Yes, absolutely.I know she theoretically earned a dose reduction but she is not ready yet to go OTJ and she’s doing ok on this drop dose so let’s let it ride. We don’t want take her off the insulin too soon.
You ok with that?
I will be able to resume the food trial properly over the weekend, though. Do you think that would be a problem?Thank you. Don’t worry about the +9 meal right now with what you have going on. From what I see, she still needs a little insulin support.Yes, absolutely.I trust your judgment. My biggest concern is making sure we don't rush things and jeopardize her chances by taking her off insulin now. Since you think she still needs the support of the drop dose (and I can see that too clearly, especially after looking at so many spreadsheets that eventually led to an OTJ trial, where the numbers were mostly green and lower than ours), then I'm more than happy to continue with it.
The only downside is that I probably won't be able to continue the food trial properly until the weekend. I may be able to keep doing the +9 snack during the night cycles for a few more cycles, but it's no longer possible for me to leave work and go home during the AM cycles, especially this week, as things are quite hectic at the office.
Unfortunately, Maggie has also been stubbornly refusing to eat from the auto-feeder, so that makes things even more challenging.I will be able to resume the food trial properly over the weekend, though. Do you think that would be a problem?
One more thing... what do you think about the food trial so far? To be honest, every day I find myself hoping to see a preshot value that is lower than the +9 reading after the snack, as a sign that her pancreas is responding and helping to bring her numbers down. When the preshot ends up being slightly higher instead, I can't help but feel a little discouraged and start wondering whether her pancreas is really contributing at all. Am I putting too much emphasis on that comparison?
Thank you so much for all your help and guidance (once again)![]()
Hi Marje, she had a PMPS 107 5 minutes ago, and just threw up all her meal. What should I do now? I am really worriedThank you. Don’t worry about the +9 meal right now with what you have going on. From what I see, she still needs a little insulin support.
If she drops a little lower than she has been, we will have to come up with another plan. It would sure help if she was totally off dry because that would allow us to let her go on a drop until she drops below 50. Any progress there? Can you give her freeze dried treats instead of dry food? They usually have crunch and are LC
Sorry….i have company visiting and didn’t see this until now. I see you shot but it would have been ok to skip. Is she feeling better and keeping food down?Hi Marje, she had a PMPS 107 5 minutes ago, and just threw up all her meal. What should I do now? I am really worried
Fortunately, she didn’t throw up again. I let her calm down for half an hour, then I fed her and waited another thirty minutes to make sure everything was okay before giving her the evening injection. For now, everything seems to be going well...Sorry….i have company visiting and didn’t see this until now. I see you shot but it would have been ok to skip. Is she feeling better and keeping food down?
Progress is extremely slow. I’ve been trying to get her off dry food for 6 months now. For us, it’s a huge achievement that she’s down to just 14 grams of Royal Canin per day (down from the 79 grams we started with) along with 42 grams of Ziwi. We are currently at 6.3% of calories from carbs, I really never thought we’d even get this far!.....Thank you. Don’t worry about the +9 meal right now with what you have going on. From what I see, she still needs a little insulin support.
If she drops a little lower than she has been, we will have to come up with another plan. It would sure help if she was totally off dry because that would allow us to let her go on a drop until she drops below 50. Any progress there? Can you give her freeze dried treats instead of dry food? They usually have crunch and are LC

This is interesting for certain. We can’t really drop her any lower than one drop but SLGS would have us stop insulin.Update: 78 at +4....
Thank you so much, Marje, for all your help and guidance once againThis is interesting for certain. We can’t really drop her any lower than one drop but SLGS would have us stop insulin.
The other option is to give her one drop once a day. Let me think on that but go ahead and continue 1 drop for now.
Thanks for the update on the dry.
That is great to see that green preshot. She’s going in the direction I’d like to see.Thank you so much, Marje, for all your help and guidance once again
To be honest, I don't think I would like to stop insulin just yet either. My gut feeling is that Maggie still needs a little bit of support, although of course I trust your judgment completely
Do you think it would be too risky to keep her on one drop twice a day for a few more cycles? (Although I have a feeling I already know what your answer might be/It's funny because I never imagined there would be a day when I'd be asking for more insulin instead of less!
)
Today we had our very first green preshot ever (93)! I'm really happy and excited about that, but at the same time a little anxious because I had to leave for work shortly after her +2.5 test. I made sure she ate well before I left, and I also left some extra food in the auto-feeder just in case. As always, I'm keeping a close eye on her through the cameras, and I'll be stopping by around +5 to get another test.
Under SLGS we do not shoot when the preshot is below 90, right? I'm asking because we seem to be getting closer and closer to that point, and I'd like to be prepared.
Thank you again for everything you do for us!![]()
Thank you, MarjeThat is great to see that green preshot. She’s going in the direction I’d like to see.
Correct, if she drops below 90 at PS, don’t shoot and let’s see what she does. Until then, let’s continue with one drop. It is not typical for SLGS but we want a strong remission.



HahahaCongratulations, Hellen, on shooting your first (and second) green!! As is the custom here on the LLB forum, we award the coveted BOS award to folks who shoot their first green. Brava and well done! Fingers and paws crossed as Maggie is seemingly weaning herself off the juice. Gooooooo Maggie!!!!
View attachment 78669
Maggie seems determined to keep me on my toes. Paws crossed we're heading in the right direction!