08/05 Zener PMPS 364; +2 303;+3 293;+4 291 ATrak

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/4/11

These are crazy times!

Yesterday's summary
08/04/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 182, 3rd dose 1.5u, ate freeze dried chicken, fed 1 oz LC would not eat, added 1/2 t HC gravy and licked that off
+2 178, not eating LC (8%), fed 1t MC (11%) and ate like a lumberjack
+3 174, fed 1t MC (11%) & 1/2 oz LC (8%), ate it all!
+6 292, fed freeze dried chicken at poke
+10 364, fed freeze dried chicken at poke
PMPS 360, 4th dose @ 1.5 u, fed 1 oz little friskies mixed grill (8%) and 1/2 t FF chicken florentine (11%), appetite fair
+2 285, fed 1 oz 8% carb blue buffalo tuna
+3 fed 1/2 oz 8% carb - Zener was asking for food and got to it before could test
+4 300, fed 1 oz 8% carb before bedtime
+11.5 85, did not feed, re-check in 30 minutes
+12 85, decided on no shot since this is quite low with the AT, will make this AMPS

Today
08/05/11
AMPS 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs
+1 136, fed freeze dried chicken

We had a long debate about what to do, pouring over the protocol and spreadsheet and couldn't decide whether we should skip or give token dose. We hate to see him spike up when he is feeling better, but we were a little freaking about how low he was this morning. We finally decided that we've never had him this low in the AM, the increase at +1 could be food spike, and he is darn low for where we want to shoot with his CH, so we opted for no dose. Our instincts have been pretty good so far, so we'll see. We did not give the MC 11% since we want to see what happens without that spike. Will test at +2 and see what's what. Hope we did okay?
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

Good job! No need to nailbite_smile

As far as recording whats happening, since you skipped the shot, you are actually at +13/136, since we count hours since the last dose.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

i think you did fine, anne/liz. for the future, what you can do is stall until the number is rising and then shoot. when you are stalling you don't feed them, because that influences the numbers. what you want is to see a clear rise to a safe number - for zener, probably over 150ish - then shoot your regular amount.

for now, you could still give zener his shot within the next few hours as long as you ok with that time becoming your new shot time until you can work it backwards 30 minutes a day to your regular time. ie, if he is at 200 at 10am and you want to shoot then, that's fine, but tonight you can't shoot before 9:30pm and tomorrow you would do the same. you can move shots earlier by 15 minutes each or 30 minutes a day without much effect on their numbers.

edited to correct my mistake.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

Anne/Liz:

I totally agree with Julie....good thoughts there. I would not have shot an AT 85 either if I were you. But I would have stalled and shot when he came up at +13. Absolutely.

But you aren't using a Freestyle, too, right? Aren't you using the AT all the time? If so, that would mean this was roughly a 55 on a human meter. I know there was a lot of excitement for you this morning but it's good to always put "AT" in your subject line because not everyone will remember that is what you are using and it can throw someone off if they don't read everything thoroughly.

When you don't shoot, then you want to put "AMBG" in your subject line. One hour past that is +13 as Sandy said. "AMPS" indicates you shot that number. I'm not sure of your schedule....working or not working. I would say that if you had to leave for work, you wouldn't want to shoot this number with him.

Unfortunately, I've been so bonkers with work that I haven't had a chance to keep up (so sorry) but I don't understand the dose reduction the other day. You took hiim down .25u to 1.50u but I don't see where he earned that reduction from the 1.75u.

I also don't know where you are with your recuperation but I just have to throw in my two cents worth and I totally understand if you want to ignore it. IMHO, once you are feeling better and you can be there to watch him and test, I think you have to start shooting the full dose on time on some of these numbers. Not today's number...or even close to it. But when you are feeling better and will be up....I think you need to start shooting those 137 type numbers with the full dose. I know he has CH and we've been concerned but I also know he had one night that he was running low (into the 80s on the AT) and you all did great with him and he did great.

