08.14.22 Chispa, 347 AMPS, 332 +2, 333 +6, 467 PMPS, 367 +2

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
2 days ago: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-12-22-chispa-334-amps-260-5-334-pmps.267037/

Hi everyone,

Chispa enjoyed a whole day without pokes yesterday, thanks to activities that kept me out of the house for most of the day.

It's been six cycles since I upped the dosage to 2.25, and it hasn't had much of a noticeable effect, so it's time to increase to 2.5. I still haven't heard back from the vet, though, and I'd really prefer to do TR with her blessing. Thinking I'll give it one more day before deciding to go rogue yet again.

Chispa's GI symptoms seem to have resolved (knock on wood), so I'm going to try increasing the proportion of LC food to 2/3 and see how that goes. Since changing from the Hill's renal diet to Royal Canin, the total carbs should be just about 10% when mixed 50/50 with the Weruva -- not so bad, really.

Hope everyone is having an enjoyable weekend.:):cat:
 
TR would require at least 2 tests per cycle, the preshot plus one other. If you cannot get that second test per cycle, best to stick with SLGS for safety's sake. TR also requires 100% low carb wet or raw food diet.

Good news on the GI symptoms!
 
Hi @Wendy&Neko -- Thanks so much for jumping in. I've gotten much better at doing the tests, but there are still times when I poke repeatedly and nothing comes out. Hoping this will continue to improve with time.

I didn't realize that TR required 100% LC diet -- not sure how I missed that detail. Chispa has done very well on prescription food -- it'll be two years in October since she was diagnosed with CKD, and both her kidney values and GI symptoms have been very stable(knock on wood), plus she seems to like it. Obviously it is too high in carbs for a diabetic cat (16%), and that's why I've been mixing it gradually with Weruva (low in both carbs and phosphorous). If I can come up with a mix that controls her symptoms and is below 10% carbs, would that qualify as appropriate for TR? Or would I have to transition her completely off of prescription food? There must be others here who are dealing with both FD and CKD and have figured out a diet that works -- maybe I will put the question out to the group.

I'll also go back and re-read the sticky on TR/SLGS. Again, thanks for the information.
 
Back
Top