone to help eliminate the fear factor, and help educate these folks. wow - and fancy that. We shall see how this pans out. All in all - that was awfully nice to hear.

Mannie is great this morning - and not complaining too much about the no food thing... poor guy! This morning he did use his auto feeder, and sighed visibly when he found it empty.... His solution: napper napping, and so he is. he's very cuddly affectionate, purry. and forgiving. cat_pet_icon

have a great day everyone. I have a feeling that it will be a very long one here...
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198: NS, vet day

you are a PERFECT candidate to ease the fear for folks, michelle...

thinking the BEST of thoughts for your day today...

celi

DUDE!! you gonna do fone at da betty's...and we all be waitin wit spa treamens, ktss and many, many comforts an luvies when you get back!
lubs ya!
binks
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198: NS, vet day

ummm...i din't means "do fone" at da betty's...dey got sumone ta do dat job..
I meant 'fine'...gots no thumbs ta typus..
binks
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198: NS, vet day

That is awesome, Michelle, for the Vets to think this much of you and your knowledge with fd and Mannie and ask you for help for those owners considering PTS. You would be great with helping them. Good dental vibes for Mannie today.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198: NS, vet day

Sending you all the best for the vet-day today - hope everything goes well and you get back to normal, nice and easy... be a good boy Mannie!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198: NS, vet day

I really hope the vets use you as a resource. I think it's one thing to hear that FD is manageable from a vet or a vet tech. It's far more reassuring to hear the same message from a mom of an FD kitty.

Sending healing vines for Mannie's procedure today. I hope he's back home quickly.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181: NS, vet day

181 @ +14, and down some. wow - I think I made the right decision in not giving him shot this AM.

thanks to all! These days are so nerve wracking! I apologize to you all in that I know I won't be able to visit condos this morning - hopefully later when I get home. I think I will spend these morning hours visiting my DGS, that should soothe the nervous beast that lies within me. :lol: :lol:

Sienne, all - my feelings exactly, which is why when she mentioned it I told them yes, and go ahead if that bean is receptive. They've also asked about fdmb, and now have this as reference tool also. I love it when vets are on board with what we do here. :-D :-D

Binks - dude! This is so scary.... i still dunno about that bum shave thing..... my bean says it is better than lavender soap on my tush... :shock: see you guys later - LUBS you my friends! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181: NS, vet day

Good vetty vines on their way for you, Mannie.

Michelle, I can't think of a better person to help out newbies whose kitties have just been diagnosed with FD. I hope this will work out! Your vet sounds very sensible and compassionate. Good luck today with the dental and cyst removal.
Ella
Chef Mannie, The KTSS will be over when you get back from the vettybean. We'll make you something nice to eat that won't irritate your nice, clean teeth. See you later, man! Be brave, buddy!
Rusty
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181: NS, vet day

Glad Mannie is doing well and hanging in there w/out food!! Nice numbers today and nice curve last night. We're sending tons of healing vines for him!

That is absolutely wonderful about your vet and there is no better person to do that hand holding and "training". Wow...that's great!! Try to have a calm day and pls
let us know as soon as Mannie is awake and you get home.

Mannie...we bringing you KTSS today and a little pair of pretty panties to cover your butt shave!!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181: NS, vet day

I thought I just sent you a post, but something happened with my computer, so I'm re-sending. Good luck with the vet today. I am interested in hearing how the dental goes because I have to get Simon in for a dental soon. He hasn't had one in years and now that he is older and has FD, I am really worried about how he'll do with the anesthesia. Glad Mannie numbers look good today without a shot. Sending you positive thoughts and healing prayers today.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181: NS, vet day

Wishing Mannie an easy dental, easy little surgery & hope he will be showing off his new shiny toofs in a day or so--
Thinking of you all day!--Great that he is all prepared for the whole procedure--The not feeding is one of the hardest parts--
I think it would be great for you to help out the vet withy FD kitties, I have done it a couple of times..You are one great Lady!
Quick Healing vines to our beloved Mannie today!--You'll be surprised how quickly he rallies after the surgery & dental--
All our lubs & Hugs to You & Mannie today :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Mannie I has had 2 dentals & my toofs felt so much better!!--Cant wait to see you smile- Come home soon!! :mrgreen: -Big Hugs from Moonie!!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

Mannie's are looking good for skipping the shot this morning. Wishing him a good visit at the vet's today.

