08/06 Mami Cat | AMPS 207 | Update from this week

Clarice & Mami Cat

Member Since 2026
Previous post
Hi everyone, bom dia,

I've been around a little less lately. I'm the kind of person who feels that the more we dwell on what's going wrong, the more our thoughts stay focused on it, and somehow everything seems even heavier. So I prefer to bring good news when I can. Still, I wanted to share what's been happening this past week.

Mami Cat came into my life in the Middle East, where I adopted her. Conditions there were very tough. There were so many unmet needs, too many cats, uncontrolled breeding, lots of worms and fleas and no care. Before the adoption, she contracted two different species of Mycoplasma. There is a third species that is even more severe, and thankfully she never had that one. Because of the immune-mediated anemia crisis caused by the Mycoplasmas, along with other complications, she had to receive steroids in January 2026. That treatment eventually led to steroid-induced diabetes at the end of February 2026, which honestly scared me quite a bit.

The antibiotic she received back then resolved her clinical symptoms super well, but she has remained a carrier ever since.

Now, at the beginning of August, she suddenly became nauseous. She was barely eating, standing in front of her water bowl without drinking, shaking her head, and was clearly in pain. At first I thought it might be something in her mouth. It turns out the Mycoplasma appears to have flared up again. She now has significant anemia, is very weak, and was in pain.

Since Tuesday, she has been admitted at the veterinary clinic I trust. They have run several tests to confirm whether this is indeed a relapse, as well as kidney tests, which seemed very important at this point. Elevated urea can cause nausea. She is receiving IV fluids. (Here in Brazil, it isn't common to administer fluids at home; they are usually given at the clinic under close monitoring.)

According to one of the scientific papers I've read and studied, there is a newer antibiotic that, at least in theory, may completely eradicate Mycoplasma. Unfortunately, it is no longer available in Brazil (???), even though it is still routinely used in both the U.S. and Europe. So, for now, we're repeating the same antibiotic she received before. I really wanted to try the newer, more promising one, even though I was warned that if resistance were ever to develop, I might lose one of the few remaining treatment options. Still, I believe there are good reasons to consider it, especially now that this is Mami Cat's second relapse.

Because of the stress of being kept in the clinic, her BG has climbed back into the 180–200 mg/dL range. After almost a month without insulin (following the whole ear poke situation) I shared with you), I restarted a single drop of Lantus yesterday night. Her glucose hasn't come down very much yet. It isn't climbing any higher, but it isn't coming down much either, which I suspect is largely due to stress. Obviously, she no longer has a Lantus depot built up. I haven't increased the dose. For now, I'm leaving it as it is.

I also tried logging into my Libre sensor app on another phone so the clinic staff could scan her sensor. Unfortunately, that didn't work, and I ended up losing all of her stored data - every graph and every glucose curve. The Brazilian version of the Libre app doesn't have a log-out option (!). The only way to sign out was to clear the app's data, which erased everything. That's one of the reasons I haven't been able to update her spreadsheet.

At the clinic, during the more critical times, they are checking her BG with the handheld meter, and I go there at least twice a day to scan her Libre sensor myself. So I don't have frequent, exact BG readings - mostly just the overall shape of her curve.

With everything that has happened, I haven't practiced or attempted ear pokes on my own again. Seeing her so weak, eating so little, and with that distant look in her eyes made me hesitant to try again. Her BG was good, though, until she went to the clinic. I spent a couple of days trying to help her at home until it became clear that this was something more serious.

I'm thinking about asking one of the vets at the clinic to teach me ear pokes there instead. Now that she's receiving pain medication, she's much more comfortable, so it would probably be an easier time for me to practice when the time is right. I'll give it another try. The clinic treats only cats, and the team has been supportive.

The antibiotic has been started. The insulin has been restarted. The Libre scans remain my responsibility, while the clinic is using a handheld meter. Now we're waiting for the kidney results, her complete blood work, and another PCR test and blood tests to check for Mycoplasmas again.

I believe Mami Cat will be discharged within the next few days.

