1/1 Buddy Update AMPS 477 (still constipated)

lbeachstace

Member Since 2022
Buddy is still constipated and his numbers are going up. He's eating well and eating every meal we give him.

We gave him 3 doses of Lactulose yesterday and one this morning.

We feel he needs to drink more water
  • What is the easiest and safest way to do this?
  • Can we give him tuna water?
  • I know a syringe isn't safest way. What have you found to be the best ways to get them to drink more.
  • I am ordering a water fountain today. They had one years ago but i think this may help - anyone have one they love?
Happy New Year to all.


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...3-483-gave-lactulose-for-constipation.272460/
 
Tuna water is fine. Try and get salt free though. I don’t know where you live but if in the US then Trader Joes sells salt free tuna in water.
 
You might want to consider an increase to 5.5 units. I know you are on SLGS, but the reset to a lower dose wasn't required, so this would be just getting him closer to where he was before the reset. Lowering his BG's will be easier on his kidneys and he won't need to drink as much water, hopefully helping that constipation too. Have you tried getting a vet appointment yet so see if they can help.

I sometimes made home made chicken or turkey broth, basically boiling them by themselves in water. Neko liked the result.
 
Hi @Wendy&Neko - we plan on raising him tonight and I changed the signature to TR. We'd like to go this route until we can pull back once we start to see better numbers.
 
Keeping some fingers crossed for some output. Tagging @Max & Lori who also uses lactulose on her kitty to see if she has suggestions on how long it takes to produce results.
 
@Wendy&Neko - we are very nervous. he's not even trying to go to the box to push; he is peeing normally but nothing else. We spoke to a Chewy vet today, it may be too hard and/or too big - but she was perplexed as to why he wasn't even trying. :(
 
Hi, I’m so sorry Buddy is constipated. It may be at the point now where he needs an enema to relieve him, then start the lactulose. My Max has constipation at times as well. When he is constipated, I give him the lactulose twice per day. Usually that produces a BM later that evening. If it doesn’t, the next day I switch to Miralax twice per day and that works.

I have had to take him to get an enema a few times when nothing is working. Like the others have said, the water intake is very important. Max likes his water fountain. He didn’t like drinking from a bowl.

Something new we’ve tried is baby food squash added to his food. It has helped Max in getting more fiber and he loves it. I know how you feel, it’s very upsetting. I hope he gets some relief soon. If not, he definitely needs to see the vet for an enema.
 
@Max & Lori - thank you. :bighug:

Has anyone every done a home enema? If so, what do you use? Can you share your experience.

How significant is the negative impact of added carbs from adding fiber to his diet, esp with him not yet being regulated? It looks like a lot of additional carbs from our calculations, including the Lactulose.
 
The lactulose is absorbed by the bowel and it stays localized in the intestines, so it does not impact the BG. Also the squash baby food doesn’t affect Max’s BG either. Some people use psyllium for fiber and that doesn’t affect BG. Constipation itself does affect BG as you may already know.

I have never used an at home enema on a cat so I have no experience with that. I’ve always just let the vet do it.

I hope the lactulose will work for you! How much do you give?
 
We are giving 1.5 ml of lactulose - 3x per day, until he (hopefully) goes. Then the vet may have use give it twice a day...it all depends on how this plays out. his stomach is making lots of gurgling noises but nothing yet :(

Do you know if Benefiber (wheat dextrin) effects BG?
 
Not sure about Benefiber. I just use plain psyllium husk powder. You can also buy it in capsules and sprinkle on food with some added water. It’s very inexpensive on Amazon. I just get the Now brand. That’s good you hear some bowel sounds, maybe he will go tonight! Hope so. Max gets 2 ml twice a day. The vet has told me to give it 3 times a day if needed. Also make sure you are using a probiotic every day.
 
How many days has it been since he last pooped?

Is there any chance he found somewhere else to “go”?
 
@JL and Chip - he had a full movement last saturday and then small (2 nuggets) on Tuesday, 12/27 and Friday, 12/30. We got the Lactulose yesterday.

We really don't think he's gone anywhere else because he's very limited to the rooms he likes to be in and we don't smell anything in any of them. :(
 
Back
Top