John
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

Hi, Michelle & Mannie.. wishing you nothing less than the very best at the vet visit today.. always nailbite_smile
I have no doubt Mannie will be marvelous.. bless his little heart, no shot.. no food & STILL being a PURRfect kitty!
Awesome news on the Vet considering you a FD resource ;-) thinking of you both today :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

Good morning guys! That was so nice of your vet to talk to you about that, letting you know how much they think of you and if other FD kitties come along, hopefully their beanz listen to you ... I will be sending positive thoughts mannies way for his dental .. I am sure he will do fine .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

Great cycles for Mannie! Fingers crossed for smooth sailing at the vet today. I'm sure Mannie will be back on track in no time!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

Michelle, sending good vetty/dental/cyst removal vines for Mannie! Visiting DGS sounds like a great idea to keep you busy!

I think it's fantastic that your vet wants to use you as a resource for newly dx FD! Wonderful that they are on board with FDMB as well. :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

Sending tons of good vetty vines today. Mannie is being so good w/ no breffis this morning. I hope no pain so he can enjoy eating when he gets home. It is so great that your vet wants you to help newly dx kitties and ther beans. Last time I had Tess at the vet I suggested a FD support group and she sounded interested. I gave them a FDMB calendar too.

Mannie! KTSS will be waiting when you get home, and guarding your nanner pile until then. -- Tess
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

That's great about the vet. My vet has given my number to a couple of other FD beans as well, and also refers people to this website now I am told. Good vetty vines, calming bean vines, and healing vines all coming your way.

Mannie - I iz sowwy you habta go to da vetty bean today. I be'z dere wit da KTSS when you gets home do! - Lubs, Muffin
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, vet day

I'm sending good vetty vines and healing vines for Mannie today. I know how it makes you nervous, but try not to worry. We'll be waiting to hear about Mannie's adventures today. And I think its awesome that your vet want to use you as a FD resource. All of their new FD patients would be lucky to have you as a guide.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, prelim vet rp

Hi guys - and THANK YOU ALL for the visit today.

I have just spoken to them, and Mannie has done very well with his dental. No extractions, he handled the anesthesia well, is starting to recover, wake up etc. I should be able to pick him up in a couple of hours. so - a good experience for him - it is just a fact I think that dentals once a year are part of his future - all part of being a FD kitty. He did have alot or tartar buildup, even with our attempts to take care of his teeth, short of brushing since that would result in the loss of my appendages. More later when I bring him home.

They did not remove the cyst - mainly because they could not find it - they spent 15 minutes feeling every inch of his back, found only 3 very small insignificant bumps, but no cyst. huh? And truth be told I couldn't either the past few days. It never was big in the first place. Theory is that the exploratory needle extraction of tissue a few weeks ago 'broke up what little there was there. I dunno..... it is difficult to feel in the first place. I am not too concerned - should it resurface we will deal with it then.

all in all success!

thanks to all of you for your vote of confidence in my being a resource for them. we shall see how this pans out. I will talk with them about this. I think it is great - and would love to think that maybe, just maybe, we can save some more.

and this from Mannie, whop seems to have smuggled in his cell phone: tyurei fjiflsgjm jigj fkspnghjfhgjfh jfhgl ttititiitp[[[[[w jgkjfkjks;;;;??? jtjti[pw[[[ewrqweqewrqdsfffffffffffffffffffff iiuuyuuyujjgjslkl; gopopd] ~~ Mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnni hmmmm - I think someone has had too much happy juice and needs to recover a bit more before he comes home.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, prelim vet rp

Yay! Best vet report ever! Soooooo happy for you, Michelle!
Tell Mannie to share whatever he is on.. we could all use some :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, prelim vet rp

Just reading the condo and so glad to see Mannie had an easy visit with the vettybean ....

Hugs to you and him for when he gets back home.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, prelim vet rp

This makes my day; just got home and so glad Mannie had a good Vet visit and no cyst to remove.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +12 198, +14 181, +15 214: NS, prelim vet rp

Michelle and Mannie said:
Hi guys - and THANK YOU ALL for the visit today.

I have just spoken to them, and Mannie has done very well with his dental. No extractions, he handled the anesthesia well, is starting to recover, wake up etc. I should be able to pick him up in a couple of hours. so - a good experience for him - it is just a fact I think that dentals once a year are part of his future - all part of being a FD kitty. He did have alot or tartar buildup, even with our attempts to take care of his teeth, short of brushing since that would result in the loss of my appendages. More later when I bring him home.

