1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365 +4 184 +6 122 + 8 218 + 10 389

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

Wendy&Tiggy said:
When are you planning to shoot? Its soon right?
His shot time was 8:25 a.m. I didn't want to hold it more than 30 minutes so I went out on a limb and increased him from 1.50 to 1.75
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

Gobbles' Yesterday

Good morning!!!

I know your condos get kind of busy, but try to scroll back through every now and then to see if you missed seeing responses to some of your questions.

Libby and Lucy said:
Very good, you're getting it! The only thing I would add is that once a cat starts getting blue numbers, we usually slow down the increases. Instead of increasing after 6 cycles, we try to hold the dose for at least 10 cycles. I agree with your logic in starting counting on the 8th, though, and also with getting PM data tonight.

This is where you don't want to rush things - if you do increases too soon once the cat starts responding to the insulin, then you risk your cat becoming over dose.

He had some highs after the delayed shots and dose increase, which were expected. He hit blue in cycle 3 of the increased dose even though his insulin depot was probably not completely refilled yet, and now he bounced from the blue (also expected). Let's give this dose enough time to work before changing it again. ;-)
I believe Marje also suggested waiting.

Now that you have increased, let's see what he does the rest of today. It looks like the bounce is clearing, so keep testing today. It's likely that the bounce would have cleared today even without the increase in insulin, so 1.5u *might* have been enough (and 1.75u might be too much). Keep testing so you can stay in control, just in case.
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

Libby and Lucy said:
Gobbles' Yesterday
Now that you have increased, let's see what he does the rest of today. It looks like the bounce is clearing, so keep testing today. It's likely that the bounce would have cleared today even without the increase in insulin, so 1.5u *might* have been enough (and 1.75u might be too much). Keep testing so you can stay in control, just in case.
Thank you :) I am excited that he is at 184 at +4 today and plan on re-testing at +6. But I've got to tell you--I can really tell that he is getting depressed/stressed with all the testing--my heart breaks for my little best friend--he sometimes seems is like a shadow of himself, if you can relate :( and I truly am trying my best with him--I just want him to get in the blues and crossing my fingers for the greens!
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

I know you want blues and greens. I don't blame you, I want them for him too! But you want to get there safely.

I'm not saying he isn't safe now, but if you increase more quickly than recommended, you are being more aggressive and that means that you will probably have to test more. It makes the safety net just a little bit smaller so you have to be more alert.

I'm not saying it's a terrible thing to be aggresive - I have done it with my own cats - but if you decide to be more aggressive then you have to do it with the understanding that aggressive dosing usually equates to needing more testing.

I'm not sure if the increase to 1.75u was needed. It might have been, but he might have seen the same response today on 1.5u. That's why we wait 8-10 cycles before increasing when they start getting blue, so we can be sure we're not going past a good dose.

Definitely you want to wait at least 10 cycles before increasing his dose again, ok?

Just be careful, that's all. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

Nice to see Gobbles in blue today! :-D :-D Testing keep our kitties safe from hypo, whenever you increase it is a chance it can be more than they need so to keep them safe we test.

Believe it or not our cats get very used to all the testing. We test Tess about 8 times a day on average, more if she is going low. There are several things you can do to make it easier on both of you:
  • - calm yourself down and breathe deeply before starting. Gobbles an sense you tension and will get stressed over the tests himself
    - Always give a treat immediately after testing, whether successful or not, he will start to associate tests w/ treats very quickly and put up w/ it all for that yummy treat at the end
    - When you are just sitting together and petting him, make a point of stroking and handling his ears. What bothers Tess most about testing now is getting the inner hairs on her ears tickled, not the test itself.
    - Always put pressure on the ear for at least 20 seconds to prevent bruising. I told you how many times we test and you couldn't tell from looking at Tess's ears and her ears are very thin and delicate.

Many cats soon come running when the strip canister is shaken, wanting their treat. And thesettle down and purr through the test in anticipation.

:oops: :oops: I didn't see this condo and put a reply in yesterday's about getting full transcripts from the vet. Your new vet probably just got a summery from the old one.
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

A couple of house keeping notes to make it easier for us to keep track of Gobbles.

WE put a link in to the previous day's condo for quick reference back by those trying to help. When you are starting the new condo in the morning:
  • - go back to the old condo and copy the URL address from you browser window
    - Open a new post like you did today. After filling in the subject, click the URL button above the text box and paste the copied URL where the cursor is blinking between the sets of brackets that will appear.
If you want to get fancy and give it a name rather than have the actual code show up:
  • - Type a name like Gobbles yesterday or the date or previous condo
    - highlight the name and click the URL button
    - the brackets will appear around the highlighted name
    - Backspace just inside the first set of brackets , type an =sign and past the URL [url type = herepaste URL here]yesterday[/url]
    - when you post the name will appear as a hyperlink to your last condo

Here is you link to yesterday

The other thig is that as you take tests during the day, got to the first post of the day, click edit and add the results of the latest test. The change will show in the forum list and every can follow along w/out having to open you condo. It will only show if you make the change in the FIRST POST of the day. Also if you have a question or emergency put it in that first post subject or click one of the buttons above the subject box. Don't use the rainbow or candles, though, those mean a cat has died and you will give us heart attacks!