This season will pass, and she is covered in prayer. I trust that God will make a way. I really love her; what matters most to me is for her to have a good quality of life. 🀍

I think of all of you and I pray for your kitties as well. Many of their names have become familiar to me, and I often think about them.
And yes... I still hope that one day I'll be able to tell you, "I finally learned how to do ear pokes."

I hope you're all navigating your Lantus dose journey this week with strength, a light heart, and good results. 🀍🀍🀍🌊
 
Clarice - I am so sorry to hear that Mami Cat hasn't been doing well. I'm sending you and Mami Cat lots and lots of love, prayers, and healing vines πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ

Ear pokes are probably not a priority at the moment, but one thing that could help is Emla cream. If your vet prescribes it for you, you can put the tiniest dab on Mami Cat's ears 30 mins before the poke to numb her little ears. I think this is mostly psychological to help the caregiver, because I've never seen Moonie make an expression once while being ear poked - but it helped me feel much better to know she wouldn't feel it at all. And to be honest, while she's on pain meds might be the perfect time to practice because she'll be still for you and she won't feel anything if they've put her on buprenorphine or another form of pain management.

I'll be keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers - I hope Mami Cat feels better soon!
 
Thank you so much for your kindness, Connie, and for the tips.
Exactly... she is on buprenorphine and quite weak, but hopefully she will feel better soon.
I will find the courage to practice at the clinic, because I believe she probably won't feel much.
Thank you again and again ❀️
 
I have a question. Maybe some of you could help me, or @Wendy&Neko ?

Mami Cat, for about two months or even longer, would have "a more reasonable" curve during the day, but then at night she would have a bounce, going into "high" (500) or close to it. This happened for a good while, until her BG became more stable and better regulated.

Could this period of time with those high numbers at night have damaged her kidney function markers (urea (BUN), creatinine, phosphorus, urine protein, and urine specific gravity) to the point of becoming something more serious or permanent? Or would kidney damage from high BGs usually only occur after a much longer period of poorly controlled diabetes?

Her vet mentioned that this could be one possible explanation for her kidney situation, which is still being investigated.
 
Last edited:
Oh no I am so sorry you and Mami Cat are going through this. I love your mindset, I also tend to circle and circle around stressors and it does more bad than good. She has a very thoughtful and kind caretaker.

I don't know the answer to your question but you could edit the thread prefix with a question mark and someone will hopefully stop by.

Sending healing vines to you both! πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ
 
Seth, thank you 🀍 I think I make many mistakes, but I do my best for her.
Bell also has a first-class caretaker.

I might tag someone here after my looong message...
Thank you for the vines and I hope Bell is doing well these days 🀍 The stories with Lantus and BG curves could fill a book!
 
Oh sweet Mami Catβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ήβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ήβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ή thank you for giving us this update. You and her will both be in my continued prayers. She is strong and so are you and I’m so glad you have such a positive outlook on things, she is covered and loved so very much and that shows with every word I just read. I can imagine how much you must miss her while she’s at the clinic. I hope she will get to be home with you soon. My vet told me once that he’s seen non-diabetic cats come in so stressed that their BG gets close to the 200 range, so perhaps once she’s home and feeling better and her stress goes down, so will her BG. You’re an amazing caretaker. I’ll be checking for updates πŸ«‚
 
This sounds so distressing for both you and Mami Cat!! Jude has urinary tract issues, and they brought him out of remission.
She is so fortunate to have you caring for her. I'm keeping you both in my prayers and sending healing vines πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ
 
Oh sweet Mami Catβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ήβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ήβ€οΈβ€πŸ©Ή thank you for giving us this update. You and her will both be in my continued prayers. She is strong and so are you and I’m so glad you have such a positive outlook on things, she is covered and loved so very much and that shows with every word I just read. I can imagine how much you must miss her while she’s at the clinic. I hope she will get to be home with you soon. My vet told me once that he’s seen non-diabetic cats come in so stressed that their BG gets close to the 200 range, so perhaps once she’s home and feeling better and her stress goes down, so will her BG. You’re an amazing caretaker. I’ll be checking for updates πŸ«‚
Hi Elizabeth, your message really touched my heart. Thank you so much for your kind words ❀️

Situations like this make us more sensitive. Mami Cat’s case is quite delicate, with several variables involved, but we are trying to put the pieces together and find the answer. We have started some medications, and several tests were requested. All the results shoud be available soon.

