1/10 Phoenix BG 160

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
Phoenix has been on prednisone, levalbuterol and Flovent for asthma for the last 2 weeks. It made his BG go higher and I have adjusted his insulin to compensate.

Yesterday was his first day with no prednisone. His BG is now dropping. At +11, his BG was 39. I gave him honey and another one half can of fancy feast hc.

Do I need to delay his insulin and if so for how long?
 
Hi Susan, you would need to wait 2 hours after the HC/honey to see if he stays over 50 to shoot.
That's quite a nose dive at the end of the cycle. And a reduction!

Let's see the +11.5.
 
Phoenix's BG is now 153. It has been 1 hour since I fed him honey and fancy feast. I think he will continue to go up, but I will not feed or give his insulin until you tell me it is okay. Thank you, Bhooma
Just to understand, the 39 was at +11 and the HC/honey was fed then and the AMPS is 153? When was the 133?
 
Just to understand, the 39 was at +11 and the HC/honey was fed then and the AMPS is 153? When was the 133?
The 39 was actually at +11.5. This is when I fed the honey and fancy feast hc. One half hour later was his regular shot time. This is when his BG was 133. One half hour later, his BG is 153. I am waiting to take another reading in about 20 minutes.
 
Hello Bhooma, it has now been an hour since Phoenix ate. I just checked his BG and it is 160. I will wait for your reply and thank you.
Susan, I think it's been at least 1.5 hours since he ate? The 1 hour reading was 153?

if you can monitor, go ahead and shoot. He has earned a reduction to 8.5U.

Please change your title to reflect the latest readings. Thank you! :-)
 
Susan, I think it's been at least 1.5 hours since he ate? The 1 hour reading was 153?

if you can monitor, go ahead and shoot. He has earned a reduction to 8.5U.

Please change your title to reflect the latest readings. Thank you! :)
Thank you, Bhooma, I will go ahead and feed and shoot. I believe that I will be adjusting his insulin a lot in the next few weeks. His dose was 7. 5 units before he started on the prednisone. Now that he has finished it, his BG will probably start dropping. Thank you for your help this morning and have a good evening.
 
Did you recheck that 39 with a second strip?

That 39 scares me. Very good that you were monitoring him. It’s good that you are on alert now that the pred is stopped. How’s he doing? Hopefully back to normal.
 
Watch him closely. He has quite a depot in play. If it were me I would have taken a larger reduction of one unit (I am sure it’s against the “guidelines” but this situation seems to warrant it.)
 
Watch him closely. He has quite a depot in play. If it were me I would have taken a larger reduction of one unit (I am sure it’s against the “guidelines” but this situation seems to warrant it.)
Yes, the 39 was correct. I am monitoring him very closely since I expected this after finishing the prednisone. Phoenix is doing great. He hasn't been outside in 3 days due to the cold weather. The vet said that cold air in his lungs could trigger an asthma attack.

I am going to let him outside today since it is supposed to get above 50 degrees. I will watch him very closely.

Thank you for your concern. I haven't posted much lately since Phoenix got sick.
 
Yes, the 39 was correct. I am monitoring him very closely since I expected this after finishing the prednisone. Phoenix is doing great. He hasn't been outside in 3 days due to the cold weather. The vet said that cold air in his lungs could trigger an asthma attack.

I am going to let him outside today since it is supposed to get above 50 degrees. I will watch him very closely.

Thank you for your concern. I haven't posted much lately since Phoenix got sick.
Yes, Susan, I was actually quite worried about you and Phoenix. I looked for a condo from you and I was worried! I’m glad he’s doing better with his asthma now.
 
Back
Top