08/02Znr PM137;1 108;2 88;2:20 84;onSS;+4.5 140;+5.5 131 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 8/1/11

Yesterday's summary
AMPS 290 15th cycle at 1.75u, not hungry at shot most likely because of small liquid vomit at 5:30 am. Ate 2 pieces of freeze dried chicken treat (FDCK)
+1 fed 1/2 oz fancy feast chicken classic (FFCKC)
+2/2.5 fed 1 oz FFCKC
+3 311, fed FDCK @ poke
+6 334, fed FDCK @ poke
+9 309, fed 1/oz LF LC
+11 326
PMPS 308, 16th cycle at 1.75u, fed 1 oz little friskies mixed grill pate
+2 255, 1 oz LFMG pate
+3 212, 1 oz LFMG pate
+4 203, 1 oz LFMG pate, appetite found!
+11.5 166 - small panic and gave 1/2 oz LC with 1t MC

Hindsight - we should have waited 30 minutes, then tested again without feeding. And we've done that before. I'm not at my best early in the mornings. We will be in and out a lot today and were not able to stall before shooting, and since we didn't know if he was sliding down from his bounce or numbers were still dropping, we opted for a reduced dose.

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite

It was one of those mornings, where we do something then look back and say "why did we do that?" ohmygod_smile We are trying to look at it as a learning experience and an opportunity to collect data instead of a "will we ever figure this out".
confused_cat
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener AMPS 198;+1 242;+2 232;+3 228 A Trak

Got a bit more data, will be in and out for a bit and should be able to get a +6 later.

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS

cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener AMPS 198;+1 242;+2 232;+3 228 A Trak

Hi guys .. I think that is a good way to look at this .. it's all a learning experience and if we think of it that way, we won't get as discouraged about trying to figure it out .. you guys are doing great! Have a great day!
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener AMPS 198;+1 242;+2 232;+3 228 A Trak

Thanks for the encouragement Peter! My mantra of the day - "all data is good data"! And I also keep repeating "it's a learning experience" over and over interspersed with "it's a marathon, not a sprint"!
;-)
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener AMPS 198;+1 242;+2 232;+3 228 A Trak

You followed your instincts and erred on the side of saftey - a good choice.
It is indeed a learning experience - better safe than sorry.
You won't lose much ground. Heck, one day you may do a "fur shot" resulting in that much of a decrease. . .
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener AMPS 198;+1 242;+2 232;+3 228 A Trak

Thanks Sandy and Black Kitty, we appreciate the support! And thanks for the reminder about the fur shots. We find it hard to trust our instincts sometimes, and my instincts are in hibernation in the early morning! It's a good thing Liz has the early am shift and I'm on night watch! The day isn't looking terrible after all. :smile:
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener AMPS 198;+1 242;+2 232;+3 228;+6 240 A Tr

Back from a Target shopping trip - buying enough to get us through the semester. We tried to beat the "back to school" crush and though busy, it wasn't packed yet!

Zener has been enjoying a lovely morning nap and now has ventured outside to sit on his porch and watch the birds.
08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS

Rain is on the way, so kitties are enjoying backyard time while they can!
 
Re: 08/02/11 ZenerAMPS 198;1 242;2 232;3 228;6 240;+9.5 168

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite

My lesson from all this is to learn to live in the moment! We were afraid of a difficult day since we gave a reduced dose this am and the values have not been bad and we are now in the blue. Will see how things continue before PMPS and shot. Will post results on his SS as the evening progresses.

Zener has had a much better day today, playing with a new catnip toy and playing "chase the kitty" a little bit with his best buddy Tillie, the queen of everything.
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 08/02/11 ZenerAMPS 198;1 242;2 232;3 228;6 240;+9.5 168

Zener has had a much better day today, playing with a new catnip toy and playing "chase the kitty" a little bit with his best buddy Tillie, the queen of everything.

always very good!
nice late blue there too!
 
Re: 08/02/11 ZenerAMPS 198;1 242;2 232;3 228;6 240;+9.5 168

Thanks Ronnie, it's a good outcome for what we thought would be a difficult day! You just never know, do you?
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142 dropping # dose help ATk

May we live in interesting times, and we were thinking of an increase yesterday.

