? 08/30 Fistuk, AMPS 202, PMPS 434, Ketones what to od??

Just saw your + 4 looks like a bounce, not surprising after his visit to the low blues. Hold the dose this evening, but you could both take a break till this evening get a test anywhere between +9 to +11 just I case he decides to throw us a surprise later in thiss mornings cycle.
 
Just saw your + 4 looks like a bounce, not surprising after his visit to the low blues. Hold the dose this evening, but you could both take a break till this evening get a test anywhere between +9 to +11 just I case he decides to throw us a surprise later in thiss mornings cycle.
ok. A break would be welcome.
He's not eating as much as usual but my feeling is that he's stuffed. Otherwise his energy is good and he wakes up with a smile when I come wit ha plate of food :)
 
+9 493
My poor little baby is bouncing so high. He could have been a basketball player.

By the signs of his body, I knew he was bouncing high but I needed to check and see how much.

I guess we'll be holding the dose until he finishes bouncing? :/
 
guess we'll be holding the dose until he finishes bouncing? :/
Not necessarily.

We still look at the nadir, 125 last night for guidance.

TR Guidelines
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
  • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
In theory, I say in theory because we may have to take a different descion if he started throwing ketones. So keep monitoring those.
 
Last edited:
Not necessarily.

We still look at the nadir, 125 last night for guidance.

TR Guidelines
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
  • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
In theory, I say in theory because we may have to take a different descion if he started throwing ketones. So keep monitoring those.
Just did a ketone test and looks like there are traces!! (@Bron and Sheba (GA) )
He's waiting for some food which is a good sign. But I'm going to give him some SubQ first
 
Just did a ketone test and looks like there are traces!! (@Bron and Sheba (GA) )
He's waiting for some food which is a good sign. But I'm going to give him some SubQ first
@Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia so she is asleep right now. I believe trace ketones in urine is manageable (Bron to confirm) as long as the kitty seems okay (not unwell) and is eating and drinking well. But extra food and sub Q fluids is a good idea.

Maybe we want to increase the dose in 8 cycles. That 124 early this morning could have been on account of no food to stop the extra downward momentum of a bounce clearing.
@Gill & George
 
Last edited:
He really resisted the Zub Q. It was a nightmare. I just used the last two needles I have. I managed to squeeze in 10 ml perhaps
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia so she is asleep right now. I believe trace ketones in urine is manageable (Bron to confirm) as long as the kitty seems okay (not unwell) and is eating and drinking well. But extra food and sub Q fluids is a good idea.

Maybe we want to increase the dose in 8 cycles. That 124 early this morning could have been a combination of no food to stop the extra downward momentum of a bounce clearing.
@Gill & George
He's eaten ok-ish during the day. Not as usual but managed a scoop here and there for snacks. Now he wants his supper. I normally hold off at 6pm otherwise at 8pm he doesn't take his supper.
And god knows how I'll manage to give him a shot today with the saga we just had
 
He's eaten ok-ish during the day. Not as usual but managed a scoop here and there for snacks. Now he wants his supper. I normally hold off at 6pm otherwise at 8pm he doesn't take his supper.
And god knows how I'll manage to give him a shot today with the saga we just had
If he wants food now, give him a little. Considering where his numbers are at, you don't need to worry about no-food 2 hours before the shot.
Will he be okay with you adding a little water to his food to increase fluid intake?
 
If he wants food now, give him a little.
I gave him whatever he took which was a tsp. He's quite angry now so I'll let him calm down abit

you don't need to worry about no-food 2 hours before the shot
what do you mean?
What I meant is that normally i don't give him food 2 hours before the shot just to make sure he's not too stuffed so he takes food with the shot

adding a little water
I can try. he might if it's just a bit
 
How is he?
5 Ps?
Peeing
Playing
Purring
Pooping
Preenimg?


Still cross? Eating ok?

BFG is cross with me, he didn't want a manicure today :rolleyes:
 
BFG is cross with me, he didn't want a manicure today :rolleyes:
:kiss:

Peeing lakes (he thinks Switzerland doesn't have enough)
Playing not really. but I didn't try tonight. When i chased him to clean his feet after he peed in a padless box he did run with his cute butt dancing left and right
Purring yes
Pooping, made one in the morning. Normally doesn't do more than once a day
Preening, did some after the Sub Q.

Eating not great. Had a couple of tsp at supper. I'll have to see if he's eating at +2/+2.5 which is normally when he wakes up and devours the rest of supper. If not, I know something is going off.

So upsetting I didn't;t manage to get more Sub Q into him. Needles delivered tomorrow.
@Bandit's Mom thanks for the link about the sub Q I'll read it tonight xx
 
Fistuk's Ketones seem to be growing!
I just took another test and he's now a ++ on the urine stick.

He's eating, he's drinking, he pees. He's not lethargic or apathetic.

I hope some one can help with this. It rally scares me
 
If the ketones are increasing I think we should increase the dose at the next due time as long as you can monitor the cycles closely.
We can increase the number of carbs you are giving him to counter any drop in BGs. Do you have any higher carb wet food in the house?
I would offer more food if he will eat it. It is food, insulin and fluids that will keep the ketones at bay.
When you say the needles for the sub Q fluids will be delivered tomorrow...how many hours is that?. I live in Australia so times stated mean nothing to me.
I would also test any urine samples you can get.
 
If the ketones are increasing I think we should increase the dose at the next due time as long as you can monitor the cycles closely.
We can increase the number of carbs you are giving him to counter any drop in BGs. Do you have any higher carb wet food in the house?
I would offer more food if he will eat it. It is food, insulin and fluids that will keep the ketones at bay.
When you say the needles for the sub Q fluids will be delivered tomorrow...how many hours is that?. I live in Australia so times stated mean nothing to me.
I would also test any urine samples you can get.
Yes I have medium and high carb
 
Not ideal I agree but see how you go. Give him something he really likes to eat while you do it.
I try give him something he likes he just hates it and is not willing to eat

gosh it was a nightmare. I couldn't see the liquids moving. Even though when I tested the flow before putting it in the waters did flow.
I put in few locations. I don't know how much went in. The poor little one is so angry now
 
I try give him something he likes he just hates it and is not willing to eat

gosh it was a nightmare. I couldn't see the liquids moving. Even though when I tested the flow before putting it in the waters did flow.
I put in few locations. I don't know how much went in. The poor little one is so angry now
Oh dear...some most likely did go in. Sometimes it is hard to see it moving and then a lot seems to have gone in.
:bighug:
 
Do you think it's ok I'm not calling a vet?
I just don't have a vet around I trust. And it's painful to say but they're so so expensive. But my main problem is that I don't trust them. They\ve misinformed me on so many aspects of the diabetes so far
 
Do you think it's ok I'm not calling a vet?
I just don't have a vet around I trust. And it's painful to say but they're so so expensive. But my main problem is that I don't trust them. They\ve misinformed me on so many aspects of the diabetes so far
I know you can't say anything like that. Perhaps I could ask what is my sign to know I must call a vet?
 
I just took another test and he's now a ++ on the urine stick.
Which square was the last urine test result? See the photo below
upload_2023-8-31_12-32-19.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-8-31_12-32-19.jpeg
    upload_2023-8-31_12-32-19.jpeg
    27.7 KB · Views: 321
Back
Top