? 08/29 Nola AMPS 173 +2 296 +2.25 307 +4.5 350 +5.25 294 (dose question)

Jo & Nola

Member Since 2024
Her first AMPS below 200!! :bighug:

We started TR on August 26th. I've read the protocol about a thousand times but I would love to reconfirm here with experienced shooters. TR says: I should hold the dose until Nola's lowest BGs stay under 100 mg.dl for at least 1 week or if the nadir BG is 40-50 at least 3 times on separate days.

Unless she drops below 40 at any point, in which Ill reduce the dose immediately.

Update: well her BG has gone up quite a bit even after insulin shot :(. even reaching 350 at +4.5 is this normal?

Best,
Jo

Previous thread
 
Last edited:
Her first AMPS below 200!! :bighug:

We started TR on August 26th. I've read the protocol about a thousand times but I would love to reconfirm here with experienced shooters. TR says: I should hold the dose until Nola's lowest BGs stay under 100 mg.dl for at least 1 week or if the nadir BG is 40-50 at least 3 times on separate days.

Unless she drops below 40 at any point, in which Ill reduce the dose immediately.

Best,
Jo

Previous thread
Hi Jo, I would think you definitely don’t want to let Nola drop below 40 especially since you’re so new to this protocol.
I’m not giving you dosing advice, as I’m not qualified to do so. Let’s tag some helpful ladies who can help you.
I would use the question mark from the drop down header and include “dose question” in your title so you get an answer to your question.
@tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo

Are you only using the Libre sensor or are you also doing manual testing with a handheld meter if Nola drops low?
I use a Libre 3 sensor for my cat. I find that when she drops to lower numbers, she is somewhat higher on a handheld meter when compared.
However, other cats I have noticed can have a closer BG between their Libre and their handheld meter so it’s always good to check both if your cat drops to low numbers, especially under 65 or 50 and lower on the Libre.
:cat:
 
Thank you Staci!

I cant seem to find where/how to edit the subject.
In the upper right it says THREAD TOOLS, click that, the drop down menu, there's a ? Question Mark and then you can edit your title where you put the date and your AMPS, you can put a brief question after that data.
 
Hi. Let me clarify. The 3 drops between 30-40 is for cats that are not new to insulin and have shown they do not hold reductions. For those new to fd and following TR it’s one drop under 50 or a week under 100.
 
Back
Top