1/1 Rocket +6 90 and gave half dose

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/1 Rocket AMPS 133-NOT EATING

i may have to give him food with gravy and even if i skip the dose tonight....he is not interested in anything....if need be i will syringe feed him some Clinicare....

meds were late by 3 hrs almost....soon after we got home meds were given.... :sad:
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit

since he is not reliable he will eat much tonight i opted to give him less than 0.25u...not sure how much it was but closer to the zero mark....
ate only 2 tsp of baby food....
the concern i have is that he is constantly shaking...almost parkinsons like symptoms....ER vet said it could be from pain....so this sucks cause i tried rubbing rescue remedy to sooth him....not working....tried catnip....not working....the feliway disufer does not work on him....makes him howl....

warming up food...not working....tuna water...no longer working....chicken broth....has never worked....bonito flakes...don't work on him...never have....parmesan cheese...licks it but leaves the food behind....actual chicken...doesn't really work....trust me....i know him and when he does go thru the not eating spells with his CRF....i've tried every trick out there....

so last thing to do...is mix reg food and clinicare and syringe feed....

even not adding the aluminum hydroxide to his food today as he has not been eating........

as i know he will go soon under the bed...i put his heated bed there with some of his blankets.....

i'm increasingly concerned....main goal..to get him to eat....disturbing...the constant shaking....i'm sooooo upset....this is toooo much to take.....and have to put brave face to my folks (who are here until Tues afternoon) and DH.....sooooo hard to do....i feel like CRYING..............soooo tired and overwhelmed....been up since 4 am (went to bed at 2 am) so 2 hr sleep and not straight thru.....no nap this aft as we had to go to the in-laws...........oh soooooooo overwhelmed..............

please keep me and Rocket in your prayers....i feel like i'm falling apart.........short of collapsing..... :sad: :cry:
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Calming prayers for you Claudia (((Claudia))), and eating
smiley-eatdrink022.gif
vines being sent to Rocket.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

+0.5 phenobarbital and zantac have been given
fed him 1 tsp baby food mixed in some liver dust...then gave 1/2 tsp of his reg food....assist feeding him a lil bit at a time....like feeding a baby....i will try to give more a lil later........he won't eat out of his bowl for now....so spoon feeding is ok with me....so long as he eats....

i'm drained....will take a half hr nap....will try
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

(((Claudia & Rocket))) I agree with everyone about it being good that there wasn't any big issue that came out of this ER visit. I hope that gives you a little peace of mind for tonight.....I hope that Rocket settles down and that both of you will have a restful night. Good results on the reports are so great to see.....hopefully, your regular vet will look into things too for you....
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

I'm so sorry, ((((Claudia)))). I tried Forti-flora tonight with Blackie and he ate all his food with a little sprinkled on it. But I also know that when they don't want to eat it doesn't matter what you try. So keep assist feeding and see how he is in the morning. Is there anyway you can call the ER vet in the morning and pick up some pain meds? Buprenex can be given orally. Sending many healing vines and prayers for Rocket and you. ((((Claudia)))) & ((((Rocket))))
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

just checking in to let you know our thoughts and hearts are still with you and the Rocket-Man.

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

I wouldn't use fortiflora with a possibly sick cat from what I've read recently.

Claudia I'm sending hugs and keeping you two in my thoughts. I did just google more on shivering and pain. Is he peeing normally? Of the sites where I looked up shivering and pain kidney stones seemed to pop up a lot. I know you have the bases covered for fever/CRF/Hypo's and blood pressure.

You are an amazing mom to Rocket and are doing everything you can. I can't believe that ER place sent you home without pain meds or checking his temp. Can you call them back for some buprenorphine until the holiday is over?

Hang in there.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Sending you all our best thoughts - hang in there for Rocket - it is a good thing you are getting him to eat something and the Clinicare must be helping w/ hydration. Saw the suggestion to try and get some pain meds just in case - so I hope that is possible to try tonight.

Hope you will feel a little better after a nap - Rocket needs his bean on her feet, to help him through this! Strength to you, Claudia!
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Positive thoughts and many prayers for a good night tonight and a better day tomorrow. (((((((Claudia & Rocket)))))))

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Karrie and Maverick said:
I wouldn't use fortiflora with a possibly sick cat from what I've read recently.

Claudia I'm sending hugs and keeping you two in my thoughts. I did just google more on shivering and pain. Is he peeing normally? Of the sites where I looked up shivering and pain kidney stones seemed to pop up a lot. I know you have the bases covered for fever/CRF/Hypo's and blood pressure.