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite
+11.5 142

We shot a reduced dose this morning and now at 11.5, he appears to still be dropping. We'll wait 30 minutes and test again, but just trying to make a plan. Since he is below 150 (we're using the alpha trak, so he is well below 150), and perhaps still dropping, not sure whether to shoot reduced dose or a token dose. We're a bit limited by work schedules with stalling. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142 dropping # dose help ATk

That may not be a "real" drop. Remember, there is up to 20% variance with any test. Post in your subject line when you get your +12.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142; +12 122 dropping # dose help A

Still going down.

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite
+11.5 142
+12 122

Haven't shot anything yet, waiting for experienced suggestions!
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142;+12 122; PMPS 137 dose help ATk

We aren't able to stall because of our work schedule, so took another BG @ +12 20 minutes, made that our PMPS and shot a token dose of 0.5u. Not sure if we made the right decision, but I'm still not able to stay up too late, or get up during the night to test, so erred on the side of caution/safety.

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite
+11.5 142, fed 1 oz LC
+12 122, fed 1 oz LC
PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose

Gosh, it's been a crazy day and the beans are worn out! Zener, on the other paw, has had a great day, feeling frisky with all 5 Ps in place.

Hope we made the right decision.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142;+12 122; PMPS 137 dose help ATk

Yes Marje, we shot the 137 but only a token dose. Just a little stressed out by the day. We shot a reduced dose this morning and he's been coming down all day. Still wasn't sure about dropping numbers or not.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142;+12 122; PMPS 137 dose help ATk

Thanks, Anne. With meter variance, looks like he is surfing but today he might be clearing a bounce instead of a late nadir. Probably if you had stalled, he'd have come up some more but I know you couldn't....totally understand.

Did you want to know about his dose? IMHO....and please feel free to get others, if he doesn't get into some green tonight, I'd probably increase his dose.....I think there is a little room there but you'll have to offset that with how you are feeling and the fact that he might start giving you lower numbers to deal with. Best to see what he does tonight before you decide.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142;+12 122; PMPS 137 dose help ATk

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Thanks, Anne. With meter variance, looks like he is surfing but today he might be clearing a bounce instead of a late nadir. Probably if you had stalled, he'd have come up some more but I know you couldn't....totally understand.

Sometimes it is hard to know what to do, and we also know his CH makes him a little more different. We'll get a +1, +2 and +3 tonight and see what happens.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Did you want to know about his dose? IMHO....and please feel free to get others, if he doesn't get into some green tonight, I'd probably increase his dose.....I think there is a little room there but you'll have to offset that with how you are feeling and the fact that he might start giving you lower numbers to deal with. Best to see what he does tonight before you decide.

I would be more comfortable going back to his regular dose of 1.75, which we didn't give him at all today. We did a reduced dose this morning at 1.5 because of lower numbers, then a token dose tonight. So I'd like to get him back on the 1.75u for a few cycles before thinking about going to 2u, especially since I'm still limited in how late I can stay up and getting up to check on him during the night. Does this make sense? And thanks for your help and opinion!

And yes, i would love to see other opinions! I know it is ultimately our decision, but I do learn so much from others who have so much more experience and their rationale for their decisions.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142;+12 122; PMPS 137 dose help ATk

i think you did just fine. given that the range you're aiming for is higher because of zener's CH, and you can't stay up to test because you're recovering from surgery, that was probably a wise decision to shoot a token dose. if he goes higher tonight, you can get him back on track in the next couple of days.

btw, i'm not sure why you're considering increasing him to 2units - he's been pretty good on the 1.75, hasn't he? what's your thought there?
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108 dose help ATk

Looks like he is continuing to drop @ +1.

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite
+11.5 142, fed 1 oz LC
+12 122, fed 1 oz LC
PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC

We'll get a +2 and see where we are.
nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener +11.5 142;+12 122; PMPS 137 dose help ATk

julie1220 said:
i think you did just fine. given that the range you're aiming for is higher because of zener's CH, and you can't stay up to test because you're recovering from surgery, that was probably a wise decision to shoot a token dose. if he goes higher tonight, you can get him back on track in the next couple of days.

Thanks Julie, it's nice to get some reassurance and now that I see his +1 I'm really glad we didn't shoot much as it looks like it is indeed a dropping number. I'll be checking at +2 and +3, if he is still dropping will have to pull out the HC so we can get some sleep tonight.

julie1220 said:
btw, i'm not sure why you're considering increasing him to 2units - he's been pretty good on the 1.75, hasn't he? what's your thought there?
We had discussed a couple of weeks back, right before I had my emergency gall bladder crisis, about going up to 2 to see if it would bring his numbers down through both cycles. Now, it seems that the 1.75 looks pretty good, and his other bean and I were more comfortable with keeping him at 1.75 for a few more cycles as he seemed to be doing pretty good. Today we never shot 1.75 at all. We did a 1.5 in the am and the token dose in the PM! It's hard to sort it all out!
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108 dose help ATk

It looks like you gave Zener some MC?