Insofar as dose, I think you should hold it. He's going to come up and you aren't going to want to reduce his dose tonight....his shed is draining without some insulin this morning.

Please let me know your thoughts....you control the syringe. We're just here to support you.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

Marjorie-- It isn't in the stickies, but I thought that "too low to shoot" was an automatic dose reduction? Or is that only if you stall but then go ahead and shoot?

Unless you are on a strict schedule, I probably would have stalled as well (up to 2 hrs) to see if Zener got into a range you were comfortable shooting. The 85 is approximately the same as a 55 on a human meter, and I personally don't shoot the 50s based on my experience with Willie. I test every 15 minutes and like to see two rising numbers in a row and a number above 60 before I shoot.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

ah, maybe i wasn't crazy - i'm mixed up on your meter too. i was thinking you bought a freestyle also, but then i read Gobnait's condo and they also got a freestyle after having the AT. then i decided i was mixed up on YOURS! sorry about that.

are you only using an AT? sometimes it's hard to keep everyone's details and stories straight!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

To answer Christie's question about a dose reduction if he's too low to shoot: I think that is in the instance where the cat is below 50 because that would be an instant reduction anyway. And because he came up really fast at +13....and he's probably going to be high today, I am not sure I would give a reduction. I know we all have our "don't shoot" numbers and I know Willie's is 60. Would you give him a reduction if he was below 60 and you didn't shoot?

We need to get it clarified by Sienne, Jill, or Libby. I always thought if you were below 50, stalled and they didn't come up and you couldn't shoot, then it was a reduction. But Christie may be right....she's pretty astute.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

i haven't reduced the dose when it was too low to shoot -just waited and then shot. they always come up. i think the only significance it has is that the nadir has shifted, so unless there was more data indicating that the shot dose was too large (ie, they dropped below 50) then i would hold the dose the same.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
As far as recording whats happening, since you skipped the shot, you are actually at +13/136, since we count hours since the last dose.

Thanks Sandy, we'll get that corrected!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

Wow, thanks everyone for all the input. Sorry, I forgot to put ATrak in the subject line this am, just a little discombobulated. And also thanks on how to abbreviate correctly for what we did this morning.

As it turns out, Liz kept checking and he continued up so she shot 1.25 u at 9 am. It was a reduced dose from the 1.5 so we'll see what happens. I had to be out for a bit and Liz was on her own and decided the stall and shoot was the way to go, just couldn't stand to see him going back up when he is doing so well. We had fed him a little bit but he hadn't really eaten much as his appetite was down. I know that's not the best with the stall and shoot, but it is what it is.

Marje, we did the reduction to 1.5 u because a few nights ago he dropped down to 84 and that was taken with 11% carb food on board. With the alpha trak, it is likely he was down below the 80 that was an earned reduction. I also had input from Sienne on doing that as well, so that's why we are at the 1.5 right now.

I'll get his SS updated and then post back here with all that changed since my first posting this morning. We really appreciated everyone's input and look forward to more on how we should proceed tonight, particularly about the dose amount.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 85, no shot? Dose help

Marjorie, that is a really good question... I'm trying to remember the circumstances when Sienne explained the "too low to shoot = reduction" thinking. That's why I threw the thought out there... figured it would be good to have one of the "experts" weigh in! :-D
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMGB 85; +1 136; AMPS 167 shot ATrak dose?

Okay, I hope I've got the abbreviations for the data correct now. ;-)

Today
08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb

We too were confused about if a number is too low to shoot, that being an automatic reduction. So, that is why since he was too low to shoot this morning, we went with the reduction again. I look forward to what the dosing experts say about this too. It is very confusing!

Marje, I am up and about now and doing much better. So, I have been staying up and getting a +4 at night. We have two more weeks before returning to school, when our schedules will be inflexible, so we can stall and shoot right now. We'll start shifting him back 15 minutes per shot if his numbers allow.

