08/15 Mami Cat | AMPS 302 | Dose increase question

Clarice & Mami Cat

Member Since 2026
Previous post


Hi everyone,

I’ve had a very busy week, spending most of my time at the clinic and keeping track of all the different details regarding Mami Cat, so I’ve barely had any time to come here. At the moment, I’m feeling a little tense and would really appreciate your help.

Mami Cat is currently dealing with a renal issue that may also be related to the Mycoplasma, which is being treated. Her urine specific gravity is lower than normal, she has protein in her urine, and her urea, creatinine and phosphorus are all elevated. Because of all this, she is now on medications, including aluminum, and I was advised to give her a renal diet. I am giving her the wet renal food, but it does have more carbs. So far, it hasn’t significantly affected her BG, but it is not low-carb. Everything is very new, and I’m still adjusting things and trying to process everything that has happened to her over the past few days. I do want to take care of her blood glucose, but right now I also need to keep a close eye on the phosphorus content of her food.

My question is specifically about the insulin dose.

At the end of July, without the DROP, her numbers were staying below 100 throughout the entire morning, and in the afternoon and evening they started staying below 140, with her being around 100 most of the time. I was really happy with how things were going. However, after she was in the clinic for a week, I went back to using the DROP, which kept her mostly between 100 and 150, although she would sometimes reach 200 when she was being handled by other people. I didn’t increase the dose and kept it the same.

On August 12, 13 and 14, I took Mami Cat back to the clinic twice a day to have her pain injections (buprenorphine) and, on alternate days, her erythropoietin injection. Going to the clinic is stressful for her, not so much the car ride itself, but especially once she arrives and is handled by other people. This temporarily raises her BG daily, at AMPS and PMPS.

Today was the first day since then that she didn’t go to the clinic, and I gave her the DROP at home. But, to my surprise, her numbers were higher today. I’m thinking about trying 2 drops, because I’m starting to feel that 1 drop may simply not be enough anymore. I’m a little apprehensive about increasing the dose, but I think it may be necessary.

Question 1 on my mind... Could this just be temporary stress, and maybe I don’t need to increase her dose yet? Perhaps I should give it a few more days with the DROP and see how she does once she settles back into being at home?

Wendy, you taught me very well how to do the single DROP. Before that, I was doing it differently and was getting more than one drop, even though I was trying to standardize the drop as much as possible.

@Wendy&Neko Question 2: Is there a technique for getting exactly 2 drops? Could you give me any tips on how to do this consistently, please? The question is to all of you, actually... in case you have any suggestions. I’m thinking about trying 2 drops again and seeing how Mami Cat’s curve responds. Today, she started reaching 200 during the day, which worried me.

(Her AMPS is higher because she didn’t have her two overnight meals, so this tends to happen. But today, her numbers went higher.)

She’s quite thin and recovering from anemia. She’s been eating dirt/soil. I started supplementing her with B9, which was quite low. She’s eating a lot and has a voracious appetite. Today she ate a little less, but she doesn’t seem to be in pain. Cerenia makes her a little spaced out, even at a low dose.

Thank you so much 🤍 again.

Sending love to all the beautiful cats 💗
 
Last edited:
Previous post


Hi everyone,

I’ve had a very busy week, spending most of my time at the clinic and keeping track of all the different details regarding Mami Cat, so I’ve barely had any time to come here. At the moment, I’m feeling a little tense and would really appreciate your help.

Mami Cat is currently dealing with a renal issue that may also be related to the Mycoplasma, which is being treated. Her urine specific gravity is lower than normal, she has protein in her urine, and her urea, creatinine and phosphorus are all elevated. Because of all this, she is now on medications, including aluminum, and I was advised to give her a renal diet. I am giving her the wet renal food, but it does have more carbs. So far, it hasn’t significantly affected her BG, but it is not low-carb. Everything is very new, and I’m still adjusting things and trying to process everything that has happened to her over the past few days. I do want to take care of her blood glucose, but right now I also need to keep a close eye on the phosphorus content of her food.

My question is specifically about the insulin dose.