For future reference, don't feed within 2 hours of shot time unless numbers are really low. From your SS, it looks like you started feeding at +11.5. What that did was inflate your PMPS. I would give Zener some more MC or even add a bit of HC to the mix.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108 dose help ATk

Sienne and Gabby said:
It looks like you gave Zener some MC?

For future reference, don't feed within 2 hours of shot time unless numbers are really low. From your SS, it looks like you started feeding at +11.5. What that did was inflate your PMPS. I would give Zener some more MC or even add a bit of HC to the mix.
Yes, we did it again d****it! We gave him a teaspoon of MC with LC at +1. We are about to test again and will give some more MC with some HC!
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88 help ATk

Okay, we starting to get very nervous now, +2 and still dropping.

nailbite_smile

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite
+11.5 142, fed 1 oz LC
+12 122, fed 1 oz LC
PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC
+2 88, fed 1 oz MC +1 t HC

Will check again in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2.20 84 HELP ATk

+2 and 20 minutes, BG 84

08/02/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 198 - 1.5u reduced dose with small amount of LC + 1t MC on board at +11.5
+1 242
+2 232 fed 1 oz LF supreme supper LC, good appetite
+3 228, fed 1 oz LFSS
+6 240, fed 1/2 oz LFSS
+9.5 168, fed 1/2 oz LC, good appetite
+11.5 142, fed 1 oz LC
+12 122, fed 1 oz LC
PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC
+2 88, fed 1 oz MC +1 t HC
+2.20 84, fed 1T HC + 3 semi soft treats

Should we check again in 20 or 30 minutes?
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2.20 84 HELP ATk

go ahead and give more high carb food - preferably the gravy - about 1-2 tsp and retest in 15ish minutes. you want to keep repeating this process til zener's probably over 100ish AT.
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2.20 84 HELP ATk

PERFECT! you can update your subject line. the key here is, though, that it's early in the cycle and you're going to need to keep checking zener for probably 4 more hours to make sure he stays up. what a good thing you went with your gut and dropped the dose tonight! *whew*

the carbs from food will wear off, so despite it being awful, you're going to want to keep checking and keep him over 100. sorry for the bad news. you did great, though! i'm so glad you're a diligent checker!
 
Re: 08/02/11 Zener PMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2.20 84 HELP ATk

julie1220 said:
go ahead and give more high carb food - preferably the gravy - about 1-2 tsp and retest in 15ish minutes. you want to keep repeating this process til zener's probably over 100ish AT.

Okay, we're now up over 100.
PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC
+2 88, fed 1 oz MC +1 t HC
+2:20 84, fed 1t HC + 3 semi soft treats
+2:40 108, fed 1 t HC with gravy

Now that he is over 100, should we check again in 20 or 30 minutes?
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 HE

oh, if it were me, i'd probably check every 30-40 minutes til i was pretty sure it was past the nadir.
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 HE

julie1220 said:
oh, if it were me, i'd probably check every 30-40 minutes til i was pretty sure it was past the nadir.

Okay, it's sort of a crap shoot for us on deciding when it's his nadir! Will test again and post in 30-40 minutes. Thanks!

Geez, we didn't even give the poor guy his regular 1.75 u dose today at all!
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 HE

Do we want to keep feeding the HC with the wash, rinse, repeat?
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 HE

all you can do is kinda guess. i have set an alarm on my cell phone and slept in between checking punkin. i usually go til +7 even though there's no way to know when the nadir is, you're just giving it your best guess.

are you ok with the process? feel like you know what to do? ie, do you need me to stay on?
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 AT

if he's 100 or over, no high carb needed. if he's lower, bump him up with the HC. your goal is just to keep him high enough to be safe.
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 HE

julie1220 said:
all you can do is kinda guess. i have set an alarm on my cell phone and slept in between checking punkin. i usually go til +7 even though there's no way to know when the nadir is, you're just giving it your best guess.

are you ok with the process? feel like you know what to do? ie, do you need me to stay on?