You are an amazing mom to Rocket and are doing everything you can. I can't believe that ER place sent you home without pain meds or checking his temp. Can you call them back for some buprenorphine until the holiday is over?

Hang in there.
ER vet said she would not send me home to administer the buprenorphine....she only had injection form and being a morphine type drug she is NOT lisenced to give me the stuff to do at home...she said it has to be given every 8 hrs so meaning i would have to bring Rocket every 8 hrs to the ER to get the shot....stupid....Tramadol was the other pain med....he does not do well on that...from past experience....so no meds to help him....peeing fine....nothing showed up in the urine test (no infection)....stones have crossed my mind....all he seems to be in pain right now seems the arthritis....does not sleep hunched over....stretched to the side....relaxed but shivering like....

i'm more stressed out than ever.....he is now under the bed.....now +1.5....have not tested....will try assist feeding in 15 mins....trying for him to sleep off the pheno.....at least i know that under the bed he is now warm....his heated bed is there....and so are his other blankies....

i'm sooo upset....the stupid ER vet did not have a clue that cats can go on remission from diabetes...she seemed shocked when i told her.....where the F do they go to school i wonder?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! grr_red
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Hi Claudia,
Im sorry to hear you needed to bring Rocket to the ER today. I hope you will soon be able to see your regular vet and get some answers about the shaking. If I read correctly (read earlier in the day), they did offer to administer some bupe for pain if you brought him in. If you think this is pain related, would you consider doing this?

Im glad you are skilled with syringe feeding and know when to use it. It got Latte over more humps than I can count. I hope it will help Rocket. If you have not tried to open some food and feed Rocket directly from the can, that might be an option. I have no idea why, but for some reason that would sometimes work with Latte. I moved the can around because I was always scared of her cutting her mouth, but that never happened.

I understand how exhausted you are. I hope you can get some rest. You need it to care for Rocket, right!
IMHO, I wouldnt worry so much about the insulin. Its most important to get food in Rocket, keep him comfortable, and for both of you to rest.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

carolynandlatte said:
Hi Claudia,
Im sorry to hear you needed to bring Rocket to the ER today. I hope you will soon be able to see your regular vet and get some answers about the shaking. If I read correctly (read earlier in the day), they did offer to administer some bupe for pain if you brought him in. If you think this is pain related, would you consider doing this?
she didn't even guarantee it would work...useless vet....she rushed the consult over the phone only to tell me he was ready for pick up....told me of that injection and said could be every 6 to 8 hrs to bring him in the entire weekend and Monday.....she told me there are lots of side effects....what stopped me from doing that is the stress of taking him every 6 to 8 hrs.....and financially....

now i'm really in tears....i don't know what to do....

Comet had Tramadol a lil while back and i have some left overs....not sure if i should try to give him that or even call the vet to get the Rx for that.....i don't know....he stopped eating when he was given the Tramadol and it was an awful experience....

i don't know.........don't know anymore.........
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

I've been away from the PC most of the day, and am now trying to catch up on condos.
So sorry to hear about your bad experience. Praying for strength for you and comfort for Rocket.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Hi Claudia & Rocket!

I'm so sorry that Rocket is now feeling well. I think Carolyn may have a good suggestion
"If I read correctly (read earlier in the day), they did offer to administer some bupe for pain if you brought him in. If you think this is pain related, would you consider doing this?"

Also the oral Bupe pain med can be given by you at home, I'm not sure what is the issue there with the ER vet, perhaps you can call and ask again for the oral. I have given Whiskers the oral Bupe on two differant occasions, I'm not sure if the vet filled it or if they called it into the local pharmacy.

Sending prayers and positive thoughts for a speedy recovery!
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Hi Claudia,

Just read your most recent post. Checking google it appears that buprenorphine (oral) (byoo pre NOR feen) can be used by humans as well, so the ER vet should be able to call it into the local pharmacy. Do you have walgreens there. They are open on holidays some 24hours. I hope the ER vet would at least consider the oral.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

oral buprenex and injectible buprenex are one and the same.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Claudia,
The bupe is going to likely make Rocket a little spacey and sleepy. IF it is pain related, it should help. Maybe it would be worth a trip to get the injection so if he is in pain it will be reduced and then both of you can get some rest. Rest is key to healing. It sounds like you could both use it. I know I would under your circumstances. But, I also understand how hard it is ...adrenelin, fear, anger, sadness, etc. If it doesnt do anything, then you know not to go that route anymore.

