1/10 Shadow PMPS 64,+1 52 +1.5 43, +1.75 46, +2 60, +2.5 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Shadow seems to still not be tolerating the dose increase to 1 unit

AMPS 85- stalled 30 min +.5 88- fed and gave the 1unit +2 74, +3 66 (my husband tried to get BGs twice and was unsuccessful) + 6 96, + 11.5 75, PMPS 52

I did feed him but didn't give insulin yet. Not sure what to do. We've been stalling/skipping doses since the increase
 
Next time, don't feed when you stall....that way we can see that his blood glucose is coming up on it's own without the influence of food

Since you already fed, you'd either have to wait 2 hours and retest (which would mean changing your shooting schedule until you could work your way back), give a reduced shot now (like .5 but you'd still need to be ready and able to test tonight), or skipping tonight to let the depot drain

You could also do 2, 18hour cycles .....which would mean not shooting until PMPS+6 tonight, skipping the usual AMPS shot and then shooting 18 hours after the shot late tonight

So for example...if your shot times are 6am/6pm, you'd wait to shoot tonight until midnight (PMPS+6)....then you'd skip the 6am shot and shoot again at 6pm tomorrow night....and you'd be back on schedule
 
The reason I fed is because we've done this same thing before and he kept dropping. I got advice from the board and was advised to feed him because he just kept dropping. I had tested 30 minutes before and he dropped from 76 to 58.

So at this point do we say he's not tolerating the dose increase?
 
Usually we wait until they actually drop below 50 before we reduce the dose, but I sure understand your concern!!

Do you have an idea of what you might want to do tonight of the choices above?

You could always try a dose between .75 and 1 unit (when you're ready to shoot normally again)....we call that a "fat" .75 or a "skinny" 1U but they're not easy to replicate. If you decide to try, you might want to use a syringe and some colored water to draw up what you're going to call a Fat .75 so you have something to compare to so you can keep it consistent

I'll see if I can find some others with experience too to chime in on his dose

@julie & punkin (ga) @Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
The reason I fed is because we've done this same thing before and he kept dropping. I got advice from the board and was advised to feed him because he just kept dropping.
I advised you to feed the other day because it was an hour past shot time. We don't usually advise feeding right away to see if the numbers come up without the influence of food. If you stall too long without feeding, they can keep dropping because they haven't eaten anything. It's a balancing act. The next time you get a low number, don't feed right away and post for advice.

Hopefully he'll surf safely for you tonight.
 
I'd get a +1.5 then....and I'd go ahead and give him a little more food to eat now (but we don't want to "fill him up" either...looks like he may need to eat for awhile)

It'd help if you'd go to your first post and keep your subject line updated too. Just go to that first post and over on the right you'll see "Thread Tools"...click that and then "edit" your subject line to keep the latest results listed

So tonight would say 1/10 Shadow PMPS 64,+1 52

Do you have plenty of high carb food or Karo/honey/syrup?
 
This is early in the cycle. Did you give high carb food? I'd maybe add a drop of karo or syrup to the food too.
 
+1.75 46- gave another tsp food. I didn't give high carb or karo.... I can with the next check if you think I should
 
Let's see the next test, but we want him above 50 and I'm not sure if he's onset yet.

Nice bit of surfing today though. :D
 
+2 60
So what does this mean for his dose going forward? Try to go back to the .75 now that he's actually gone under 50 twice on the 1 unit
 
Let's see how the rest of the cycle plays out. If he comes up easily and stays above 50 then you could consider going to the three times under 50 (or once under 40) that most long term diabetics use. If it's hard to keep him up tonight, he may really want a reduction.
 
As Wendy said, it will depend a bit on you....a lot of us wait until they drop below 50 three times if they're longer term diabetics (or drop below 40 ONCE)

Or if you have to work really hard to get them above 50 and keep them there, you might want to go ahead and reduce
 
That's a very nice safe number!! I'd grab another test in about 45 minutes and make sure he's continuing to stay up

Now time to get your swim shorts on and do some surfing, Shadow!!
 
Just want to get an idea about the morning dose....I know a lot could happen before then, but I work tomorrow and no one will be home to test until about +8/9.... it will also be a busy morning trying to get out of the house quickly so I won't have too much time to stall.

Thoughts?
 
I think it will depend on his preshot number. If he bounces, it's an easier decision. But always err to the side of safety. Do you have an autofeeder?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top