1/11 Buzz- AMPS 390, +6- 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Still on 0.50u. Yesterday's numbers are in her SS; I was gone all day and evening yesterday so I didn't update here, sorry! For ease of reference, this is what yesterday looked like:

1/10/10
AMPS: 413 0.5u
+6: 324
PMPS: 365 0.5u
+4: 336
 
Re: 1/11 Buzz- AMPS 390

Your SS is interesting, I have seen this pattern before. The first dose phenomenon, where kitty responds so nice, and the insulin seems to last much past the 12 hour point, then......the shed needs to be filled and the number go up a bit and kind of hang there in a very shallow curve....what happens next? Usually the "curve" (which is more of a little smile begins to shift downwards into a lower range, usually not low enough though so then it's time to increase just a little, sometimes these increases cause again that 1st dose pattern for a cycle then theres a bounce to higher numbers, then the smile returns and shifts down another level. This prcess repeats until the breakthru dose is reached where greens are plenty and usually the first <50 shows up allowing the dose to decreased. Some move down the dosing ladder very fast others bounce here and there a bit, sometimes needing a short increase at some doses, then well, maybe time to buy some clothes and start packing? :mrgreen:

Hope my crystal ball was right @-)
 
Re: 1/11 Buzz- AMPS 390

I hope your crystal ball was right, too! Do I stick with the 0.5u for 3 days, then?

I was reading the UQ guidelines for dosing and I saw this under "Phase 2: Increasing the dose": If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200mg/dL but peak is >200mg/dL (11 mmol/L): Increase every 5-7 days by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on low or high dose of insulin".

I thought that nadir and peak were the same thing? Or by "peak" in this case do they mean "the highest BG reading of the cycle"?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top