If you choose to try it, maybe call in advance for a 'good time', so you dont have to wait. I could never get my vet to give me cerenia injections to go home (but they did give me lots of bupe injectible :roll: ), so I had to bring Latte in for those from time to time. By calling ahead we scheduled a time that was as stress free as possible for everyone. I also made it clear she did not need an exam, so we only paid for the medicine (and cost to inject it). Since Rocket was just seen there today, they may not charge you for anything more than the medicine.

BUpe has been hard to come by lately and is very expensive because of it. That may be part of why the ER does not just give it out. It is also a controlled substance. Any other vet than the one that knew Latte and I so well would have never given it to me in injectible form.

I had a great fear of pain meds due to our metacam experience. Though I had a large stash of tramadol, I never used it. I was less fearful of bupe after hearing so many people's experiences with it in their cats.

Here is a link about bupe:
http://www.petplace.com/drug-library/buprenorphine-buprenex/page1.aspx

And one for Tramadol:
http://www.marvistavet.com/html/body_tramadol.html
*note- at the bottom of this page it offers a caution of using in animals with a history of seizures* That would be something to discuss further with the vet before giving the tramadol.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

(((Claudia))) Hang in there, breathe......sending prayers for you and Rocket. Please eat for your bean, Rocket.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Definitely sending you some prayers for Rocket. I hope his appetite will improve and he feels better.
You are such a good momma bean to him. Sorry about all the trauma and waiting at the ER vet.

For my arthritic elderly civvie I use a warming pad (pet safe) under a cushiony bed for her.
She seems to really love it and I think it relaxes her.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

i typed a whole post to have it disappear

buprenex is different than buprenorphine....
the one she mentioned was buprenorphine in injection form cause the special pharmacies are closed til Tues so the oral form they don't have on stock and the injection needs to be given by a vet...she is not lisenced to send me home with it...something to do with legal stuff

buprenex she never mentioned....my understanding is they're 2 diff meds

his reg vet said buprenex can be given for his pancreatitis flare ups....but was never Rx to him....reg vet mentioned Adequan....but hesitated to Rx it as the diabetes had come back and told me to deal with one thing at a time....

ER vet said that his belly seemed fine and only the lower back and hind legs seemed sore...she even said something about his kidneys being small....like i don't know that...and how would she know if no ultrasound was done....she prob thinks i'm stupid....that i don't know....who knows

i'm in Canada so no Walgreens

eta: fed him 1 tbsp of reg food and 1 tsp of baby food mixed together with liver dust....took me 1/2 hr to feed him that as he is under the bed....
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Claudia & Rocket said:
buprenex is different than buprenorphine....
the one she mentioned was buprenorphine in injection form cause the special pharmacies are closed til Tues so the oral form they don't have on stock and the injection needs to be given by a vet...she is not lisenced to send me home with it...something to do with legal stuff
buprenex she never mentioned....my understanding is they're 2 diff meds.

Buprenex is the brand name. Buprenorphine is generic. They are the same.
http://www.petplace.com/drug-library/buprenorphine-buprenex/page1.aspx

Most people are given bupe for their cats in an oral form. THis needs to be compounded.
Injection is straight . I gave injections to Latte the last few months of her life. As I said, most vets wont give it in that form. Some can and will. Canadian Laws may be differrent and more strict.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-prayers much appreciated

hey, claudia...my friend Lisa is here...she's a doctor...she just made some calls and found out there are Walmart pharmacies in calgary open tomorrow from 9am to 6pm...and something called "the Real Canadian Superstore" that has a pharmacy open tomorrow also.

does that help at all??
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Makes sense now why the shot at the ER. Also understand the cost issue, the ER's are so expensive. Someone suggested no exam ask for just the shot if it is a pain issue. Should cost less.

