07/24 - Jaxon - AMPS 88 +1 79 +2 70 +3 72 +4 67 +5 52 +6 59 +11 62 PMPS 79 +1 83 +2 67 +3 72 +5 49

Allison K

Member Since 2021
It is a bit higher than his blood sugar at +6 last from yesterday's PM but not sure whether to shoot or not
 
Wait until you get advice from an expert but I would say as long as you can monitor and test, and you have medium carb and high carb food on hand, you can shoot. On TR you are supposed to shoot anything over 50 providing you can monitor/test and feed if he drops. If you shoot, make sure you get a +1 and +2. The +1 might have a little food bump to it. Make sure you feed with his shot.
 
I was going to go back to bed (had to monitor him tight last night because of BG being on the low end ..... as for the food, yes I have HC and as I understand, for MC I can either mix HC with LC or add honey to LC
 
I have not fed or given shot yet. Yes I CAN monitor ... was contacting here first because previously advise was to stall (which I have been for 25 mins so far)
 
I have not fed or given shot yet. Yes I CAN monitor ... was contacting here first because previously advise was to stall (which I have been for 25 mins so far)
Yes, we normally stall without feeding and test again in 20 mins, which is why I asked if you fed :-)

Once you get comfortable with shooting low numbers you can shoot any number over 50 without stalling.
 
This is the first time I have had green for a preshot number
Yes I am aware. The last time you got a 92 and stalled and he was higher after. Sometimes when stalling, the BG dips without food!

Let's get another test now and see where he is.
 
OK. If you can monitor, please shoot. Feed his usual LC and get a +1 and +2.
Are you comfortable shooting?

ETA: He coud either bounce or it could be an active cycle that could require close monitoring and he may very well earn a reduction!
 
Fabulous! I'm glad you came along Bhooma! Allison, Jaxon looks like he's 'turning the corner'! Impressive! Great job last night with staying on the testing....

IF he's headed where I think he's headed, you may not have to be up many more nights!

He's been dropping 'hints' at night that his pancreas is starting to work. Now's the time to be extra diligent with your testing...if he drops low he may earn his first reduction...try to hold that off as long as possible with high and medium carb foods - if he pushes through the food and drops below 50 you can try that first reduction - to see how well he'll do with the lower dose.

I think he's looking absolutely fabulous!!

Have a great day!
 
OK. Feeding a little every hour prevents steep drops in the BG. He's looking good so far.
Please feed him a spoon of his usual LC food now?
 
Is this feeding every hour how I am supposed to do it all the time or just when his BG is in the lower green area? Except 2 hrs before shot ....
 
So as this is the range I understood we want them to stay in ... will that be something I have to do all the time going forward? Feed him his food by the tsp every hour?
 
Once they settle down into blues and greens you can figure out which meal times work for him. But 2-3 smaller meals in the first part of the cycle (till the nadir) in additon to the meal at PS would be good.
 
Another 15 mins. So I would reduce his 7pm shot to 0.75 again? Hold that for 6-10 cycles or just a 1 time reduction?
 
So I would reduce his 7pm shot to 0.75 again? Hold that for 6-10 cycles or just a 1 time reduction?
Yes. If he drops below 50, he earns a reduction and his new dose would be 0.75U. You would need to hold that for 6-10 cycles to see if he holds the reduction or if he needs to go back up to 1U.
 
I remember someone saying that dose changes should be done on the AM does .... is that correct?
That was for the increase. Some cats react to an increase in the first cycle. In those cases you want to increase in the AM cycle when you can monitor longer.
You would decrease in the very next cycle - i.e. tonight.
 
Last edited:
Rather than reduce as we were discussing ... ok was going to try and do a test every hour today (try catch a curve) since I got half of it already
 
He is on a roll. A little food every hour will keep him surfing nicely.

Hope you managed to get some shut-eye in the afternoon!
 
No sadly but I did get a lie down ... unfortunately my morning meds often keep me somewhat alert all day .... am I going to have to feed him every hour all night? The food I gave him earlier was at +2
 
No sadly but I did get a lie down ... unfortunately my morning meds often keep me somewhat alert all day .... am I going to have to feed him every hour all night? The food I gave him earlier was at +2
Hopefully not all night. He is pretty flat. But I would continue to test and feed him every hour till +5 and hopefully he should nadir there.

Can you nap between tests? I can't do that but some people are able to!
 
I might be able to .... depends how long for the meds to wear out of my system .... sometimes it is quick and other days not .... think stress plays into it but not 100% sure (not a doctor or pharmacist ;) )
 
I usually stay up to his +6 without too much issue .... especially if I don't need to test every hour .... I did the first 3 to make sure he started to follow a typical cycle after the first hour
 
You could feed a little every hour and test every two? This is new territory for him. Once we learn how behaviour, you can test much less.
 
So it would be best if I tested and fed 1 tsp every hour until at least his +5 or +6 until a pattern is established
 
Back
Top