His shot time was 8:25 a.m. I didn't want to hold it more than 30 minutes so I went out on a limb and increased him from 1.50 to 1.75Wendy&Tiggy said:When are you planning to shoot? Its soon right?
I believe Marje also suggested waiting.Libby and Lucy said:Very good, you're getting it! The only thing I would add is that once a cat starts getting blue numbers, we usually slow down the increases. Instead of increasing after 6 cycles, we try to hold the dose for at least 10 cycles. I agree with your logic in starting counting on the 8th, though, and also with getting PM data tonight.
This is where you don't want to rush things - if you do increases too soon once the cat starts responding to the insulin, then you risk your cat becoming over dose.
He had some highs after the delayed shots and dose increase, which were expected. He hit blue in cycle 3 of the increased dose even though his insulin depot was probably not completely refilled yet, and now he bounced from the blue (also expected). Let's give this dose enough time to work before changing it again. ;-)
Thank youLibby and Lucy said:Gobbles' Yesterday
Now that you have increased, let's see what he does the rest of today. It looks like the bounce is clearing, so keep testing today. It's likely that the bounce would have cleared today even without the increase in insulin, so 1.5u *might* have been enough (and 1.75u might be too much). Keep testing so you can stay in control, just in case.
Thanks! I guess we'll never know about it the 1.75 was needed, but I will wait & see, and keep my fingers crossed that he will stay blue/green as I really want him feeling better, being his old self and having this disease under control.Libby and Lucy said:I'm not sure if the increase to 1.75u was needed. It might have been, but he might have seen the same response today on 1.5u. Definitely you want to wait at least 10 cycles before increasing his dose again, ok?
Just be careful, that's all. :YMHUG:
Did do the updated subject correct? and condo?Ann & Tess said:A couple of house keeping notes to make it easier for us to keep track of Gobbles.
WE put a link in to the previous day's condo for quick reference back by those trying to help. When you are starting the new condo in the morning:
If you want to get fancy and give it a name rather than have the actual code show up:
- - go back to the old condo and copy the URL address from you browser window
- Open a new post like you did today. After filling in the subject, click the URL button above the text box and paste the copied URL where the cursor is blinking between the sets of brackets that will appear.
- - Type a name like Gobbles yesterday or the date or previous condo
- highlight the name and click the URL button
- the brackets will appear around the highlighted name
- Backspace just inside the first set of brackets , type an =sign and past the URL [url type = herepaste URL here]yesterday[/url]
- when you post the name will appear as a hyperlink to your last condo
Here is you link to yesterday
The other thig is that as you take tests during the day, got to the first post of the day, click edit and add the results of the latest test. The change will show in the forum list and every can follow along w/out having to open you condo. It will only show if you make the change in the FIRST POST of the day. Also if you have a question or emergency put it in that first post subject or click one of the buttons above the subject box. Don't use the rainbow or candles, though, those mean a cat has died and you will give us heart attacks!
It takes some getting used to but you will catch on quickly. ;-)
449 :cry:Wendy&Tiggy said:Ooh I love guessing games.. 354.
so you're going with 354 @PMPS+2 ? (with all the testing I did today, would it be considered a "curve"? I don't understand exactly what a "curve" means) I feel bad that his PMPS is 449! Although he had some dinner @6 pm, he wasn't ravenous after his shot and seems a little blue...Wendy&Tiggy said:Sorry did I say PMPS? I meant PMPS+2...![]()
TheBowHuntress said:I guess we'll never know about it the 1.75 was needed
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
Hi PS was 449, his +2 was 309...should I be worried since I'll be asleep in a few hours? (His SS has been updated)Marje and Gracie said:If it's much less than the PS, you should be prepared for a possible very active cycle with an early onset.