06/24TASHIE*PMPS=111+1=121+2=97+3=56+3.5=72

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 06/24TASHIE*PMPS=111+1=121+2=97+3=56

Come on Tashie your pulling a Lucky now, I think there talking to each other :smile: :lol:
 
+3.5 = 72 - After 3 1/2 syringes of HC Gravy Lovers food. Just put down some fresh LC food to see what she does - will give her a half hour to see if she eats - then maybe syringe some of that in. Thinks there is a little too much fuss going on for her so I think to leave her be for a half hour and I've let brother Boris in the room to so it seems more "normal" -

I will check the food / if she has NOT eaten then syringe some into her. Will test in an hour. That okay?
 
Yes....you want to try and get some LC in her. The HC will wear off in about 1.5-2 hours and numbers could wobble or come back down.

See you in one hour. Hope she eats!
 
Whoo Hoo! I do know my girl! She ate about 1/4 tin of LC FF and I just placed a little plate of fresh poached chicken breast in broth down. She is starting to snoop around - there was just WAY too much fuss for her. It stresses her out. I will still test on the hour mark and then I'm thinking of leaving MORE food down, letting her chill and toddle around and then maybe set an alarm for +6? ....... actually, this next testing will be +4.5. So another at +6? Should that work?
 
Re: 06/24TASHIE*PMPS=111+1=121+2=97+3=56+3.5=72+4.5=48

that is in 5 minutes - so I will be back after that.
 
+4.5 she had dropped to 48. I gave her THREE syringes of GRAVY LOVERS 20% gravy, one syringe also had a TEENY bit of Karo and then I Q-Tipped Karo on her mouth - this was a WILD event - she went crazy. What now?
 
You can but she shouldn't need more than 1 ml of karo.

I'm really surprised she fell back down with all that HC plus LC on board. It's hard to know if the 48 is due to the dose or lack of eating. Since you just raised the dose today, I tend to think it is lack of eating. Also, I would be reticent to lower the dose with ketones present.
 
If she's still below 50, give her the karo. If she is not, go ahead and give her another syringe of the gravy.

Normally, a BG below 50 earns a reduction. But, with her having ketones today...even a trace, and with her not eating, I would not reduce.
 
Her +5.25 was 74. Gave 2/3 syringe of GRAVY 20% also popped some (little) on top of the LC food - it's stinky salmon so hoping she will eat. What now?
 
I know you are tired. I think it would be a good idea to test her at +6 since she tricked us before. I want to see her get a couple rising numbers.
 
Oh, and if I ever get to tomorrow - what to do then? What about AM shot? Same routine? Yikes! Maybe I should take her down for more SubQ fluids & an appetite stimulant? Need to know about what to shoot at etc;
 
I can do +6. ALSO, just FYI - I am NOT getting emails of your posts - I am simply refreshing the page - I AM "Subscribed" but there are no emails alerting me of a reply. This site is nuts today - so, don't think I'm not here :smile:
 
I'd see where she is with the ketones and stay on top of that first and foremost.

I know you are going to be cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam for me saying this but I think it's important to see what she does tonight and where she is in the morning. It used to drive me crazy when people told me that but we could go through a whole scenario or two to ought and then she could do something entirely different.

I would absolutely get a +11 in the morning and post it and ask for help if she is still running low. Don't forget to mention she was showing ketones today, ok? If she is above 150, shoot .75u and stay on top of the numbers and make sure she eats.
 
Marge, I have ALWAYS just "subscribed" to topic at the bottom of the page - I WAS getting email notifications up until about 2 hours ago - I've done nothing different - I just don't KNOW now when someone posts here
 
I don't know...mine is working just fine.

Also on tomorrow....did you shoot just 30 mins late? You can do the 15 mins early each cycle to get back on time.
 
Strange. I'll delve into that tomorrow. I'm going to brush my teeth (in hopes that I might see a bed soon) - I will test at 1:45 - your time 10:45 and come back & post.

Should she maybe get more SubQ fluids tomorrow and an appetite stimulant?

Be back........
 
Sorry...didn't know you were asking me the questions about subq and appy stimulant.

If she is still showing ketones or is dehydrated, then ask your vet if she will give subqs again. To check for dehydration, lift up her scruff and let it go. It should snap right back into place. If it does so but slowly, she's dehydrated. The other way to tell is to rub your fingers over her gums...if possible. If they are tacky and not slick, she's dehydrated.

Insofar as the appy stimulant, you want to be sure she is not nauseous before you give an appy stimulant. If she sniffs her food and walks away, drools, sits hunched over, she's likely nauseous and needs ondansetron (zofran) 1 mg bid (the tablets are 4 mg and you would give 1/4 of a tab bid). The vet might want to give cerenia. that is usually for vomiting. I'd also try for cyproheptadine as an appy stimulant over mirtazapine. Either might make her agitated and cry. Using them for appetite stimulants is off label.

Let's just hope she eats in the morning.
 
Good. Do you think you can try a bit of LC with a bit of gravy on it? That might get her up a little more but the LC might help her surf. If she's up, don't feed an more after that and wait an hour to get a test...it should be rising without food for at least an hour before you call it quits. Two rising tests is best if possible.

Can you sleep for an hour?
 
So you want me to test again in an hour? I can put some gravy on the food but she is not interested - she needs to be left alone to eat - she really does - she's afraid to come out from behind the bed. What do you want me to do?
 
What do you think is best for her to get her to eat?

You need at least one rising number without food for an hour. Two is best but.....
 
I htink I should give her 2 hours of peace & quiet and then I can test - is that alright? I'm not being selfish at all - I will stay up all night but that is an annoyance or her - if I go to bed, she may start to toddle around and I'll leave some good food down for her and that will be the BEST chance to get her to eat - okay
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top