09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +6 181 PMPS 508 +4 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mom2Missy

Member Since 2010
My darling little kitty loves messing with me. Yesterday I post about how short her durations are and how I needed to change to TID dosing, and then the two shots I gave her lasted 11 hours! Yesterday, she did have a big jump from +10 173 to +11 314. Joanna thought this may be due to the insulin dropping off. Since I got a decent rise this morning, I decided to go ahead and shoot 0.2units to see if that will keep her from turning pink like she usually does. I'm kind of nervous to shoot at this low of a BG level, but I gave her a teeny tiny dose and I'll be here all day to watch her. I've heard ProZinc has a 45 days adjustment period, so her numbers will probably get wonky again soon, but it sure is nice to feel like I may have it her slightly figured out.
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168

Okay, maybe I spoke too soon. Like I said, I was nervous about shooting her at 168, even though I only gave her 0.2units. She was just napping on my lap and she started twitching. Probably just dreaming, but it freaked me out so I checked her levels. Now she's at 331! How did that happen? Is it food spike since she ate with her injection? Did I give the injection right as the insulin was dropping off? Didn't I tell you she likes to throw curveballs... Ugh, this is so frustrating.
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168

With PZI their numbers will keep rising the first two hours so don't worry about that too much, it could be the insulin wearing off along with food spike, who knows. Your overall picture looks good. Missy is getting good results from the insulin.

They never get tired of throwing us curve balls :lol: they need to keep us on our toes.

I remember being so frustrated that I didn't know what to do anymore when someone reminded me that we were almost at 45 days and to hang in there and sure enough things settled in soon after.

Keep us posted today.
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +1 331???

Okay, that makes me feel better. I was trying so hard to catch her before she rose too high, so I did not like seeing that number. Of course, I never would have checked her if she hadn't been acting weird.
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +1 331???

The 331 is pretty consistent with what you saw last night - 173 at +10 followed by 314 at +11. So today it's 168 at +11 followed by 331 at +1. As Robin said the PZI won't typically have onset by +1, so it looks like you got about the same level of poop-out this morning as you had last night. Missy is a zoomer apparently!!!! That will hopefully settle down over time. The good news is you got an extra hour of duration out of it this morning, yay!!!!

Not too bad results (+4.5 186) off the 0.2 either. I wouldn't have expected that much drop with such a big dose reduction. Still not a pretty green though, so next time I'd probably try a 0.4 on that PS at a +11 or thereabouts.

Looks like today might be a TID day - do you have a TID dose? I think you take the BID 24 hr total (so I guess 1u for her?) and divide that by 3 instead of by 2 to get the dose per shot, but I can't say for sure...

If it were me, I'd probably shoot a little light at this +8 so you'll get a shootable # at the next +8. Based on yesterday she looks ready to go to BID to me, so I'm thinking if you shot a full dose on the next +8 you may get 10 or 11 hour duration out of it and then be on a kooky schedule if she sticks to getting longer duration? Well, anyhow, I think you said you will be home for a few days so that helps if you need to jump around with the timing. You may find she needs a few more shots at +10 or +11 and may even get to +12 soon if you are lucky!
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +1 331???

+6 181

She's still trending downward, though very slowly. I am very surprised she dropped this much with the 0.2. On 9/3 I did a 0.3 and she stayed in the pink all morning. Granted, she started at 464 that day, but i am very surprised by how well she's doing so far on the 0.2. I have to run out for a little bit. Hopefully I can be back in time to shoot a light dose at +8. We had planned on doing 0.5units every 8 hours, but it appears Missy has other plans. It looks like we are all getting decent numbers this morning. That should make for a pleasant Labor Day.
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +6 181 PMPS 508

PMPS 508

I expected it to be high with the baby dose I gave this morning. We were out running errands and got back too late to shoot at +8. I went ahead and gave 0.5unit at +10.5.
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +6 181 PMPS 508

Makes sense to me. She did amazingly well on the 0.2. Fun to watch her progress! :-D Of course I know it's nerve-wracking for you, but from a distance it's fun to celebrate the pretty blue #s, yay!
 
Re: 09/05 Missy AMPS 168 +6 181 PMPS 508

I'm getting better about seeing the high numbers. If this was last week, I would be a nervous wreck. It's a lot easier now, especially given all the blues and greens she's had. Hopefully she keeps it up!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top