07/15 Cooper AMPS 403

Gabrielle17

Member Since 2023
Good morning :coffee:

I'll be doing a curve today!

Sadly it seems we keep showing back up in the red now. I am guessing I just need to adjust snacks...but should I adjust the time of the snacks, how many snacks, how much I am giving as a snack, or a combination of all? Or am I being too hasty altogether and not giving his body time to adjust? I'm probably overthinking, as is my wont lol. :rolleyes:

Currently I am giving 1 1/2 tsp at +1, +3, and +5. Perhaps the curve will tell me if/when he suddenly drops low or something, and I can go from there. :)

Yesterday's thread:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-14-cooper-amps-384-pmps-406-2-293-4-25-257.279527/
 
Have we talked about swapping to TR?
If you are not feeding any dry and you can get at least one test in every cycle as well as the preshot BGs, I think Cooper would do better.
He just has not reached to best dose and staying with a dose for 7 days if it is not working when you could be increasing sooner, seems a shame.
You could try TR and see how you go. You can always swap back to SLGS if it doesn't work out with your lifestyle.
I don't really think the snacks are the problem. You have just not reached the best dose and the duration of the insulin each cycle is not lasting the 12 hours.
Think about it and let us know.
 
Have we talked about swapping to TR?
If you are not feeding any dry and you can get at least one test in every cycle as well as the preshot BGs, I think Cooper would do better.
He just has not reached to best dose and staying with a dose for 7 days if it is not working when you could be increasing sooner, seems a shame.
You could try TR and see how you go. You can always swap back to SLGS if it doesn't work out with your lifestyle.
I don't really think the snacks are the problem. You have just not reached the best dose and the duration of the insulin each cycle is not lasting the 12 hours.
Think about it and let us know.

I have been nervous about switching to it. But that makes it sound pretty easy if I just have to get 1 test in each cycle--I wasn't sure how many "multiple" was when I was reading about it. And yes, I'm not feeding any dry food. :)

You're right, I should at least try it and I can always go back...okay, you've convinced me. ;) I assume I should still do the curve today like normal though?
 
I have been nervous about switching to it. But that makes it sound pretty easy if I just have to get 1 test in each cycle--I wasn't sure how many "multiple" was when I was reading about it. And yes, I'm not feeding any dry food. :)

You're right, I should at least try it and I can always go back...okay, you've convinced me. ;) I assume I should still do the curve today like normal though?
Great!
Yes do the curve today and then you can go up to 2 units tomorrow, which you would do anyway with SLGS, unless he surprises us with a blue or green BG.
It is better if you can get more than 1 test in a cycle, but that is the minimum.
Then after 3 days, if he is not dropping down into lower BGs, we can increase the dose.
Can you change the SS and signature to TR please so we can all see.
The reduction BG is now 50 instead of 90,but I don't think you will need to worry about that just yet.
I remember I was terrified of Sheba dropping under 50 in the beginning, but then you learn to love the green BGs.:D
 
I remember I was terrified of Sheba dropping under 50 in the beginning, but then you learn to love the green BGs.:D

Yes, I am already terrified, admittedly :nailbiting: I hope you guys will put up with me LOL.

The reduction BG is now 50 instead of 90,but I don't think you will need to worry about that just yet.

And it would be 50 as a preshot number, correct?

It is better if you can get more than 1 test in a cycle, but that is the minimum.

No worries, I will always try to get more if I'm able! I may even move up his shot time so that I have more leeway in the mornings before work. Though I hate to get up earlier, it is what it is. I've accepted that Cooper runs my life now, hah!
 
Yes, I am already terrified, admittedly :nailbiting: I hope you guys will put up with me LOL.

And it would be 50 as a preshot number, correct?

No worries, I will always try to get more if I'm able! I may even move up his shot time so that I have more leeway in the mornings before work. Though I hate to get up earlier, it is what it is. I've accepted that Cooper runs my life now, hah!
You will be fine. You are doing really well.
You lower your preshot BG gradually as you gather data. We can help you with that.
If you get a lower than normal preshot you can stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. And post and ask for help.
 
You will be fine. You are doing really well.
You lower your preshot BG gradually as you gather data. We can help you with that.
If you get a lower than normal preshot you can stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising. And post and ask for help.

Okay, got it!

You have been so nice and helpful, I can't thank you enough! :bighug:
 
Back
Top