❀️
 
This sounds so distressing for both you and Mami Cat!! Jude has urinary tract issues, and they brought him out of remission.
She is so fortunate to have you caring for her. I'm keeping you both in my prayers and sending healing vines πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ

Hi Mary, it’s so nice to "see" you here. Thank you so much for your kind words and for your support. Let’s see what the remaining kidney tests will tell us. I’m hopeful that her BG will start coming down again once she is back home. I’m still giving her just one drop. We’ll see how the whole situation unfolds...

Sending lots of love to Jude 🩷
 
Oh no Clarice, I’m so sorry to hear it’s been so tough for you and sweet Mami cat.
I’m sending you love, hugs and many prayers for her complete and speedy recovery β€οΈβ€πŸ©Ή
Many vibes for healing πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸƒπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ’žπŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ™πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸ€πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ
 
I have a question. Maybe some of you could help me, or @Wendy&Neko ?

Mami Cat, for about two months or even longer, would have "a more reasonable" curve during the day, but then at night she would have a bounce, going into "high" (500) or close to it. This happened for a good while, until her BG became more stable and better regulated.

Could this period of time with those high numbers at night have damaged her kidney function markers (urea (BUN), creatinine, phosphorus, urine protein, and urine specific gravity) to the point of becoming something more serious or permanent? Or would kidney damage from high BGs usually only occur after a much longer period of poorly controlled diabetes?

Her vet mentioned that this could be one possible explanation for her kidney situation, which is still being investigated.
Hi there ! Just to answer part of your question, it typically takes some time for unregulated diabetes to cause damage to kidneys ( CKD). Overtime the kidneys have to work harder to filter glucose and it stresses the vessels. Injury and infections are more likely to cause sudden or acute damage ( AKI) . The acute or more sudden damage is more likely to resolve, while the slower damage is actually progressive and permanent. I am not sure about how this form of amenia your baby has and if it also can put some kind of strain on your cats kidneys but, IMHA in a previous pet of mine caused Hemoglobin toxicity and that can put more strain on the kidneys as well.

I hope you get some more answers from your vet and your sweet kitty feels better soon.
 
I’m sending you love, hugs and many prayers for her complete and speedy recovery β€οΈβ€πŸ©Ή

Thank you so much, Staci πŸ’—
I'm wishing you and Ivy all the best as you find what works best for her! πŸ™

Hi there ! Just to answer part of your question, it typically takes some time for unregulated diabetes to cause damage to kidneys ( CKD). Overtime the kidneys have to work harder to filter glucose and it stresses the vessels. Injury and infections are more likely to cause sudden or acute damage ( AKI) . The acute or more sudden damage is more likely to resolve, while the slower damage is actually progressive and permanent. I am not sure about how this form of amenia your baby has and if it also can put some kind of strain on your cats kidneys but, IMHA in a previous pet of mine caused Hemoglobin toxicity and that can put more strain on the kidneys as well.
Hi Ari, thanks a lot for the comment and for taking the time.

Actually, the first time (January 2026) she had immune-mediated anemia secondary to Mycoplasma. We're still investigating her kidneys more thoroughly, but I still think the main cause could be a recurrence of Mycoplasma.

That's exactly what I was thinking too... "It typically takes some time for unregulated diabetes to cause chronic kidney damage (CKD)".
We'll keep investigating to find out if the slower, potentially more permanent damage is what's happening now - or not.

Thank you so much!
 
(((Clarice))), thinking of you and Mami Cat. I didn’t see a recent post, so I just wanted to send some extra special healing thoughts from Canada. Is Mami Cat home with you now? I always got copies of lab work and results from the vet, and kept track of the trends and changes over time. There is a section in the spreadsheet where you can enter in the lab results and it is easier to see changes and out of normal results. There are a few folks here who have some good familiarity with understanding lab work so if you’d like some help, let us know. An infection can elevate BG numbers; I see you’ve started Marbofloxacin, hoping that and the EPO to treat the anemia will help her feel better soon :bighug:
 
Back
Top