07/24 - Jaxon - AMPS 88 +1 79 +2 70 +3 72 +4 67 +5 52 +6 59 +11 62 PMPS 79 +1 83 +2 67 +3 72 +5 49

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Allison K, Jul 24, 2021.

  1. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    It is a bit higher than his blood sugar at +6 last from yesterday's PM but not sure whether to shoot or not
     
  2. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Wait until you get advice from an expert but I would say as long as you can monitor and test, and you have medium carb and high carb food on hand, you can shoot. On TR you are supposed to shoot anything over 50 providing you can monitor/test and feed if he drops. If you shoot, make sure you get a +1 and +2. The +1 might have a little food bump to it. Make sure you feed with his shot.
     
  3. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I was going to go back to bed (had to monitor him tight last night because of BG being on the low end ..... as for the food, yes I have HC and as I understand, for MC I can either mix HC with LC or add honey to LC
     
  4. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Have you fed him? Can you monitor if you shoot?
     
  6. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I have not fed or given shot yet. Yes I CAN monitor ... was contacting here first because previously advise was to stall (which I have been for 25 mins so far)
     
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, we normally stall without feeding and test again in 20 mins, which is why I asked if you fed :)

    Once you get comfortable with shooting low numbers you can shoot any number over 50 without stalling.
     
  8. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    This is the first time I have had green for a preshot number
     
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes I am aware. The last time you got a 92 and stalled and he was higher after. Sometimes when stalling, the BG dips without food!

    Let's get another test now and see where he is.
     
  10. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    No change, exactly the same as half an hour ago
     
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. If you can monitor, please shoot. Feed his usual LC and get a +1 and +2.
    Are you comfortable shooting?

    ETA: He coud either bounce or it could be an active cycle that could require close monitoring and he may very well earn a reduction!
     
  12. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Yes, full 1 unit?
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes.
     
  14. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Fabulous! I'm glad you came along Bhooma! Allison, Jaxon looks like he's 'turning the corner'! Impressive! Great job last night with staying on the testing....

    IF he's headed where I think he's headed, you may not have to be up many more nights!

    He's been dropping 'hints' at night that his pancreas is starting to work. Now's the time to be extra diligent with your testing...if he drops low he may earn his first reduction...try to hold that off as long as possible with high and medium carb foods - if he pushes through the food and drops below 50 you can try that first reduction - to see how well he'll do with the lower dose.

    I think he's looking absolutely fabulous!!

    Have a great day!
     
    Marina & Chico and Bandit's Mom like this.
  15. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Allison, I see that Jaxon was 79 at +1. Just checking if he got a snack then?
     
  16. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    No I had not given him more than the 1/2 can he got at shot time ....
     
  17. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    OK. Feeding a little every hour prevents steep drops in the BG. He's looking good so far.
    Please feed him a spoon of his usual LC food now?
     
  18. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Is this feeding every hour how I am supposed to do it all the time or just when his BG is in the lower green area? Except 2 hrs before shot ....
     
  19. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Usually when they start lower or are in greens we recommend feeding a little every hour.
     
  20. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So as this is the range I understood we want them to stay in ... will that be something I have to do all the time going forward? Feed him his food by the tsp every hour?
     
  21. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Once they settle down into blues and greens you can figure out which meal times work for him. But 2-3 smaller meals in the first part of the cycle (till the nadir) in additon to the meal at PS would be good.
     
  22. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Am I safe leaving it to +6 for another test?
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    How about a +5 instead of a +6?
     
  24. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Just cause I could not fall back asleep (likely due to my meds) and was therefore awake at +4 I did a test
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Just seeing this. Nice cycle. Did you feed at +5? What?
     
  26. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    No I had not fed at +5. Sorry dog needed to go out just after I tested Jaxon ....
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  27. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Looks like he might have earned himself a reduction then! It is time for a +6?
     
  28. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Another 15 mins. So I would reduce his 7pm shot to 0.75 again? Hold that for 6-10 cycles or just a 1 time reduction?
     
  29. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. If he drops below 50, he earns a reduction and his new dose would be 0.75U. You would need to hold that for 6-10 cycles to see if he holds the reduction or if he needs to go back up to 1U.
     