You are doing the very best you can, just hang in there.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-prayers much appreciated

mybuddybinks said:
hey, claudia...my friend Lisa is here...she's a doctor...she just made some calls and found out there are Walmart pharmacies in calgary open tomorrow from 9am to 6pm...and something called "the Real Canadian Superstore" that has a pharmacy open tomorrow also.

does that help at all??

since it is a compounded drug to be given orally she said they use certain pharmacies....and they're closed...the two you menti'on are not compounding pharmacies....i even asked her if she could Rx it to where i get the Calcitriol for Rocket and she said that pharmacy was also closed....i checked and Scrippts is closed tomorrow....

laws in Canada are different....and she stressed the legal aspect of her not being able to send me home to do it myself.....so not sure why his reg vet had suggested the Adequan for me to inject him under the skin not intramascular....as i'm not a nurse...so i can't....but reg vet felt confident since i do insulin and subq at home the Adequan could work...when i asked for that to the ER vet she seemed to know nothing of Adequan....dismissed me asking her....
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-prayers much appreciated

dang it! was hoping that might be helpful...

have you eaten anything, girl?
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-prayers much appreciated

mybuddybinks said:
dang it! was hoping that might be helpful...

have you eaten anything, girl?
had some chips and coffee....not hungry at all....have not slept either....things are tense here at home me being on the computer....DH and dad watching hockey...mom in her room....so sucks that i can't even visit with them....have ignored them since we got back from the in-laws....

i love my folks but i wished they were back in their home so i can just deal with Rocket and not have that added stress of dealing with other people...i can always ignore DH....he is used to it
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

carolynandlatte said:
Most people are given bupe for their cats in an oral form. THis needs to be compounded.
Injection is straight . I gave injections to Latte the last few months of her life. As I said, most vets wont give it in that form. Some can and will. Canadian Laws may be differrent and more strict.
I've heard of compounded buprenorphine, although I cannot for the life of me see why, unless it's a supply issue.

I'm using both the names buprenorphine and buprenex interchangably. The injectable buprenorphine that comes in a carpuject or ampule can also be given orally. We have used it both ways - same carpuject/ampule, draw out with syringe, either inject with same syringe, or remove the needle and give orally. Oral buprenex (which IS injectable buprenex) is sometimes dispensed in a non-sterile vial, by hospitals, from its original sterile ampule/carpuject. This should not be injected for the very obvious reason that it is no longer sterile.

There is another form of buprenorphine, called buprenorphine SR (sustained release) in the market. I am not familiar with that; my impression that it is fairly new (I could be wrong). What I've read says to inject it SQ, no mention of oral. I believe this can also be compounded. One of Meowzi's vets is not comfortable using SR (as opposed to the conventional buprenex) in cats; he was aware that some veterinarians had resorted to using that during the period when there was a shortage of the conventional buprenex in the market but he doesn't think it's been tested for safety and dosing in cats.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-prayers much appreciated

i don't eat when i'm upset either...

hoping with all my heart this gets resolved quickly...hate seeing you go through this.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-ate tiny bit-prayers much appreciate

Claudia & Rocket said:
...she even said something about his kidneys being small....like i don't know that...and how would she know if no ultrasound was done....she prob thinks i'm stupid....that i don't know....who knows
she palpated his abdomen and felt them. http://www.sniksnak.com/cathealth/renal.html

laws in Canada are different....and she stressed the legal aspect of her not being able to send me home to do it myself.....so not sure why his reg vet had suggested the Adequan for me to inject him under the skin not intramascular....as i'm not a nurse...so i can't....but reg vet felt confident since i do insulin and subq at home the Adequan could work...when i asked for that to the ER vet she seemed to know nothing of Adequan....dismissed me asking her....
my guess is it's not the injectable aspect, but that buprenex is a controlled substance that can be abused by humans.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question

i fed another 1 TBSP of reg food with 1 tsp of baby food and liver dust...took me another 1/2 hr to do it...he doesn't want to come out from under the bed....so have not been able to test him for his BG

looking at his lab report...and i still have not translated to US #s...i see his Ca++ is HIGH....range is 2-2.95 mmol and he is 2.99 (sorry it's not translated)....he is getting cosequin....

could high Ca++ cause the shakyness in him? or am i looking at something that's not there?

also the ALB is 45 (high) range 22-44 G/L
TP is 74 (range 54-82) G/L...this is not high but thought of adding it for you to see

ER vet said he did not seem to be in pain from a flare up of the pancreatitis....all she noted on the report was the arthritis....

would Adequan be better than Bupre?

sorry i asked more questions than just one!

my head is spinning....thinking i'm having a nightmare and will wake up soon...but i know that's not the case....
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question

When I researched adequan for Maverick it wasn't something that worked right away. It isn't for pain. I remember there were five weekly shots and then once a month after if I recall correctly. I think he needs a pain med for the short term (or until you can get another diagnosis) but adequan is something you could consider for arthritis management.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question