I think we are okay with the process. Just one question about feeding, do we keep feeding after each check and if so, do we stay with HC, or move to MC or LC?
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 AT

i would switch to giving a regular treat after each test, like you would ordinarily do. i use boiled chicken, which is somewhere close to no carb, i understand. at this point you just want to reward zener for being abused ;-) and keep him up. so you could use a dab of LC or something like a bite of canned tuna or tuna flakes, whatever you would ordinarily use to treat him after a poke.

you don't want to send him soaring with too many carbs if it can be avoided. just sustain him.
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 AT

julie1220 said:
i would switch to giving a regular treat after each test, like you would ordinarily do. i use boiled chicken, which is somewhere close to no carb, i understand. at this point you just want to reward zener for being abused ;-) and keep him up. so you could use a dab of LC or something like a bite of canned tuna or tuna flakes, whatever you would ordinarily use to treat him after a poke.
Good, I understand. We usually give him HALO freeze dried chicken treats after a poke. Poor guy, he is being so good about all this testing tonight. He really loves low numbers because he likes getting the HC junk food, especially the gravy!

julie1220 said:
you don't want to send him soaring with too many carbs if it can be avoided. just sustain him.
Right, I often overreact and send him soaring. And we did give the token dose tonight, thank goodness!
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137; +1 108; +2 88;+2:20 84;+2:40 108 AT

heehee i'm sure punkin misses the poke fests he used to have. LOVED that gravy stuff!

sounds like you've got a great plan! good night!
 
Re: 08/02 ZenerPMPS 137;1 108; 2 88;2:20 84;2:40 108;+3 104

Thanks! I'll keep posting on his SS. Now we can start thinking about what to shoot in the morning...
 
Re: 08/02ZenerPM137;1 108;2 88;2:20 84;2:40 108;3 104;3:40 1

PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose Alpha Trak
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC
+2 88, fed 1 oz MC +1 t HC
+2:20 84, fed 1t HC + 3 semi soft treats
+2:40 108, fed 1 t HC with gravy
+3 104, fed 1 t HC with gravy
+3:40 120, freeze dried chicken treat

Will get a +4.5 and if stable or rising, then will get a +5.5 and perhaps +6.5. Paws crossed bedtime after that. Zener's other bean will take over at +11 and test then and get AMPS.

Thank goodness we are both teachers and it's still summer holidays. I don't know how we will do this when we go back to work! :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 08/02Znr PM137;1 108;2 88;2:20 84;see SS; +4.5 140AT

Thanks Julie, I'm hanging in there. Zener is doing great! Sleeping.

PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose Alpha Trak
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC
+2 88, fed 1 oz MC +1 t HC
+2:20 84, fed 1t HC + 3 semi soft treats
+2:40 108, fed 1 t HC with gravy
+3 104, fed 1 t HC with gravy
+3:40 120, freeze dried chicken treat
+4.5 (45 minutes since last test) 140, fed freeze dried chicken treat

I'll check again in an hour, and then depending on results, I may make it one more hour. I've run out of room in the subject line, so improvised. Not sure if this is the way to do it when too much data for the subject line. Wish I could drink some...
~O) ~O)
but my caffeine intake is severely limited as part of recovering from my surgery. Two weeks ago right now I was thinking that perhaps my stomach pain was more than a stomach ache and maybe we should go to the ER. Looks like I may be up as late tonight as I was that night, only no one is giving me any morphine now!
;-)
 
Re: 08/02Znr PM137;1 108;2 88;2:20 84;onSS;+4.5 140;+5.5 131

Zener holding steady, bean fading fast...

PMPS 137 (measured @ +12 20 minutes) - 0.5 u token dose Alpha Trak
+1 108, fed 1 oz LC + 1 t MC
+2 88, fed 1 oz MC +1 t HC
+2:20 84, fed 1t HC + 3 semi soft treats
+2:40 108, fed 1 t HC with gravy
+3 104, fed 1 t HC with gravy
+3:40 120, freeze dried chicken treat
+4.5 (45 minutes since last test) 140, fed freeze dried chicken treat
+5.5 131, fed 1 t MC, bean has to get sleep

Will try to get up again and check, but I am fading fast so gave 1 teaspoon of MC just in case.

What should we be looking for in the AM to decide on dose for shooting? He had been on 1.75u for 16 cycles (or about that), then today (now yesterday), he was low at AMPS so we gave reduced dose to 1.5u. He came down all day, and we shot a token dose at PMPS. The rest of the night was low. Wondering about going back to 1.75 u or whether should be thinking of reduction to 1.5? Of course, it is far too soon to tell what another 6 1/2 hours will bring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top