07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Monday?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Zener's condo 7/23/11

Hello all,
I am back posting and thanks to Zener's other bean Liz for taking on everything while I am recovering from surgery. Liz may still post if I'm too tired and we are sharing Zener's care because some things like lifting and squatting are still too difficult for me. I should be good as new in about 6 weeks.

07/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 264 5th cycle at 1.5 u (decreased while I've been laid up)

Zener has been steadily coming down since we had to skip the dose when I had surgery and all was quite chaotic. This morning he is finally back in a better color. This will be the 5th cycle at 1.5u since we decreased right after I had surgery. I know the 1.75 was a better dose but with all going on it was not possible for us to monitor him so closely. Now we have him on a better shooting time and I can help more. Any advice on when we should consider going back up to 1.75?

Thanks for all the help to Liz when she was suddenly responsible! We were gradually getting her trained with shots and BG checks and nothing like an emergency to speed things up. She did fabulous! And thanks to everyone for all the well wishes to me. I am improving and feeling better each day.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener AMPS 264 A Trak Dose Question?

Morning Anne: glad you are up and about today!!! Hope you are feeling better.

This is what Libby said yesterday on your condo:
If you can look at the waves and see the big patterns, you can see that on 1.75 units Zener would have a good cycle (blue/green), then bounce higher for a day or two, then go lower again, go back up for a day or two, etc. That's a normal place for a cat to be at this stage in the game - next step would be to decide when to increase the dose to try to help shift the whole range downward a bit.

Now that you have had some reduced and skipped shots, you probably won't see any recognizable patterns right away. I'm guessing the dose will need to be increased, but I would see how today goes before deciding.

If he doesn't come down today, I'd increase him to 1.75u tonight. IMHO. ;-) :-D
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener AMPS 264 A Trak Dose Question?

Glad to hear you are on the mend Anne. Taking it easy is the ticket to a full recovery. Give kitty a hug from us!
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener AMPS 264;+6 168 A Trak Dose Question?

Thanks for the welcome backs and good wishes! Well, just to get us more confused, he is on the way down at +6 on the 1.5u. It is a pretty warm and muggy day today, and he is not very interested in eating so that may be playing a part.

07/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 264 5th cycle at 1.5 u (decreased while I've been laid up)
+6 168

I'm a bit reluctant to go back up with this sort of value at +6, since his nadir is often late. Will check again about +10 and see how things are. Have opened about 10 different cans of food today, even gave appetite stimulant and no interest. Our other cat is eating much today either, and poor seem pretty low energy, so it may just be the weather.

I suppose it was too much to hope for that things would be smooth sailing while I am recuperating!

confused_cat
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener AMPS 264;+6 168;+10 348 A Trak Dose Quest

07/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 264 5th cycle at 1.5 u (decreased while I've been laid up)
+6 168
+10 348

I misunderstood what Liz told me and I thought he had not eaten all day at the +6 so gave him a few semi soft treats to see if he would eat. He ate those even though he wasn't interested in anything else and they are high carb with glucose. We usually only use them if his BG is too low. So, this may be why he spiked back up to 348 at +10. He's still not interested in eating but now that things are cooling off a little perhaps we can get him more interested at his PM shot time. Will post his PMPS.
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336 A Trak Increase Dose Monday?

Thanks for the get well wishes and dose advice!

07/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 264 5th cycle at 1.5 u (decreased while I've been laid up)
+6 168
+10 348
PMPS 336 6th cycle at 1.5 u

He ate about an ounce of low carb wet food with his PM shot, so that's good. Since he came down at +6 and I most likely spiked him up with semi soft treats, I did not increase the dose tonight back to 1.75. We'll get a +2 and also look at his AMPS and if still up in the pinks, will go up in the AM to 1.75u. Does that seem reasonable?

My bland diet is so not very exciting that even Zener's food is looking interesting, must be the pain meds!
ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Mond

07/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 264 5th cycle at 1.5 u (decreased while I've been laid up)
+6 168
+10 348
PMPS 336 6th cycle at 1.5 u
+2 360

Zener eating a little better this evening. Will see how things are at AMPS for dose increase.

I'm off to bed, totally pooped after being up more today.
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Mond

NO EATING ZENER'S FOOD!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: i hope a little rest brings you a better appetite tomorrow - both you and zener!
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Mond

Thanks Julie, I'll try to restrain myself. We are all off to bed now, it's been a long and trying day for everyone at our house!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Mond

Hope you get some rest, Anne.

With the number you had, I'd probably have shot the 1.75u. If he's still high in the morning, I definitely would esp if you are there to monitor him.
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Mond

Thanks Marje, we shot the 1.75 this morning and will be around to monitor him all day. It was one of those mornings, immediately after shooting we dropped and broke the insulin bottle so off to Walgreen's shortly for new. This time we will get two and keep an extra! Thank goodness he started eating better last night, and I think his values this morning reflect he was eating again. I'll post shortly on his SS.
 
Re: 07/24/11 Zener PMPS 336;+2 360 A Trak Increase Dose Mond

So good to hear that you are home and everything is healing! What a scary thing to go through so suddenly. Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top