07/14 - Small Kitty amps 160 - pmps 74 +1 148 +2 337 +4 396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Definitively Small Kitty is a good pilot,

I told him, when on a bouncy landing, don't cutoff the throttle, give it little more juice
and bring back when close to the ground. He listen to me and pretty lucky he didn't ran
out of runway, would have need to do a turn around (more cycles), that would have taken more time.

Now as a pilot instructor I got to master throttle management and get it right BEFORE landing.
Descent is unknown during the week so all I have is instruments (the meter). When on a stall or
near stall more power will be needed, 7 days or not. I'll need some time in the simulator or
a co-pilot to monitor during the day witch hard to find... All pilot out of flying school are not all
of the same brands...

Anyways, nice results this amps, can't wait to see pmps... Guess is that it's going to be somewhere
between blue and yellow.

Will see, have all a nice flight with good weather !

Sébastien

Yesterday :
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-pmps-409-could-be-worst.161221/#post-1724101
 
Last edited:
WOW SK cleared that bounce very quickly. :eek:

Nice start to the day. Hoping SK stays in good safe numbers today
 
First flag ''911'' is because I don't know if I should engage some sugar flow (honey, maple syrup...).
I just performed pmps and got 74, did a second test and got bit lower.

Results are the real thing, with pet meter.

Gave food right away but not sure if something must be done. Results later on will
show a spike.

*For tomorrow I know, I'll reduce by .25, it's for now that I'm not sure...
 
Small Kitty is not used to this kind of results, never seen such low number.

Also, no shot (of course)
 
Next time you get something that low do not feed, stall 20 minutes and retest to see if he will rise. Did you feed a full meal? It's not necessary for honey or syrup because he is not 68 or below.
 
It's okay. Well, I think the only thing to do is to skip and take the reduction in the morning. Test in 30 minutes to just make sure the food did take him up some and he isn't still dropping.
 
Think it worth uncapping one in this case, it's nice sky outside and both kitties there.
enjoying it (have a cat safe catio now) no escape in 2 days. I'll meet them up with a good and well deserve beer.

When I arrived I knocked on the window and Small Kitty didn't come in, was just
standing there too comfortable to come back in.

I might be able start putting all diabetic supply for sale soon :)
 
+1 148=food spike.

* I see that you, Bobbie, and Deb (as example) are seeing green all the time. Is this
nothing to worry about ?
 
+1 148=food spike.

* I see that you, Bobbie, and Deb (as example) are seeing green all the time. Is this
nothing to worry about ?
That's the goal. Eventually, as SK gets into lower numbers, your " no shoot" number will come down also but not until you have more data to know how he is going to react. SK went from high to low ( the throttle got stuck , LOL)
 
Sebastian

Just remember that you are using a pet meter. For the SLGS method 90 (5mmol) is a reduction level....that is using a human meter, but no equivalent has been suggested for a pet meter, which would be the same and lower than a human meter. With the TR protocol the reduction level is 68 (3.8mmol) on a pet meter. Since you are using SLGS you need to watch your reduction levels now that SK is getting into lower numbers. With a much lower than usual preshot number, you have no way of knowing how low SK might have gone during the day.
 
Sebastian

Just remember that you are using a pet meter. For the SLGS method 90 (5mmol) is a reduction level....that is using a human meter, but no equivalent has been suggested for a pet meter, which would be the same and lower than a human meter. With the TR protocol the reduction level is 68 (3.8mmol) on a pet meter. Since you are using SLGS you need to watch your reduction levels now that SK is getting into lower numbers. With a much lower than usual preshot number, you have no way of knowing how low SK might have gone during the day.

I could get someone here, one of the pet store guy will take care of Small Kitty in a week or so
but GL would be falsified if someone else test this or next week. When the vet tech came numbers dropped like water fall. I'll set a timer one tonight for +5; +6.

If light green comes by I guess .25 would not be enough as a reduction ?

If this it's ''counter ethic'' on the forum rules to answer that question just skip it. I'll go with slgs rule, Small Kitty is not out of the diabetic business for sure.


.
 
Last edited:
I could get someone here, one of the pet store guy will take care of Small Kitty in a week or so
but GL would be falsified if someone else test. When the vet tech came numbers dropped like
water fall. I'll set a timer one tonight for +5; +6.

