okMorning, lower than usual so grab a +1 this morning
9am CET, 8 more minsWhat time in your +1?
Thats' very kind!Ok will grab another Coffee post it here, the veggie patch will have to wait

ok. A break would be welcome.Just saw your + 4 looks like a bounce, not surprising after his visit to the low blues. Hold the dose this evening, but you could both take a break till this evening get a test anywhere between +9 to +11 just I case he decides to throw us a surprise later in thiss mornings cycle.
Not necessarily.guess we'll be holding the dose until he finishes bouncing? :/
Just did a ketone test and looks like there are traces!! (@Bron and Sheba (GA) )Not necessarily.
We still look at the nadir, 125 last night for guidance.
TR Guidelines
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
In theory, I say in theory because we may have to take a different descion if he started throwing ketones. So keep monitoring those.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia so she is asleep right now. I believe trace ketones in urine is manageable (Bron to confirm) as long as the kitty seems okay (not unwell) and is eating and drinking well. But extra food and sub Q fluids is a good idea.Just did a ketone test and looks like there are traces!! (@Bron and Sheba (GA) )
He's waiting for some food which is a good sign. But I'm going to give him some SubQ first
Do you warm the fluids?He really resisted the Zub Q. It was a nightmare. I just used the last two needles I have. I managed to squeeze in 10 ml perhaps
He's eaten ok-ish during the day. Not as usual but managed a scoop here and there for snacks. Now he wants his supper. I normally hold off at 6pm otherwise at 8pm he doesn't take his supper.@Bron and Sheba (GA) is in Australia so she is asleep right now. I believe trace ketones in urine is manageable (Bron to confirm) as long as the kitty seems okay (not unwell) and is eating and drinking well. But extra food and sub Q fluids is a good idea.
Maybe we want to increase the dose in 8 cycles. That 124 early this morning could have been a combination of no food to stop the extra downward momentum of a bounce clearing.
@Gill & George
It's hanging in the kitchen so it's room tempDo you warm the fluids?
http://felinecrf.org/subcutaneous_fluids_tips.htm
If he wants food now, give him a little. Considering where his numbers are at, you don't need to worry about no-food 2 hours before the shot.He's eaten ok-ish during the day. Not as usual but managed a scoop here and there for snacks. Now he wants his supper. I normally hold off at 6pm otherwise at 8pm he doesn't take his supper.
And god knows how I'll manage to give him a shot today with the saga we just had
I was just going to ask the sameWill he be okay with you adding a little water to his food to increase fluid intake?
I gave him whatever he took which was a tsp. He's quite angry now so I'll let him calm down abitIf he wants food now, give him a little.
what do you mean?you don't need to worry about no-food 2 hours before the shot
I can try. he might if it's just a bitadding a little water
It's just another way if getting extr fluids in him, if he acceps it just do it at every meal, might be a way of avoiding subq. George gets a little water with his food, to keep his kidneys overI can try. he might if it's just a bit
BFG is cross with me, he didn't want a manicure today![]()

Yes I have medium and high carbIf the ketones are increasing I think we should increase the dose at the next due time as long as you can monitor the cycles closely.
We can increase the number of carbs you are giving him to counter any drop in BGs. Do you have any higher carb wet food in the house?
I would offer more food if he will eat it. It is food, insulin and fluids that will keep the ketones at bay.
When you say the needles for the sub Q fluids will be delivered tomorrow...how many hours is that?. I live in Australia so times stated mean nothing to me.
I would also test any urine samples you can get.
Should be delivered in 7-8 hourshow many hours is that?.
ok. that's what i did right now. It's the third samplewould also test any urine samples you can get
Not ideal I agree but see how you go. Give him something he really likes to eat while you do it.ok. that's what i did right now. It's the third sample
I will try and get more sub Q in now. It's the same needle I used earlier. i know it's not ideal but I don't want it to keep going up
I try give him something he likes he just hates it and is not willing to eatNot ideal I agree but see how you go. Give him something he really likes to eat while you do it.
Oh dear...some most likely did go in. Sometimes it is hard to see it moving and then a lot seems to have gone in.I try give him something he likes he just hates it and is not willing to eat
gosh it was a nightmare. I couldn't see the liquids moving. Even though when I tested the flow before putting it in the waters did flow.
I put in few locations. I don't know how much went in. The poor little one is so angry now

I sure hope so! I got a hard plastic 500 ml bag and the plastic is not so flexible as the normal bags so it's hard to tell. But I tested few times the flow and it was ok.Oh dear...some most likely did go in. Sometimes it is hard to see it moving and then a lot seems to have gone in.
![]()
Maybe a tiny little one. But I'm not certainCan you see a little bulge when you had the needle?
Yes, excellent he s eating. Let him eat all he wants at the moment. Food helps keep ketones away.I guess the good thing is that he's eating, right?
Hopefully not. Just keep an eye on the spot.I just hope I didn't cause more trouble by using a used needle
he's drinking a lotAnd hopefully he is drinking water
I know you can't say anything like that. Perhaps I could ask what is my sign to know I must call a vet?Do you think it's ok I'm not calling a vet?
I just don't have a vet around I trust. And it's painful to say but they're so so expensive. But my main problem is that I don't trust them. They\ve misinformed me on so many aspects of the diabetes so far
Which square was the last urine test result? See the photo belowI just took another test and he's now a ++ on the urine stick.
The colour was between the third and fourthWhich square was the last urine test result? See the photo below
View attachment 67533
The earlier tests I took was the second (which is traces)Which square was the last urine test result? See the photo below
View attachment 67533