We have Zener's first appointment with the vet this afternoon for acupuncture. Our vet says she as very mixed results with this for cats with FD, but it does relax them and reduce their stress, so we wanted to try it while we are still at home and can monitor.

Thanks again everyone, we'll keep posting through the day and tonight to see about what to shoot.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMGB 85; +1 136; AMPS 167 shot ATrak dose?

Today
08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb

Zener just gave us a lovely pee specimen, negative for ketones and glucose in the urine!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230 reduced dose?A Trk

Anne:

Glad you are doing so much better.

As far as the dose reduction, I think if you stall and can shoot, then there isn't a reason to give a reduction. By +1 he was at a very shootable number and may have also been so at +.5. I know you have to be more careful with him and so 85 may never be a shootable number for Zener. But 85AT (55 human meter) is a shootable number for someone who has gradually learned to shoot lower and lower, has LOTS of data, knows their cat, has all the required strips, hypo kit, and will be there to monitor, etc. I think it's good to get other opinions...that's what makes it work here.

Thanks for letting me know about the reduction. Sienne gives awesome suggestions so I'm glad you have that. Like I said, I just hadn't kept up so was just curious. Based on Sienne suggesting a reduction the other day, with this +12 of 85, she might think a reduction is warranted.....because it could have been an 80.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230 reduced dose?A Trk

I found the thread where the "too low to shoot" business came up with Willie. At that point, we were taking dosecreases at 40 (as we are now). Here was the thread, the "too low to shoot" discussion was at the bottom of the thread. Willie hadn't earned his dosecrease by going below 40, but we still decreased because he was in the 40s at his normal shot time. Sorry if we've hijacked Zener's conversation, but I know this isn't in the stickies anywhere so is also a good opportunity to make sure everyone including newbies know about it!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230 reduced dose?A Trk

Thanks Marje, we sometimes feel like we are stumbling around in the dark! And Christie, no hijacking here. I really appreciated the discussion and learned a lot from reading everyone's thoughts, it was great. And thanks for posting your thread. We are about to head out for Zener's acupuncture treatment.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230 reduced dose?A Trk

Just back from Zener's visit to the vet for acupuncture. He complained the entire ride there, which he has not done in months, so we thought that was a good sign. He settled right down and took a nap while the needles were in. I'll get a +7 shortly, since we missed his +6 at the vet's office.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230 reduced dose?A Trk

i'll be curious how you think the acupuncture went.

the board is curiously empty right now. hope you get an answer before dosing time tonight.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

Hi Julie, he did great with the treatment and was very relaxed. I have never seen him relax and flop over on his side while at the vet's office - and with little needles in his body! Not likely to see any results right away but we are hoping that it would help with increasing his appetite and leveling things out a little so we don't see such big surprising drops - wouldn't we all? Our vet has had mixed results with acupuncture and FD, but thought it was worth a try. We initiated the discussion on acupuncture with her, knowing that she was trained in acupuncture. I'll keep everyone posted on what we see. It may take another treatment or two to decide if it is helpful or not. We are to send our spreadsheet to the vet next Thursday and then call her to chat about his status.

We got home a little past his +6 time so I waited until +7, expecting that just going to the vet could cause a spike in his BG.

Today
08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat

I'll post a another value or two between now and his PMPS, maybe someone will have a chance to take a look before then. I'll leave my dose ? in the subject line and go update Zener's SS.

Thanks!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

It looks like you shot at +14 this morning - how badly/quickly do you need to get those 2 hours back? Something to think about.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
It looks like you shot at +14 this morning - how badly/quickly do you need to get those 2 hours back? Something to think about.

We have 2 weeks to move him back to our work schedule, so can move fairly slowly.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

If I'm reading Sandy's mind correctly, she may be thinking that given where Zener was testing at +7, you may be able to shoot early. I wouldn't recommend more than an hour early, though. Could you post your +10 when you get it? If Zener is still in the pinks, it may be possible for you to shoot at +11.