They did not remove the cyst - mainly because they could not find it - they spent 15 minutes feeling every inch of his back, found only 3 very small insignificant bumps, but no cyst. huh? And truth be told I couldn't either the past few days. It never was big in the first place. Theory is that the exploratory needle extraction of tissue a few weeks ago 'broke up what little there was there. I dunno..... it is difficult to feel in the first place. I am not too concerned - should it resurface we will deal with it then.
all in all success!
thanks to all of you for your vote of confidence in my being a resource for them. we shall see how this pans out. I will talk with them about this. I think it is great - and would love to think that maybe, just maybe, we can save some more.

and this from Mannie, whop seems to have smuggled in his cell phone: tyurei fjiflsgjm jigj fkspnghjfhgjfh jfhgl ttititiitp[[[[[w jgkjfkjks;;;;??? jtjti[pw[[[ewrqweqewrqdsfffffffffffffffffffff iiuuyuuyujjgjslkl; gopopd] ~~ Mannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnni hmmmm - I think someone has had too much happy juice and needs to recover a bit more before he comes home.


aww poor Mannie, all juiced up, lol...great update Michelle, glad he is ok! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home! - stall?

well - we are home. He is still very groggy, not too mobile yet. I did take his BG level at we got home - which read "HI". Right now he will not eat, as he still is feeling the effects of the anesthesia.

so - question: do I stall until he does want to eat, and then shoot? or force feed and shoot? not too sure I want to force feed a kitty who is till mildly sedated. anyways - I should be shooting in 30 minutes, but can stall until he is more with it. what do you guys think?

other than that - he did well.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

Re. the Biotene -- it contains propylene glycol which is not good for kitties.

I would stall until he wakes up enough to eat and you may need to shoot a BCS dose if his appy is still off.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

Hi Beth - I just saw the question on Biotene. I don't know - but will check it out. THANKS! Oh SIenne - saw your response - thanks!

OK - It's what I thought i'd do, and yes on the reduced dose. Maybe 2 units, or 2.5? thanks!!!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

Hi Michelle
I am glad that the vet visit went well for Mannie today and that he
has a speedy recovery.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

Can't help with dosing. I'm glad he's home with you to watch over him. Glad the cyst didn't have to be removed or any teeth either.

Hugs to Mannie. I have to get a dental done for Maverick and i"m so nervous I can't seem to make an appointment.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

:lol: :lol: Too funny Mannie, texting from the vetty's! How very cute he is, he must've known you'd be worried. I hope the KTSS is there (Muffin's been gone for hours already) making him feel better. Odd about the cyst, but lucky for Mannie he didn't have to have that done too!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

I'm so happy the vet visit went well. How does the bum shave look?

Mannie! Dude! You got tooken to the vet too? It sounds like they got you worse than me. They just shined a light up my nose. Happy sleepin' Buddy.
Ted
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

So glad he's home and all went well!!!! YAY....no cyst removal and no stitches or extractions!!

Re: Biotene....want to add that sorbitol is a main ingredient also and is contraindicated in diabetics.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

Hi guys - still a bit groggy, so we are still waiting for him to be more with it. He is walking better now, so hopefully soon we will be back with the program. looks like this will be another longggggg stall.

It was a good appt for Mannie, despite the "condition" he is in now. Right now were working on getting him more functional, and alert. It seems he was the last appt they did - sheshhhh on that, so no big surprise he's still fighting of the effects of the anesthesia. I am glad that there were no extractions, still think it's weird on the cyst, and Hooray on the butt shave! They didn't do the urinalysis, cuz it seem he peed in his carrier as they were getting ready to do that, so nothing more to be had.... Typical Mannie. So sometime we will have to go back for that.... interested in food, but still won't eat it.

Mannie says he will write you all when he can string two words together. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" we're home!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Re. the Biotene -- it contains propylene glycol which is not good for kitties.

I would stall until he wakes up enough to eat and you may need to shoot a BCS dose if his appy is still off.

Thanks Sienne! I missed that information. Odd though...I've used it for a bit. I am going to remove the link anyway! ;-)
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

In a seperate post....

Oh Mannie....I just want to give you a big hug and snuggle. Feel better soon sweet boy, you have nanners to protect!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

so glad he had a good visit...
and on the texting...
 

Attachments

  • bwahahaha.gif
    bwahahaha.gif
    28.5 KB · Views: 1,673
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

Michelle, I am very very happy, Mannie had no extractions. Tomorrow, he'll be smiling all day, so everyone can admire his pearly whites. :-D
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

Mannie, you did great at the vet's and you showed them that your teeth are just fine. Good job on getting rid of the cyst before they could find it!!! Now it's time to get back to normal, so I'll be over real soon with the KTSS to help you "de-grog".
Your pal,
Rusty


Michelle, It was a long day for Mannie and you, but I'm sure you're relieved that all is OK. I hope he comes out of the anesthetic "high" soon so that he can enjoy some dinner and so that you can give some insulin. It's a good idea to give a token shot tonight. You can get back on schedule over the next day or so. Give your boy some scritches for us and tell him how wonderful he is and how proud we are of him!

