? 08/19 Blaze PMPS 26.6/479

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone,
I have been trying to figure out a dose that works for Blaze, who is now out of remission.
Vet suggsted 1U once a day. I changed it to 0.50 twice a day. I just tested the BG before dinner and it is the highest it has EVER been even during our first round of insulin last year.
Should I increase to 0.75 for his shot tonight? @tiffmaxee
Paola and Blaze

Previous thread for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2838616/
 
Last edited:
It was shot time and didn't hear from anyone, I decided to go with my gut and left the amount to 0.50U for tonight's insulin still. I am going to see how he does in the next few hours.
 
Hi Paola :bighug: Glad you didn't increase - IMHO, I'd hold the dose at least for 6 cycles per TR (unless Blaze goes <68 on your pet meter)...and perhaps longer since you are still building the depot back-up (when starting on insulin the dosing method sticky says to hold for 5-7 days (10-14 cycles)). Perhaps @tiffmaxee can stop by to weigh in too.
 
Hi Paola :bighug: Glad you didn't increase - IMHO, I'd hold the dose at least for 6 cycles per TR (unless Blaze goes <68 on your pet meter)...and perhaps longer since you are still building the depot back-up (when starting on insulin the dosing method sticky says to hold for 5-7 days (10-14 cycles)). Perhaps @tiffmaxee can stop by to weigh in too.

Yes exactely, I just panicked when I saw the high number but i did read the sticky as well...I am going to wait a few more cycles. I won't let the numbers scare me.
 
Just seeing this. The initial depot takes a week to build. No increases until then. The one bad thing about tags are I miss them if I am not on line when they post and they are too far down the list. You can always pm me and ask me to look at your condo.
 
Just seeing this. The initial depot takes a week to build. No increases until then. The one bad thing about tags are I miss them if I am not on line when they post and they are too far down the list. You can always pm me and ask me to look at your condo.
No worries! I will do that and thank you!
Blaze was very low at +3...he actually ate a lot right after. I am gonna test again in 30 min.
 
He’s earned a reduction to .25 for tonight. :D Congrats.
That is fantastic news! I was worried about the really high 26.4 reading he had at PMPS last night and thought he should remain at 0.5U but I am starting to remember how this works now...when there is such a low reading at any point, it's ok to lower. I hope we are going in the right direction towards a second remission. School has not started yet and I am able to monitor my baby and feel safe he is ok.
 
Back
Top