09/24 J.D. PMPS HI, +2.25 331, +3.5 206

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo

Last Night:
399 PMPS
211 +3
99 +4
125 +5
405 +8
HI +11
J.D. would eat did not want to eat while he was diving :-| . He ate hungrily at +8 and at +11.
I lowered his dose a bit this morning, to try to stop the steep dives.

He had some hard poo last night. I am hoping for nicer poo today.

This is just a quick post, as I still have to do his 3rd feeding and 2nd walk, and then out the door for work.

I hope everyone has a good day.
 
Re: 09/24 J.D. AMPS HI - Potassium Gluconate question

Right now we are using RenaKare Gel Potassium Gluconate. The gel is vanilla custard flavored and J.D. doesn't like it. I always say, "okay time for the yucky stuff."
I have read about others suggestions for other types or forms or brands of Potassium Gluconate, but I can't remember them.
I just put in my order for the last refill on this gel, and would like to ask my vet about other recommendations for this stuff, besides the steak seasoning she originally tried to get me to go buy because they no longer stocked potassium supplements at their hospital. Pills might be easier for J.D.
 
Re: 09/24 J.D. AMPS HI - Potassium Gluconate question

The most popular Potassium Gluconate seems to be the NOW brand...here's a link:

http://www.nowfoods.com/Potassium-Gluconate-Powder-1lb.htm

Amazon also has it. The 'steak seasoning' she was talking about is actually 'Potassium Salt'. It's sold with the salt - one brand is 'NuSalt' (I THINK that's how it's spelled) but there are others. I use a generic one that just says 'Salt Substitute' for hubby's potassium problems. The body can't tell the difference in 'Potassium Salt' and 'Sodium Salt'.

HUGS!
 
Re: 09/24 J.D. AMPS HI - Potassium Gluconate question

Sending appy and poo vines for J.D. Good luck finding some Potassium Gluconate.
 
Re: 09/24 J.D. AMPS HI - Potassium Gluconate question

I've seen people use the NOW that Lyresa suggested and also Tumil K. According to Tanya's:

The manufacturer recommends 2 mEq per 10 lbs (4.5kg) body weight twice per day. This is contained in one caplet, half a teaspoonful of gel or a quarter of a level teaspoon (0.65g) of the powder.

I would coordinate that dose with my vet.

In addition:
The NOW brand of powdered potassium gluconate is stronger than this: it contains 650 mg of potassium gluconate in 1/4 tsp, which is 135mg of elemental potassium or 3.45meq. In other words, an eighth of a teaspoon of the NOW brand powder is equal to a bit less than the usual Tumil-K dose of a quarter a teaspoon.
 
Re: 09/24 J.D. PMPS HI, +2.25 331

Thanks. I have an order ready to go at PetFoodDirect for Tumil K, since they have free shipping today. I'm not sure if I should get more of the gel or try out the tablets. I wish they stated the size of the tablets.
 
Does anyone think it's food that makes J.D. dive?
I sure wish he would he on his own, when he is diving. He eats on his own when he is high.
I am so tired. I fell asleep at work for a minute or two. Need to go to bed. I hope he doesn't go green next like he did last night. Need sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top