At the end of July, without the DROP, her numbers were staying below 100 throughout the entire morning, and in the afternoon and evening they started staying below 140, with her being around 100 most of the time. I was really happy with how things were going. However, after she was in the clinic for a week, I went back to using the DROP, which kept her mostly between 100 and 150, although she would sometimes reach 200 when she was being handled by other people. I didn’t increase the dose and kept it the same.

On August 12, 13 and 14, I took Mami Cat back to the clinic twice a day to have her pain injections (buprenorphine) and, on alternate days, her erythropoietin injection. Going to the clinic is stressful for her, not so much the car ride itself, but especially once she arrives and is handled by other people. This temporarily raises her BG daily, at AMPS and PMPS.

Today was the first day since then that she didn’t go to the clinic, and I gave her the DROP at home. But, to my surprise, her numbers were higher today. I’m thinking about trying 2 drops, because I’m starting to feel that 1 drop may simply not be enough anymore. I’m a little apprehensive about increasing the dose, but I think it may be necessary.

Question 1 on my mind... Could this just be temporary stress, and maybe I don’t need to increase her dose yet? Perhaps I should give it a few more days with the DROP and see how she does once she settles back into being at home?

Wendy, you taught me very well how to do the single DROP. Before that, I was doing it differently and was getting more than one drop, even though I was trying to standardize the drop as much as possible.

@Wendy&Neko Question 2: Is there a technique for getting exactly 2 drops? Could you give me any tips on how to do this consistently, please? The question is to all of you, actually... in case you have any suggestions. I’m thinking about trying 2 drops again and seeing how Mami Cat’s curve responds. Today, she started reaching 200 during the day, which worried me.

(Her AMPS is higher because she didn’t have her two overnight meals, so this tends to happen. But today, her numbers went higher.)

She’s quite thin and recovering from anemia. She’s been eating dirt/soil. I started supplementing her with B9, which was quite low. She’s eating a lot and has a voracious appetite. Today she ate a little less, but she doesn’t seem to be in pain. Cerenia makes her a little spaced out, even at a low dose.

Thank you so much 🤍 again.

Sending love to all the beautiful cats 💗
Sending you many prayers Clarice. You’re amazing with Mami and I’m hoping things improve very soon.
You must be exhausted 🙏🙏🙏🙏🫂🫂🫂🫂
 
Vet stress can definitely raise the bg. You can get buprenorphine in liquid and dribble on her gums at home but you might already know that. Do you have a copy of these labs as well as the previous to see how much the markers increased?
 
I'm so sorry you're dealing with so many overlapping things. I know we were advised on the renal diet, even with the higher carbs, when Binx was first diagnosed with CKD. Hindsight, I might've gone for it like you're doing now... we can always give more insulin in the BG is too high.

Hope someone jumps in on the dosing advice. Sending many healing vines 🍃🍃🍃🍃
 
Put some coloured liquid (tea, juice, pop) in a syringe. You can use a used one. Then slowly twist the plunger to form a drop. Practice twisting the plunger until you are getting consistent sized drops. Then draw 0.1 units in the practice syringe. Twist out drops and count how many are in 0.1 units. If it is two, then you have it. If it is three, then draw 0.1 units and twist out 1 drop to make 2 units.

In the Remarks section, could you note which day you started the high carb kidney food? Anything that might impact BG should be recorded in the spreadsheet.

What stage kidney disease was she diagnosed with? Some vets start the kidney food sooner than you need to. There are commercially available foods that are good for both kidneys and diabetes.

Any increased BG from vet stress should be cleared by the next day. TR says you can increase anytime.
 
Dear all, something came up with Mami, so I’m taking her to the vet again for another consultation. I’ll get back to you all later, with some updates. Thank you so much for the messages! 🤍

::: Thank you very much for your help, Wendy. I’ll get back to you soon with a more detailed answer. 🙏
 
Sending you many prayers Clarice. You’re amazing with Mami and I’m hoping things improve very soon.
You must be exhausted 🙏🙏🙏🙏🫂🫂🫂🫂
Staci, thank you... 🤍🫂
I love her and do the best I can...

It has been quite a journey, but God is giving me strength and calmness in moments of fear or despair.

Hugs to you and Ivy 🤍
 
Back
Top