Claudia & Rocket said:
looking at his lab report...and i still have not translated to US #s...i see his Ca++ is HIGH....range is 2-2.95 mmol and he is 2.99 (sorry it's not translated)....he is getting cosequin....
2.99 mmol/L serum total calcium is 11.96 mg/dL

tanya's site mentions cosequin possibly raising blood pressure, but i do not recall reading any connection between hypercalcemia and cosequin.

could high Ca++ cause the shakyness in him? or am i looking at something that's not there?
i don't know, you may have to look it up. i've been dealing with a really bad headache all day and my head hurts too much to do any research tonight. anyway, from our experience, Meowzi has mild hypercalcemia (confirmed by ionized calcium levels). i'm not happy about that, but she doesn't have 'shakiness.' but that doesn't mean anything, as ECID. if you want to look it up, try animalhealth.msu.edu; under their endocrinology section (may be FAQ, i forget) - there is a section on calcium levels.

Karrie and Maverick said:
When I researched adequan for Maverick it wasn't something that worked right away.
correct. there is a loading period. the frequency of shots and duration of loading period may vary by vet.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question

if he is having a pancreatitis flare up...let's assume that is what it is

can Tramadol get him thru until tuesday?

i am on the phone with the ER clinic to see if Tramadol can be given to me there rather than going to pharmacy

fed Rocket just now and he is shivering too much....and he burped and was gassy.....so perhaps it's a flare up.....but don't know if giving Tramadol will be ok until i take him in on tues to the vet.....

the bupre the quote they've given me it's extremely expensive and means taking him every 6 hrs to the ER to get injection......
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question

It's most likely that the albumin levels are elevated due to Rocket being somewhat dehydrated. If the TP is fine, I wouldn't be concerned about the albumin levels.

The Ca level is of concern. I suspect the elevated Ca levels are due to the Calcitrol. A side effect of Calcitrol is elevated Ca levels. Symptoms of elevated calcium generally do not include shakiness. (I've not been able to find anything specifically about shaking and Ca levels. Ca is important in muscle contraction but that's as much of a relationship as I can find.) Did they happen to give you a phosphorus level? Calcium and phos usually change in relation to one another. There's info on Tonya's site on hypercalcemia. She mentions the relationship between low Ca and Calcitrol but she doesn't note that elevated Ca is a side effect of Calcitrol. You'd need to search other sites more specific to the side effects of the drug.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

Sienne,
been busy trying to feed him that i have not translated the lab report to US #s

this is what it is as IS #s

CRE 241 (27-186 umol)
PHOS 1.70 (1.09-2.74 mmol)
BUN 25 (4-11 range mmol)

thoughts on the Tramadol?

he had not gotten his fluids when i took him in to the ER
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

Claudia,
I posted above about tramadol:
http://www.marvistavet.com/html/body_tramadol.html]
Considering Rockets history of seizures (which i dont know his history but you have it listed), it would be good to have a good consult with the vet before juts blindly giving it.
Tramadol can cause seizures in humans and thus should be used cautiously in animals with a history of seizures.

Not trying to scare or confused. Just a big advocate of making informed decisions when it comes to medications
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

carolynandlatte said:
Considering Rockets history of seizures (which i dont know his history but you have it listed), it would be good to have a good consult with the vet before juts blindly giving it.
i agree.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

Tramadol is processed primarily through the liver but it is also excreted through the kidneys. As a result, a decreased dose may be needed.

If you're going to talk to a vet, please discuss the elevated Ca level and the Calcitrol. You may need to reduce the Calcitrol dose.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

i'm sorry Claudia, that you're going thru this,
I know they're several beans watching for you, hang in there,
and just wanted to say I'm hoping things pick up real soon for Rocket.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

I'm certainly not expert on the medical issues here, but I remember the effect that tramadol had on Mowgli....I would be very cautious about giving insulin while he's on tramadol, as it does affect BG levels.
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP

vet said no interaction with his current meds
did not get concerned with the seizures
even told me i could give the tramadol all 10 mgs for one pill at the same time as the other meds....but i won't.....i will give at 11 am/pm
was only given 6 pills enough to wait to Tuesday
as per the dose...i have empty gelcaps....wonder how much to give...she Rx 10 mgs which is one capsule

thoughts?

i need to give it here shortly....trying to time all his meds....and i could give it at 11:30.....now 11 pm
 
Re: 1/1 Rocket PMPS 108-question-HELP-tramadol info

yes Laurie...based on what Keri went thru with Mowgli i would not give insulin while he is on this tramadol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top