  30. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I remember someone saying that dose changes should be done on the AM does .... is that correct?
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    That was for the increase. Some cats react to an increase in the first cycle. In those cases you want to increase in the AM cycle when you can monitor longer.
    You would decrease in the very next cycle - i.e. tonight.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2021
  32. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Looks like his low was between +5 and +6 at a guess ....
     
  33. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Or it could have been the +5.
    Let's hold the dose for now. He is seeing good numbers on it.
     
  34. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Rather than reduce as we were discussing ... ok was going to try and do a test every hour today (try catch a curve) since I got half of it already
     
  35. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He might make you work tonight as well, so save the pokes and get some sleep! :)
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  36. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So leave testing till now till PMPS instead of doing every hour?
     
  37. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. When did he last eat?
     
  38. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I gave him 1/8 of a can right after his +6 test
     
  39. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Then I think he should be good and you can take a break till PMPS. See if you can nap.
     
  40. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Gave him his usual 0.5 Friskies can for "dinner" ...
     
  41. Katherine&Ruby

    Katherine&Ruby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Jaxon is having a really good day! :D:D:D
     
  42. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Fed 1 tsp of LC to keep it from dropping too quickly
     
    Katherine&Ruby likes this.
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He is on a roll. A little food every hour will keep him surfing nicely.

    Hope you managed to get some shut-eye in the afternoon!
     
  44. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    No sadly but I did get a lie down ... unfortunately my morning meds often keep me somewhat alert all day .... am I going to have to feed him every hour all night? The food I gave him earlier was at +2
     
  45. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hopefully not all night. He is pretty flat. But I would continue to test and feed him every hour till +5 and hopefully he should nadir there.

    Can you nap between tests? I can't do that but some people are able to!
     
  46. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I might be able to .... depends how long for the meds to wear out of my system .... sometimes it is quick and other days not .... think stress plays into it but not 100% sure (not a doctor or pharmacist ;) )
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  47. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I usually stay up to his +6 without too much issue .... especially if I don't need to test every hour .... I did the first 3 to make sure he started to follow a typical cycle after the first hour
     
  48. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    You could feed a little every hour and test every two? This is new territory for him. Once we learn how behaviour, you can test much less.
     
  49. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    So it would be best if I tested and fed 1 tsp every hour until at least his +5 or +6 until a pattern is established
     
  50. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I did not feed him at the +1 mark but have at +2 and +3
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  51. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Think you can wait till +5 to feed and test next. Try and get a nap till then :)
     
  52. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I know I need to give him at least a tsp of food, question is HC or LC or LC with honey/HC mixed in?
     
  53. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    LC with a little MC mixed in should be enough since he's close to his nadir.

    Congrats on the reduction!
     
  54. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I do not have MC, I have HC and LC as well as honey. I understood that either mixing HC & LC or LC & honey would be good for MC
     
  55. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Ok. I didn't know that. Yes, LC with a teeny amount of HC in it would be good.
     
  56. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Apparently when I just double checked another post .... 15-16% carb is medium carb and 20%+ is high correct? If so, then all I have is medium carb (I just saw gravy lovers and thought they were all high carb) ... I have chicken, salmon, and whitefish & tuna
     
  57. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    10-15% carbs is MC. Over 15% is HC.
    You can give him a teaspoon of the MC though I suspect that he may not need more than LC to bring him up this late in the cycle.
     
  58. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Well at least one of them is 16% the other 2 I think were 15%
     
  59. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Ok. What did you give him?
     
  60. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ya but he wasn't quite this low last night, he was only 61 last night .... not 49
     
  61. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    I hadn't yet, you only just posted. Was going to give him some of what is in the fridge already ... think it is Gravy Lovers Chicken (FF)
     
  62. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
  63. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Ok so +6 was 76
     
  64. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Nice and up. What did you feed?
     
  65. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    What I said I was going to. About 1 tsp of the Gravy Lovers Chicken (MC by the chart) ... I did not just stick to gravy though.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  66. Allison K

    Allison K Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2021
    Should I be ok to give him a bit of his LC before bed like I usually do?
     
  67. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes please!
     

Share This Page