07/30 Pickles AMPS 352

picklesmom

Member Since 2020
Someone mentioned I should post daily while I’m getting started. Can someone look at my SS and let me know if there’s anything I should be doing different. Also, I’ve been feeding 2 cans FF chicken pate and half a 6oz can of tiki chicken flavor two times a day. He used to be 18lbs (this was slightly overweight) but dropped to 12lbs so I’m trying to get him to gain a bit. Ideal is probably 16lbs.
 
Hello there. It looks like you are doing just fine. We just need to let this dose settle a bit to see what's going on an how low the dose is taking him to make decisions on changes to his dose. So, speaking of that, which dosing method are you going to use. The Start Low Go Slow method or the Tight Regulation method. If you haven't chosen TR yet, then by default if would be SLGS. Have you read the sticky notes that describe the two methods? So, if following SLGS, you would need to hold this dose for 14 cycles total (7 days) unless he drops under 90 and earns a reduction.

The food seems okay, except that you don't need to only feed twice a day. You can feed snacks at other times in the cycle and you will find later on as he gets closer to a better dose that you actually need to feed snacks at certain strategic points in the cycle. Also, since you want him to gain weight, then I would definitely feed snacks. We try not to feed after a cat's nadir, because it can shorten the duration of the insulin, but since we don't know when his nadir is yet, that's difficult. I would feed snacks up to about +6 for now -- until we figure out when his nadir is. Okay?
 
Having said all the, make sure to get some mid-cycle tests in during both the morning and evening cycles. It's very important to get the total picture about what's going on. Many cats drop lower at night and that is also important to know.
 
Looks like you are feeding 4 times a day or am I the one not understanding. You can even feed 3 times each cycle especially until he gets to his ideal weight. Then you can still do the 6 mini meals but adjust calories if needed so he doesn’t become over weight.

Try at get at least 2 tests each cycle. As the depot builds we might need to see more.
 
This is what made me think you were only feeding twice a day. It says two times a day. So perhaps I am not understanding either :) Anyway, you @picklesmom can clarify for us. Maybe you already are giving snacks?
Sorry for the confusion! I put out 6 oz FF + 3oz tiki in the morning and he eats a lot initially but then continues to graze on it all day. I take it away 2 hrs before the PM test. Then I give the same thing before pmps.
 
Sorry for the confusion! I put out 6 oz FF + 3oz tiki in the morning and he eats a lot initially but then continues to graze on it all day. I take it away 2 hrs before the PM test. Then I give the same thing before pmps.
Thanks. I just wanted to make sure.
 
Having said all the, make sure to get some mid-cycle tests in during both the morning and evening cycles. It's very important to get the total picture about what's going on. Many cats drop lower at night and that is also important to know.
Just did a mid-cycle (+4.5) and it’s barely different than his amps. Is that okay?
 
Back
Top