It takes some getting used to but you will catch on quickly. ;-)
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

I agree with Ann & tess about the testing tips - they do get used to it and you get better at it too...so its win! win!

With my cats, sometimes I do it when they are sleeping. They barely wake up - what disturbs them more than anything is the ear touching to warm the ears up! I think they see it more of a nuisance than anything but if you pet them first so they know they are being handled, especially round the ears, then its not so much of a disturbance.

Bailey is difficult to get blood from. Sometimes I poke three or four times. he sometimes even complains. But after his treat, he is fine again and forgets about it.

Really it doesnt hurt that much - its not anywhere near as bad as if you poke yourself in the finger with the lancet (which I have done many times!!) because their ears have less nerves than our fingers. But neosporin will help too.

I am sure he isnt depressed from the poking, he might be acting odd more so due to the high BG. But all the same make sure you spend time stroking him when not testing him. You dont want him just to associate you only with the minor nuisance of having his ears touched and poked at.
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm not sure if the increase to 1.75u was needed. It might have been, but he might have seen the same response today on 1.5u. Definitely you want to wait at least 10 cycles before increasing his dose again, ok?

Just be careful, that's all. :YMHUG:
Thanks! I guess we'll never know about it the 1.75 was needed, but I will wait & see, and keep my fingers crossed that he will stay blue/green as I really want him feeling better, being his old self and having this disease under control.

CONDO: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=86673
 
Re: 1/11 Gobbles AMPS 365

Ann & Tess said:
A couple of house keeping notes to make it easier for us to keep track of Gobbles.

WE put a link in to the previous day's condo for quick reference back by those trying to help. When you are starting the new condo in the morning:
  • - go back to the old condo and copy the URL address from you browser window
    - Open a new post like you did today. After filling in the subject, click the URL button above the text box and paste the copied URL where the cursor is blinking between the sets of brackets that will appear.
If you want to get fancy and give it a name rather than have the actual code show up:
  • - Type a name like Gobbles yesterday or the date or previous condo
    - highlight the name and click the URL button
    - the brackets will appear around the highlighted name
    - Backspace just inside the first set of brackets , type an =sign and past the URL [url type = herepaste URL here]yesterday[/url]
    - when you post the name will appear as a hyperlink to your last condo

Here is you link to yesterday

The other thig is that as you take tests during the day, got to the first post of the day, click edit and add the results of the latest test. The change will show in the forum list and every can follow along w/out having to open you condo. It will only show if you make the change in the FIRST POST of the day. Also if you have a question or emergency put it in that first post subject or click one of the buttons above the subject box. Don't use the rainbow or candles, though, those mean a cat has died and you will give us heart attacks!

It takes some getting used to but you will catch on quickly. ;-)
Did do the updated subject correct? and condo?
 
The subject line and link are perfect. Keeping your subject line updated is very helpful! There are several of us that scan the Board throughout the day to see if anyone needs help. Having your numbers visible, makes it easier - and quicker - for us to identify if we think there may be a problem brewing.

Nice bit of blue today! You're seeing Gobbles bounce a bit. That's normal so don't get upset with the higher numbers. He'll settle in.
 
Sienne and Gabby: It is really comforting to know that ya'll are out there keeping an eye on my Gobby :) I am going to test him/shoot him in 20 minutes...I assume he'll probably be more than his +10 of 389...? My husband and I started playing a "guess the BG" game of sorts....
 
Oh well, probably bouncing from that beautiful blue 122! Remember to keep updating your first post subject w/ every test. When we get to PMPS we usually remove most of the AM numbers to have enough room, some leave the AMPS in others don't.
 
Wendy&Tiggy said:
Sorry did I say PMPS? I meant PMPS+2... ;)
so you're going with 354 @PMPS+2 ? (with all the testing I did today, would it be considered a "curve"? I don't understand exactly what a "curve" means) I feel bad that his PMPS is 449! Although he had some dinner @6 pm, he wasn't ravenous after his shot and seems a little blue...
 
TheBowHuntress said:
I guess we'll never know about it the 1.75 was needed

you will because if it is too much insulin, he could come down fast when he clears the bounce. So it's good when you see him starting to come down, to keep a close eye on the numbers like you did today. Good job!

One thing that will also help you is to get a +2 test routinely. In general we've found that if the +2 is much higher than the PS, it's likely going to be a quiet cycle. If it's about the same as the PS, you can expect a normal, active lantus cycle (shown below). If it's much less than the PS, you should be prepared for a possible very active cycle with an early onset.

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

And keep in mind that some cats forgot to read the manual that there "is" a typical lantus cycle and they do their own thing. Which is fine and not something we worry about. As you build data, you will learn Gobbles' patterns.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
If it's much less than the PS, you should be prepared for a possible very active cycle with an early onset.
Hi PS was 449, his +2 was 309...should I be worried since I'll be asleep in a few hours? (His SS has been updated)
 
I wouldn't be worried since he's pretty high but I'd just grab a before bed test and see where he is. Post if he's alot lower.

Good job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top