1/06 Webber-AMPS 329 NEED HELP first day on Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

paige

Member Since 2009
Hello, I am finally here! We have been trying to control Webber's glucose with diet but it doesn't seem to be doing the best job.

Today (at the vet's insistance) I took Webber in to start his Lantus injections. I have updated my spreadsheet to show the curve. My major concern is that she stated him off on 4 units of Lantus. His AMPS was 329 on my glucometer.

Her recommendation is to start off with 4 units once a day in the AM for 2 weeks and then test his again.

Once I got my baby home I realized that no one showed me how to give the injections and where the good spots are. HELLO????!!! They also did not tell me if I should give the injection before or after his breakfast?

Can I please get some advice from those of you who have been using Lantus? If you take a look at our spreadsheet you will see my random BG's for the last few days. I also commented on the day that we switched to 100% wet food. I am feeding all my cats sophisticat mixed grill and turkey/giblets. From the numbers I was getting at home I am pretty darn scared to start him off on 4 units. Thoughts? nailbite_smile

Thank you in advance for your time!!! Webber thanks you too :YMHUG:
 
Re: Webber-first day on Lantus (started at the vet)

Also, what are the colors I am shooting for on the spreadsheet?
 
Re: Webber-first day on Lantus (started at the vet)

First, here they usually start the kitties on .5 or 1 unit. Second, Lantus is a 12 hour insulin, 2x a day. Third, I test, shoot and feed. Lantus kicks in about 2 hours after shooting. I'm sure others will be along to help you. You are in a good place. They have done miracles for kitties here. Read some of the other condos, look at spreadsheets. You will gain a lot of information from that. Breathe! Relax! someone is here 24/7. Glad you found this site.

Have you read the stickys at the top of the page? lots of information in there. Welcome. Glad you joined the community for Webber.
 
Re: Webber-first day on Lantus (started at the vet)

Thank you Barbara. I just read the stickies. MY SS is updated. I don't think my vet is experienced with Lantus and she is quite frankly scaring me.
 
Barbara is absolutely correct. Lantus, in cats, requires twice a day dosing. I don't mean to contradict your vet, but that's a hell of a lot of insulin given the spot checks you listed in the comments section of your SS. If the curve was done at the vet's office, that initial BG level may have been due to the stress of being at the vet's office. With twice a day dosing, if this were my cat, I would be very apprehensive about giving 4 units BID.

Do you happen to know what Webber's ideal weight is? This is one way that initial doses are approximated. Are there any other health concerns that we need to be aware of?

I'm hoping that Jill or Cassandra, two of our very experienced Lantus users who are often around in the evening, will be stopping by and taking a look at Webber's SS. They may have some thoughts about what a good starting dose may be. You may also want to print out the dosing protocol that we refer to, the Tight Regulation with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats. You could share this with your vet.

Do you have a hypo kit prepared? I'm not saying that you need this right now. It's a piece of preparation that we all have. In addition to your usual stock of low carb food, please have a stock of high carb (approx. 18% carb --the Fancy Feast varieties with gravy are a good choice). Also, Karo, corn syrup, maple syrup -- any sugary syrup should be on hand.
 
Sienne,

Yes I have printed out the hypo list and have all of the listed items. Webber weighs 12.5 pounds and I think that is ideal for him. No other health issues (knock on wood). I saw the conversion but if listed weight in kg and I wasn't sure how to calculate.

When I heard today on the phone from the tech I immediately freaked out and left work to check on him. It made me very concerned and I would love to hear what others would suggest. I was fully prepared to shoot twice a day at low levels so this came as quite a shock. Especially because of the "stress >BG" effect of being at the vet and the fact that I work out of the home. I don't want to come home to a sick cat.
 
hello and welcome to the group!
i'm sorry. i disagree with your vet. a starting dose of 4u bid scares the heck out of me! even if webber is dosed by *ideal* weight the dose works out to be 1.425u bid. since you're just starting insulin, imo starting with a dose of 1u bid is a better way to go. i'd skip tonight's shot and restart in the morning.
please read the stickies and refer to them often.
happy to have you join us!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

Great job getting those tests done today! Happy that you skipped tonight's shot. I also disagree with your vet's dosing. 1u is a much better place to start at in the morning. If you have any questions about the AMPS that you get tomorrow please do post, as there is usually someone around to help 24/7 here.

Hope to see you around often! :smile:
 
One other piece of business that will be helpful. I don't think you have a profile set up. When you have a chance, could you do this? The instructions are in the Tech Center in the FAQ post: Profile. If you scroll down the post to the instructions from Cyn & Cosmo (the one that has screen shots), that will be probably helpful. You can attach this to your signature.

Please post daily. Read other threads (we call them condos) since it's a great way to learn and do "visit" -- we're social and it will encourage people to stop by and comment on Webber's progress. And, most importantly, ask questions! You will get lots of feedback.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top