1/06 Socks AMPS 75, +2 95

Sock's mom

Member
Sorry I keep asking questions on here, I just want to be sure I am doing everything correctly. I lowered Sock's dose last night from .5u to .25u because her BG had dropped yesterday morning so I was advised to lower the dose. This morning her BG was 75 and 98@+2. Do I lower her dose again tonight to .1u since she was low again? Even her pmps was not crazy high last night after not having insulin for 24 hours and eating like normal. Is this a good sign? Would she be going into remission already?
 
Oh my, Socks really wants regulation and yes per SLGS has earned another reduction. The new dose is 0.1 units. This is what it would look like:
upload_2025-1-6_17-12-55.jpeg


Have you given any more thoughts to switching to TR? Let me tag some other more members to give some ideas on how to get Socks in a dose that you can consistently shoot twice a day.
@Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee any ideas?
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-6_17-12-55.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-6_17-12-55.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 37
I am so confused after reading about TR what all it entails? If I can get her into remission faster than yes, I would do that for sure I really wonder if just changing her food over and giving her more time to adjust would have eliminated the need for insulin altogether. I think the kitten food she was getting into from our new kitten really pushed her sugars over the edge
 
With TR, you would need to test each preshot and at least one additional test in each cycle. You're already doing this.
You would not reduce unless Socks falls under 50 or spends 1 week in 50-100 range on a human meter.
If you were following TR, we would have suggested to shoot the full dose as long as the PS is above 50.
Are there any specific questions you have about TR?

It does look like he needs some insulin support. You can see that when you've had to skip and at the next PS, he's high blues or yellow.
 
Kitten food tends to be higher fat, not higher calories, but does depend on the manufacturer.

I agree with Angela that it looks like Socks needs some insulin, we just have to figure out what that dose is. You could try the 0.1 units. I'd rather you be able to give the same dose twice a day and for us to see how well it is working. Then increase back up if it's not enough insulin. As Angela said, it is easier to get a cat into remission with TR, as kitty spends more time in healing green numbers. Not to say it doesn't happen with SLGS too.
 
@Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko ok I can try the TR and see if I don't panic too much when her numbers get low lol where I live we are in an ice storm so of course my test strips are delayed for shipping. I have about 10 left so if they dont come tomorrow I'll have to run to Walmart to buy a new meter and strips since they don't sell mine there. I will do the lower dose tonight and test again in the morning and if her number isn't super low, maybe closer to 80, I'll give another dose of .10. I just don't want to be low on strips bc I know I'll want to test her several times when I start the TR
 
Back
Top