08/01 Blue PMPS 490 +3 470

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Well, this is Blue's first post.

@Wendy&Neko I'm tending towards wanting to go to 3u in the morning. Do you think there's enough information BG-wise to warrant that?

He is constipated and didn't want to eat his preshot snack so I had to syringe feed him to give it. I think the IM vet's recommendation to go to 4u from 2u is out of order but I'm thinking 3u in the morning as he's spending all his time up there in the red zone.
 
Well, this is Blue's first post.

@Wendy&Neko I'm tending towards wanting to go to 3u in the morning. Do you think there's enough information BG-wise to warrant that?

He is constipated and didn't want to eat his preshot snack so I had to syringe feed him to give it. I think the IM vet's recommendation to go to 4u from 2u is out of order but I'm thinking 3u in the morning as he's spending all his time up there in the red zone.
Obviously wait for expert advice. But as a sounding board how long have you been giving shots? Remember it will take a week for the depot to build
 
I was just reading your previous post and Wendy said you need at least five cycles on this dose before increasing. That’s because the depot takes 5-7 days to build. It doesn’t look like it’s been more than day.
 
Last edited:
Obviously wait for expert advice. But as a sounding board how long have you been giving shots? Remember it will take a week for the depot to build
Since the 29th. I hope you mean by "expert" it's advice from someone here? Because the IM vet, the "expert" wanted me to give him 4u this morning.
 
Since the 29th. I hope you mean by "expert" it's advice from someone here? Because the IM vet, the "expert" wanted me to give him 4u this morning.
Yeah I am no longer considering the IM vet an expert lol. Yes I meant one of our "experts" ;)

ETA so since it hasnt been a full week personally I'd give the depot a chance to build. But that's just my opinion
 
Every 12 hours is a cycle. You didn’t put anything in the unit box the night of the 29th. Since a shot was given yiu have completed 7 cycles.
 
I've seen enough now, you can go to 2.5 units tomorrow morning. Anything more is even more aggressive than TR already is. There might be a possibility of fast tracking Blue's dose up, but let's see how he does on 2.5 units first.
 
We had some initial discussion about Blue on Eddie's condo today: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-01-eddie-amps-295-3-306.266568/
Specifically, I had asked whether you were going to follow TR with him. That's because TR allows you to increase 3 days after starting insulin for cat high and flat. Which he is. Are you testing regularly for ketones?
Yes, I am starting TR and he is, indeed, high and flat high. I've not tested for ketones. I'm just going with establishing a routine, changing food, testing, following through for a recheck. We are going to the primary vet who knows Blue on Wednesday. The IM vet also knows Blue but, well, you know...

The recheck will include the whole 9 yards....
 
I've seen enough now, you can go to 2.5 units tomorrow morning. Anything more is even more aggressive than TR already is. There might be a possibility of fast tracking Blue's dose up, but let's see how he does on 2.5 units first.
Roger that. It makes sense and is a safe change. Thank you. And thank you @tiffmaxee and @Rainbow Conti

I gave him another little syringe snack so that I could get a little more of the RestoraLax (where do they get these names?) into him...
 
Back
Top