I'm torn about the dose reduction issues. I agreed with the reduction the other day because Zener already had HC food on board when he tested at 84. This morning, you got the 85 without the effect of food.

I want to suggest you bookmark or print out Libby's post on [urlhttp://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46005]dealing with low pre-shots[/url]. This will lay out your options.

Basically, if you are going to stall, don't feed. If you stall, you generally want to give the regular dose since the stalling acts like a dose reduction. Today, when you stalled AND reduced Zener's dose, it was a double whammy on his shed.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

Sienne and Gabby said:
If I'm reading Sandy's mind correctly, she may be thinking that given where Zener was testing at +7, you may be able to shoot early. I wouldn't recommend more than an hour early, though. Could you post your +10 when you get it? If Zener is still in the pinks, it may be possible for you to shoot at +11.

Ah, I get that and moving earlier would be helpful. We just fed him a little 8% at +9 and I did not get a +9. We will get a +10 and post.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm torn about the dose reduction issues. I agreed with the reduction the other day because Zener already had HC food on board when he tested at 84. This morning, you got the 85 without the effect of food.

Yes, we understand the difference. This morning when Liz got the 85 @ 11.5 thankfully we did not feed as we were remembering our last lesson! We actually thought we were not going to shoot when we had the 85 @ +12. We just haven't been in the shooting low number situation very often yet to know what to expect. The decision to shoot two hours later was taken after we had fed him, not expecting to shoot at all.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I want to suggest you bookmark or print out Libby's post. This will lay out your options.
Thanks, I have this bookmarked and printed and in Zener's log book. Sometimes I read it and think it is perfectly clear, but then when the numbers stare you in the face, it is sometimes hard to think, especially the first few times when we don't really know how he will respond.[/quote]

We are also thinking about what would be our "do not shoot" numbers for Zener, and what would be our shoot a reduced dose or token dose numbers. Being a little bit higher than what is in the protocol seems safer to us because of Zener's CH. Does this seem reasonable?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Basically, if you are going to stall, don't feed. If you stall, you generally want to give the regular dose since the stalling acts like a dose reduction. Today, when you stalled AND reduced Zener's dose, it was a double whammy on his shed.
Got it, we did the double whammy. We do understand that now and looking back were not planning the stall, but more the not shoot at all. So a good learning experience.

I'll be back with a +10 in about an hour. Will put on his SS and post to the message board.

Thank you!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

Ann --

Coming up with a fixed number is really hard. A lot depends on the context. Even more depends on what the data you've collected in similar situations tells you. Doing the same thing each time and ending up with different results will be frustrating if you don't consider all of the variables that are at play at any given point in time. This is never an exact science because each situation can be different. In addition, I expect that you'll get more comfortable with lower numbers as time passes.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328 reduced dose?A

Thanks for that Sienne! Somehow we keep expecting we will come up with fixed numbers! Sometimes we feel like we are a little daft when we try to sort this out, so our lesson may be there is nothing hard and fast about this. Oh, and...get more data! Zener is resting quietly on the bed right now, after his trip to the vet. Be back in about 30 minutes with his +10.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352 dose?A

Here's the data today, including +10

Today
08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat
+10 352

A steady rise.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352 dose?A

I'm glad Sienne chimed in because we were thinking along the same line on you shooting this morning.

With his number like it is tonight, I think I'd shoot early as she suggested and shoot the regular dose.....not a reduced dose. Shooting early will act as a dosecrease.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352 dose?A

Thanks Marje, so we are thinking shooting 1.5 at 11.5?

this morning we made the decision to stall and shoot sort of after the fact, thinking we weren't going to shoot at all. Another lantus lesson learned. Now if we can commit it to memory for the next time. ;-)
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352 dose?A

We'll get a +11 and post for opinions on when to shoot, thanks!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352;+11 36

Here's the latest @ +11.

