08/06 Maggie / AMPS 105 / +2.30 90 / +5 102 / +9 111 / PMPS 121 / +2 103 / +4 94 / +6 83

I know she theoretically earned a dose reduction but she is not ready yet to go OTJ and she’s doing ok on this drop dose so let’s let it ride. We don’t want take her off the insulin too soon.

You ok with that?
 
I know she theoretically earned a dose reduction but she is not ready yet to go OTJ and she’s doing ok on this drop dose so let’s let it ride. We don’t want take her off the insulin too soon.

You ok with that?
Yes, absolutely. ❤️ I trust your judgment. My biggest concern is making sure we don't rush things and jeopardize her chances by taking her off insulin now. Since you think she still needs the support of the drop dose (and I can see that too clearly, especially after looking at so many spreadsheets that eventually led to an OTJ trial, where the numbers were mostly green and lower than ours), then I'm more than happy to continue with it.

The only downside is that I probably won't be able to continue the food trial properly until the weekend. I may be able to keep doing the +9 snack during the night cycles for a few more cycles, but it's no longer possible for me to leave work and go home during the AM cycles, especially this week, as things are quite hectic at the office.
Unfortunately, Maggie has also been stubbornly refusing to eat from the auto-feeder, so that makes things even more challenging.:banghead: I will be able to resume the food trial properly over the weekend, though. Do you think that would be a problem?

One more thing... what do you think about the food trial so far? To be honest, every day I find myself hoping to see a preshot value that is lower than the +9 reading after the snack, as a sign that her pancreas is responding and helping to bring her numbers down. When the preshot ends up being slightly higher instead, I can't help but feel a little discouraged and start wondering whether her pancreas is really contributing at all. Am I putting too much emphasis on that comparison?

Thank you so much for all your help and guidance (once again) 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
 
Yes, absolutely. ❤️ I trust your judgment. My biggest concern is making sure we don't rush things and jeopardize her chances by taking her off insulin now. Since you think she still needs the support of the drop dose (and I can see that too clearly, especially after looking at so many spreadsheets that eventually led to an OTJ trial, where the numbers were mostly green and lower than ours), then I'm more than happy to continue with it.

The only downside is that I probably won't be able to continue the food trial properly until the weekend. I may be able to keep doing the +9 snack during the night cycles for a few more cycles, but it's no longer possible for me to leave work and go home during the AM cycles, especially this week, as things are quite hectic at the office.
Unfortunately, Maggie has also been stubbornly refusing to eat from the auto-feeder, so that makes things even more challenging.:banghead: I will be able to resume the food trial properly over the weekend, though. Do you think that would be a problem?

One more thing... what do you think about the food trial so far? To be honest, every day I find myself hoping to see a preshot value that is lower than the +9 reading after the snack, as a sign that her pancreas is responding and helping to bring her numbers down. When the preshot ends up being slightly higher instead, I can't help but feel a little discouraged and start wondering whether her pancreas is really contributing at all. Am I putting too much emphasis on that comparison?

Thank you so much for all your help and guidance (once again) 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏
Thank you. Don’t worry about the +9 meal right now with what you have going on. From what I see, she still needs a little insulin support.

If she drops a little lower than she has been, we will have to come up with another plan. It would sure help if she was totally off dry because that would allow us to let her go on a drop until she drops below 50. Any progress there? Can you give her freeze dried treats instead of dry food? They usually have crunch and are LC
 
Thank you. Don’t worry about the +9 meal right now with what you have going on. From what I see, she still needs a little insulin support.

If she drops a little lower than she has been, we will have to come up with another plan. It would sure help if she was totally off dry because that would allow us to let her go on a drop until she drops below 50. Any progress there? Can you give her freeze dried treats instead of dry food? They usually have crunch and are LC
Hi Marje, she had a PMPS 107 5 minutes ago, and just threw up all her meal. What should I do now? I am really worried
 
Last edited:
Sorry….i have company visiting and didn’t see this until now. I see you shot but it would have been ok to skip. Is she feeling better and keeping food down?
Fortunately, she didn’t throw up again. I let her calm down for half an hour, then I fed her and waited another thirty minutes to make sure everything was okay before giving her the evening injection. For now, everything seems to be going well...
 
Thank you. Don’t worry about the +9 meal right now with what you have going on. From what I see, she still needs a little insulin support.

If she drops a little lower than she has been, we will have to come up with another plan. It would sure help if she was totally off dry because that would allow us to let her go on a drop until she drops below 50. Any progress there? Can you give her freeze dried treats instead of dry food? They usually have crunch and are LC
Progress is extremely slow. I’ve been trying to get her off dry food for 6 months now. For us, it’s a huge achievement that she’s down to just 14 grams of Royal Canin per day (down from the 79 grams we started with) along with 42 grams of Ziwi. We are currently at 6.3% of calories from carbs, I really never thought we’d even get this far!.....

But right now, things have become really difficult. She absolutely refuses to eat the Ziwi unless there are kibbles mixed in. I’ve tried everything, including freeze-dried treats. Just to give you an idea, the only way she will eat the Ziwi now is if I hand-feed her, piece by piece!

I am so incredibly exhausted with this food situation. So, at least for now, completely cutting out dry food seems impossible. Unfortunately, she is just not cooperating when it comes to food. This means we will probably have to work with our current data, unless a miracle happens... :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
 
Back
Top