Hugs,
Ella
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

Wuz thinking about you guys today!
Glad to hear everything went well!
And super duper hurray for butt shaves!!!! :mrgreen: Its kinda weird to look at initially, but then its pretty cute. ;-)
(pssst...I put shea butter on Latte's butt, partially because it was sore/red, but also to 'protect' it. I think it helped A LOT!)

Hope the rest of the evening is restful.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie +23 "HI" ~~ we're home!

Great news on the vet visit, I'm glad Mannie is coming around. Take comfort in the fact that the Infinity tends to read higher . Do you have a backup meter to help lower your blood pressure when you see readings like that? :lol:

Mannie, Mannie, Mannie, Mannie? You there dude? Wow, what did they give you? That's way more potent than catnip! You got that vetty smell but good, ALL of KTSS is working hard though. -- Tess
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI"

PMPS "HI". :YMSIGH: I shot a token 1.5units, 2.5 hours behind schedule. He still will not eat or drink, but is moving around better. I've syringed some water, finger fed a little chicken baby food, all of which has stayed down. Things are improving, but very slowly.

Hi Ann - :lol: on the meter - I should have used that. Sure does make one sick to their stomach - oh well - he existed with numbers like for a long time before we even knew he was diabetic.

Hi Carolyn - dental did go well, very glad for that! now to get him functional again. and yes - too funny on the butt shave - i will have to remember the she butter.

Thanks Susan - we are trying. what a stressful day!

Thanks Ella - I did give him a token dose. Had to do something... and will do on the scritches :-D

Hi Barb - me too. I've been telling him he has to practice his "open wide"

Hey Celi - silly boy - won't be caught without his phone....

Hi Beth - funny - he feels like crap, but that's the first place he went - the nanner pile. it took him forever, as his legs still didn't want to work too well... :-D

and for everyone I missed - thanks for remembering us, and visiting Mannie today. You guys are the best - all is so appreciated!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI"

Glad the vettie bean visit and dental went well, Michelle. I'm hoping that Mannie is back to being Mannie is a little while.

Hey, Mannie...oh my, vettie bean and dental! Dude, KTSS will be there to help you in a flash. Guess what...I gots to go get my dental tomorrow...Hope I do as good as you!........Lubs, Spot
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI"

wooo-hooooo! clean toofies and couldn't find a cyst any more!
glad you reduced the dose. hope mannie is feeling more like himself soon!
keep an eye on bg's tonight in case mannie is one of those kitties whose numbers drop from the after effects of the anesthesia...
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI"

Glad everything at the vet went well today...so weird on the cyst and how they couldn't find it...but I guess if you haven't been feeling it lately either that it must've gone away??? Does that happen??

So sorry about the "HI" though....but on the good side at least he was always in good care and didn't try to go the other end of the spectrum. Hope he starts to feel better soon and tomorrow he will be back to his old self!
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI"

Hi Michelle,
Glad Mannie is home. I hope you both can get some rest. It's stressful to see them go thru a dental, but how nice no extractions. Mannie is a lucky kitty to have you as his Bean. Take care.
 
Re: 1/11 Mannie PMPS "HI", +1 508

508 @ +1. YAY: he ate a little baby food on his own - licked it off my fingers - maybe a teaspoons worth. I am feeding this in small amounts to make sure he keeps it down. He's still not himself, but walks normally, with a few stumbles. He is, more or less, still a little stoned. I don't think I have ever in the dozen upon dozens of dentals I have been through, including Mannie, had a cat take so long to come around from being under.

MJ - I thank you truly - always bring a smile to my face. Mannie did fine today, but having to deal with a drugged cat it very trying. Thank you for making me smile.

Jill - will do. I will test him on the hour for as long as I can stay awake. :-D I will feel better once I can get some more food into him.

Thanks Ann for the visit. it is stressful - very, but he will be fine - just taking his sweet time getting there. :?

Hi Pamela - indeed weird on the cyst. Since he was so out of it tonight I felt as much as I could to, and could not find it either... I guess they can...

Hi Deb - phew on the dental - no lost teeth! Hooray - I wish a good visit for spot tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top