08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat
+10 352
+11 364

We were thinking of shooting the 1.5 u at 11.5, or should we consider going ahead and shooting earlier?
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352;+11 36

Sienne and Gabby said:
If I'm reading Sandy's mind correctly, she may be thinking that given where Zener was testing at +7, you may be able to shoot early. I wouldn't recommend more than an hour early, though. Could you post your +10 when you get it? If Zener is still in the pinks, it may be possible for you to shoot at +11.

Yep. That's exactly what I was thinking. I've done it many times with BK, however, "stalling a shot" wasn't part of our vocabulary for many many many many moons. . . So by that time I really had a feel for his numbers (as much as one can!)

It's a strategy that could come in handy in the future, especially when you get back to school and schedules may be less flexible.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352;+11 36

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
If I'm reading Sandy's mind correctly, she may be thinking that given where Zener was testing at +7, you may be able to shoot early. I wouldn't recommend more than an hour early, though. Could you post your +10 when you get it? If Zener is still in the pinks, it may be possible for you to shoot at +11.

Yep. That's exactly what I was thinking. I've done it many times with BK, however, "stalling a shot" wasn't part of our vocabulary for many many many many moons. . . So by that time I really had a feel for his numbers (as much as one can!)

It's a strategy that could come in handy in the future, especially when you get back to school and schedules may be less flexible.

great minds think alike! Which strategy do you mean sandy, for when our schedules are less flexible? I'm just a little confused.
confused_cat
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352;+11 36

Anne & Zener said:
Which strategy do you mean sandy, for when our schedules are less flexible? I'm just a little confused.

The strategy of shooting 1 or more hours early after loosing time and insulin (stalled shots, skipped shots) A late shot is like a decrease and an early shot is like an increase. So it can help replenish the shed and maybe help soften a bounce, and get you to that meeting with your boss on time. . .

eta - (my apologies - I'm the worlds worst/slowest typist...)
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352;+11 36

julie1220 said:
i think sandy & sienne are saying that if you're trying to get back on schedule and zener is really high, you could shoot a little early.

By jove, I think I've got it! Sheez...must be the worry and lack of sleep that make me so slow! ;-)

We shot 1.5 u @ +11.5 and his BG was 364.

08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat
+10 352
+11 364
PMPS 364 (shot @ +11.5) fed 1 oz 8%

Will get a +2 and +3, then see how things are going, maybe sleep for a while?
 
Re: 08/05 Zener AMPS 167;+1 195;+3 230;+7 328;+10 352;+11 36

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Anne & Zener said:
Which strategy do you mean sandy, for when our schedules are less flexible? I'm just a little confused.

The strategy of shooting 1 or more hours early after loosing time and insulin (stalled shots, skipped shots) A late shot is like a decrease and an early shot is like an increase. So it can help replenish the shed and maybe help soften a bounce, and get you to that meeting with your boss on time. . .

eta - (my apologies - I'm the worlds worst/slowest typist...)

No apologies necessary for the typing. I'm a little slow in understanding these days! And yes, this will be a helpful strategy when we get back to work in 2 weeks. We are college professors, so not too many meetings with the boss for us, but lots of being on time for classes!

I am always grateful for the two most useful courses I ever took in school - typing and latin!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364 shot @ +11.5 ATrak

Anne & Zener said:
We shot 1.5 u @ +11.5 and his BG was 364.
Timing wise that was a good call. Numbers permitting, you can safely shoot .5 early once each 24 hours (twice in a row could land you in trouble) or 15 min early each cycle to get back on track.

I have to say I'm not at all sure about the dose. However you guys have had some pretty good instincts in the recent past, in spite of the craziness - that's for sure.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364 shot @ +11.5 ATrak

Thanks Sandy, we thought long and hard about the dose and based on input and "our instinct" we went back to the 1.5. The mid 80s he had this morning were not manipulated by food, as before when we dropped from 1.75 to 1.5. We are going to test him tonight throughout the night if needed, and if we see big drops again, then we will decrease to 1.25 tomorrow.

