? 08/02 - KOBE - AMPS 232, AM+7 193

Kobe (Dean and Lesley)

Member Since 2025
Good afternoon!

This is the first time I have caught Kobe under 200 since he started Prednisolone. He has been floating in the mid 200's for over a week. According to SLGS, he should be getting a 0.25 unit dose increase tonight. However, his Prednisolone is decreasing to every other day starting today. It makes me nervous to decrease Prednisolone and increase Lantus at the same time. Especially because his current dose just brought him under 200 today.

Anyone think it is a mistake to hold 1 unit for a few more days? Thanks for your input!
 
The goal is numbers between 90 and 150. He barely cracked 200 today. But if you want to see how he does without pred today without that increase, that's OK. Could be that he went below 200 today because he didn't have pred today.

With SLGS, you are supposed to do a curve before considering what to do with the dose. Any change of getting a +2 or +3 tonight? Many cats drop lower at night.
 
Thank you for the reply! I went with the 1 unit about an hour and a half ago. I have been giving the prednisolone in the evening, so we haven't seen the effect of no prednisolone in the evening. I will get some more mid cycle numbers!

Kobe has a prescription for Chlorambucil on the way. His vet wants to do 2mg Chlorambucil every other day and see how it goes. Use Budesonide at some point if needed.
 
2mg Chlorambucil every other day
Ugh, that's an older protocol that will eventually lead to a lot of nausea. The effect is cumulative. Make sure you have a lot of ondansetron around the house. Neko did horribly on the EOD dosing until I managed to convince her vet to let me try the newer every two week protocol my other cat was on. My third cat with SCL (sigh!) only did the every two week protocol.
 
Back
Top