1/11 - Indy AMPS - 124 (Gave 1/4 dose) Dosing help

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
1/7

Hey everyone,

It has been a rollercoaster few days with Indy's IBD flareup. The day after it triggered, we went to 1u, he stayed high. Kept him on that for a couple of day and increased by .25u. Only did that for a day because he went down into the 50s. Went back to 1u yesterday and he stayed blue all night. (which is great...but he wasn't showing any signs of rising at AM shot time). Gave him .25u this morning because he didn't finish his food last night. He has been doing some eating today but not a lot and has dived into the 50s three times today.

I don't even know what to do with his dose at this point....anyone got any ideas?
 
Sorry you're dealing with so much. I can imagine how stressful it must be!

Since you're following SLGS, every drop below your reduction point (80) is a reduction. That would mean 0.75U. The insulin depot takes 4-6 cycles to catch up with a reduction so what you were seeing today could still be the effect of the 1.25U depot.

Are you able to verify Libre lows with a ear poke?

How long till the PM shot is due?
 
We are +7. But was hoping to give his PM shot around +10.5 or +11. We can verify lows with an ear prick. He has also been acting normal. So haven't been too concerned with hypo.
 
Side note. Also, willing to do reductions below 70, just hate that freaking libre alarm that goes off when he gets below 55. (Biggest reason I am not doing TR)
 
It's be good data if sometime you can do a poke with the Onetouch when he's in greens below your reduction point on the Libre. I've seen lots of variations on how people's BG meter testing compares to Libre in lower numbers. Some close, but most Libre reads quite a bit lower.

How's Indy doing tonight? How do you treat the flare ups? I always have ondansetron and maropitant on hand for my IBD girl.
 
He has been on Cerenia the last few days. 2 more days and then we see how he is doing. The diarrhea has stopped, so that's good at least. He hasn't had a flareup in years, so didn't have anything handy.

Indy is doing pretty good. Seems very chipper.

Going to try .75u tonight. Have to work in the morning so hopefully that damn alarm doesn't go off.
 
Back
Top