We plan to gradually decrease him to get back on schedule, and plan to go with 15 min per day, unless our numbers don't indicate it - whatever that would look like..haha! :roll:
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364 shot 1.5 @ +11.5 ATrak dose OK?

Anne: sorry...I was having dinner but 1.5u was a good dose to shoot tonight. Good work!!
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364 shot 1.5 @ +11.5 ATrak dose OK?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Anne: sorry...I was having dinner but 1.5u was a good dose to shoot tonight. Good work!!

Thanks Marje!

Good for you, eating dinner is very important - hope it was tasty! I am still on a bland cooked to death veggies and stewed fruit diet, but I am starting to dream of pizza...

Our plan for tonight (haha...I feel funny writing we have a plan because it almost always changes!), I will get a +2 and probably a +3. Liz has her alarm set for a +7, then she will be up for his +10 and pre-shot. His PMPS was just about where it was last night, and he was 300 @ +3 then 85 @ +11, so we are going to try to catch any drops during the night tonight, if there are any! Where did I put my crystal ball?
haha_smiley
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364 shot 1.5 @ +11.5 ATrak dose OK?

Up to you but I bet if he's coming up still at +3, you might just want to get your +10 in the morning. Save a strip and get some sleep. But you know him best.....

Yes...yummmy...I made homemade spaghetti with SuperSoy crumbles.

Have a great evening.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364 shot 1.5 @ +11.5 ATrak dose OK?

I am sure Liz will like your plan even better than the getting up in the wee hours one! We shall see what the numbers show. Your dinner sounds yummy, so I know I am improving! Thanks and have a lovely Friday evening.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364; +2 303 ATrak

Looks like no coming up in these early cycle hours...

08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat
+10 352
+11 364
PMPS 364, shot regular 1.5 u (shot @ +11.5) fed 1 oz 8%
+2 303, fed 1 oz 9% carb

Starting to look suspiciously like last night! Since he dropped over 50 points in the first two hours of this cycle, and we did an early and back to full dose, I'll get and post +3, then see how things look. May be a "get up in the middle of the night" night after all!

:YMSIGH:
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364; +2 303 ATrak

Good idea. I think anything more than a 50 mg/dl difference between PS and +2 deserves some extra watching. Sorry Anne and Liz.

Off to zzzzz land for me. Good luck.
 
Re: 08/05 Zener PMPS 364; +2 303;+3 293 ATrak

Not quite sure why he seems to be dropping so early in his cycle now, but seems to be a little bit of a pattern.

08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat
+10 352
+11 364
PMPS 364, shot regular 1.5 u (shot @ +11.5) fed 1 oz 8%
+2 303, fed 1 oz 9% carb
+3 293, fed 2 t 11% carb

Not sure if going with the 11% is the thing to do right now, but I'm a little worried he will drop like a rock and keep on going. Will get a +4 and if things look passable, will get to bed and set an alarm for +6 or +7.
@-) @-) @-)
 
Well, looks like the 11% may be holding him from an even bigger drop. Best thing about this food - Zener is eating it! Will sleep for a bit and Liz will check on a +7, then +10. Hopefully we can stave off the big drop like we say yesterday morning that started the day's drama!

08/05/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMBG 85, did not shoot, fed 1 oz 11% carbs, licked gravy mostly
AMBG +13 136, fed freeze dried chicken
AMPS 167, small amount of food on board (or gravy) - tested again @ AMBG +2 and number up, so shot reduced dose 1.25u
Since he was not eating this morning, only licking, we gave 1/2 cypro appetite stimulant at AMPS
+1 195, fed 1/2 oz 10% carb
+3 230, fed 1 oz 8% carb
+6:20. fed 1/2 oz 8% carb
+7 328, freeze dried chicken treat
+10 352
+11 364
PMPS 364, shot regular 1.5 u (shot @ +11.5) fed 1 oz 8%
+2 303, fed 1 oz 9% carb
+3 293, fed 2 t 11% carb
+4 291, fed 2 t 11% carb

Nighty night LL!
I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top