If light green comes by I guess .25 would not be enough as a reduction ?

If this it's ''counter ethic'' on the forum rules to answer that question just skip it. I'll go with slgs rule, Small Kitty is not out of the diabetic business for sure.


.


You would be best to just do one reduction level at a time. In cases like tonight skipping is the best option because you can't afford to get your schedule off by a few hours and you can't be up all night testing.

I think the vet tech that came had a different shooting technique which is part of why SK responded so well. When the other person comes to take care of SK make sure that the shooting technique is the same as you as using now and the numbers should be trustworthy. SK still has a way to go but he is certainly starting to fast-track those better numbers. ;)
 
+2, the control valve has just released it's dose : 337

With a skipped shot night test would not go down, that's for sure.

Wonder if it worth it...
 
+2, the control valve has just released it's dose : 337

With a skipped shot night test would not go down, that's for sure.

Wonder if it worth it...


First...you are going to have higher numbers because of SK doing a bounce from the greens today. It is hard to say how low SK got, but a bounce would be quite normal after the lower numbers. With skipping the shot, the numbers will stay higher, until the bounce breaks again. It didn't take SK long to recover from the last bounce, so hopefully he will get over this one quickly too. Just remember, no matter what the number in the AM do take the 1/4 unit reduction.
 
@Tuxedo Mom , since SK;s number's are climbing, what about two 18 hour cycles for SK to get some insulin in him 6 hours earlier than waiting 24 hours? That might be a good option tonight since Sebastien does not have the flexibility to be off schedule.
 
@Tuxedo Mom , since SK;s number's are climbing, what about two 18 hour cycles for SK to get some insulin in him 6 hours earlier than waiting 24 hours? That might be a good option tonight since Sebastien does not have the flexibility to be off schedule.


I don't know how that would work with Sebastian's schedule and whether he would be able to get safe testing in with the 18/18???

What does Sebastian think??

He is already at +14...that means he would have to shoot in 4 hours
 
Sebastien, to do the two 18 hour cycles, you would shoot the reduced dose tonight at what would be +18 hours from the AM dose. So if you normally shoot at 6 AM and 6 PM then tonight, you would shoot at 12 AM. Then tomorrow morning you would skip the AM shot and shoot at normal time tomorrow evening. Is that something you could do? @Tuxedo Mom with the numbers climbing how important would it be for Sebastien to test anymore tonight?
 
Sebastien, to do the two 18 hour cycles, you would shoot the reduced dose tonight at what would be +18 hours from the AM dose. So if you normally shoot at 6 AM and 6 PM then tonight, you would shoot at 12 AM. Then tomorrow morning you would skip the AM shot and shoot at normal time tomorrow evening. Is that something you could do? @Tuxedo Mom with the numbers climbing how important would it be for Sebastien to test anymore tonight?

Right now SK will probably continue to rise or just stay high, with or without insulin, because of hitting those lower numbers today. I wouldn't worry about testing for tonight. If Sebastian can give a shot at midnite, without it messing up his sleep pattern then an 18/18 might be a good choice.
 
Right now SK will probably continue to rise or just stay high, even without insulin, because of hitting those lower numbers today. I wouldn't worry about testing for tonight. If Sebastian can give a shot at midnite, without it messing up his sleep pattern then an 18/18 might be a good choice.
That's what I was thinking. It's up to you Sebastien if you would like to get a jump on getting some insulin in SK earlier than waiting till AM. I used 6 AM and 6 PM as an example and I am not sure if those are actually your times or not. If you want to do the two 18 hour cycles and have any questions, fire away.
 
Just back from food hunting, seems someone got the word that PC (President Choice) is good
food as the tablets were empty. Had to go to another Provigo grocery store, got some there.

It's just 22h (+4) and Small Kitty is actually at.. 22 (396). A real clock !

Last time this kind of scenario happened numbers were black the next cycle.

No prob hanging around till midnight, tomorrow is Friday and I used to go meet
my beer buddies on Thursdays and arrive back home at early morning :smuggrin:
That was before getting into the FD business :mad:

So yes, this 18/18 sounds to be a good setup, better then 24h with no juice...

He's been able to recover by himself the first time this happen but nature might
not be as nice every time.

.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top